We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Extraordinary experience!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a great time at Amapondo. It was my personal favourite, great time of my life... Had a great welcoming, awesome party, breathtaking adventures. The camp site had a view to die for! I can't wait to visit again!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ednadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
FANTASTIC !!! We loved you being here too and can't wait for you to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    52
    22
    11
    9
See reviews for
13
72
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was my second visit to Amapondo, this time with friends from abroad. I must say I was very disappointed. It was just too wonky, for want of a better word. I knew what I was getting my friends into by staying at Amapondo, but it ended up disappointing us. Some of the staff were just too fried and too slow, so everything from ordering food, ordering a drink, paying a bill, going on a tour etc took forever. PSJ is a fun town, and Amapondo is a fun hang out spot. But as a place to stay we found it stressful. There are other places in the Transkei I would rather spend an extra night at.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biscuit_RSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
I'm sorry you were disappointed. December is our busiest time, and so its best to a bit patient sometimes. However I am surprised you felt that it took long to do anything or get service as this is quite the opposite report we are getting from most guests we had over December. Perhaps you were just unlucky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Booked for one night, ended up staying for 4. Really enjoyed the excursions, definitely go to the blow hole if you have the time. Big thank you to the wonderful Marianne - you're a a huge asset to the establishment. Feel very relaxed after the stay, ready to tackle 2014

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt-milmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Glad you had such a great time. We have so many activities and excursions, the Blow Hole being one of the best.

Marianne (or Mazz as she is mostly known), is truly one of our best staff members. She's been here for many years, and is not only a great manager, but also a wonderful energy, and really knows how to get a party started.

Hope you can visit us again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Amapondo! The hospitality from the staff was incredible and it turned out to be one of the most relaxing yet fun filled holidays I have had in a LONG time! I definitely recommend Amapondo if you are looking for a great time away with incredible people

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
What a great review. Thanks so much. Glad you had such a great time here with us and that you enjoyed our staff, service, and all our fun-filled activities. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was meant to be a one night stop for us in December 2012. The friendly and welcoming environment, interesting people, amazing view and wide range of activities meant we stayed for 4 extra days!

We would go back in a heartbeat and would recommend this place to anyone looking to make some friends along the way, in fact, you could easily stay here for a week!

Till next time...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Lot's of people arrive and don't want to leave. Including me! I used to visit Amapondo as a tourist for many years, and then one day, I decided to buy the place. Its so AWESOME here. Lots to do and lots of great people to meet. Glad you enjoyed it so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is how I remember backpackers. It had been a while since I stayed at one but it lived up to my expectations. It's all about atmosphere and fun. Great place to chill, then go to the beach or walk to the waterfalls or just party into the morning!
Though looking at some negative reviews I can see its not always perfect and not for everyone, then again never stayed at a backpackers for the 5 star service.. but for a budget it was a great return to my younger easy-going travels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We get people of all ages staying here, from young children with their families, to backpackers in the mid-twenties, to the more mature crowd. Although most of our guests are younger, we love having people of all ages. Its a backpackers, but its still really cool no matter what age you are. Come along, have some fun, and enjoy. Thanks for coming and we hope to see you here again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Amapondo is one of the best places I've ever stayed. The staff are so friendly and give great advice on what to do. They have awesome hikes to nearby waterfalls, cultural tours, horse riding trips. We did it all. Well organized and cheap too. We also partied in their crazy bar. The evening quickly turned into a lot of fun when the staff supplied us with Fancy Dress and crazy masks, and I ended up Hoola Hooping till early in the morning! They have lots of cool animals too, including a really friendly donkey called 'Donkilizwe', two peacocks, and a few dogs and cats. Its just opposite the beach and there is a great place to swim there. People say its sharky, but if you feel uncomfortable even in the shallow water, then go to this rock pool just next to the beach. Its deep and fun to hang out at.

If you're in the Wild Coast, you gotta get to Amapondo. Seriously one of the best backpackers in the country.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
WOW! I love to hear such good vibes from someone who just stayed with us. Glad you had such a good time and enjoyed our donkey so much too. I just came back from the beach where I had a great swim in that cool rock pool. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port St Johns hotels
3.3 mi away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#3 of 14 in Port St Johns
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge on the Beach
The Lodge on the Beach
#5 of 8 in Port St Johns
45 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
#2 of 14 in Port St Johns
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#6 of 14 in Port St Johns
27 reviews
1.5 mi away
Umzimvubu Retreat
Umzimvubu Retreat
#4 of 8 in Port St Johns
17 reviews
3.3 mi away
Port St John's River Lodge
Port St John's River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port St Johns
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amapondo Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amapondo Backpackers Lodge

Property: Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Address: Second Beach Road | Wildcoast, Port St Johns 5120, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Port St Johns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amapondo Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amapondo is Ama-azing. Amapondo is nestled on a hill on the verge of a tropical rain forest and only 2 minutes walk from a beautiful beach. Head down to sunbathe or plunge in the clear warm waters of the deep rock pools nearby. The African-themed rooms and deluxe private self-catering cottages all have their own unique design and style. The quirkily designed cottages have incredible views, are really comfortable and come at a price that you'll find hard to match. Turtle Cove has one of the best views on the Wild Coast from its upstairs bubble bath, whilst Crystal House, with its glass frontage, offers classic panoramic ocean views. Whether you want a quiet, relaxing break in your own piece of paradise, a base from which you can explore the natural beauty of the area, an adventure on one of their many tours, close interactions with locals, genuine cultural experiences, yoga lessons, a deep tissue massage, or a thumping all-out party at their buzzy bar, you'll find it at Amapondo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Amapondo Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amapondo Hotel Port St Johns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing