We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
The Lodge on the Beach(Port St Johns)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
N`taba River Lodge cc(Port St Johns)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Umzimvubu Retreat(Port St Johns)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
121
57
24
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
57
24
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild coastport stlive entertainmentfew beersthe cottagesthanks guysunique placejungle viewself catering unitrelaxed vibeawesome fooda great place to stayan amazing viewbackpackerslocalsvibesaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 224 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Amapondo is a sereal and tranquil place for a good getaway from the city life; with a wonderful atmosphere, excellent location and great people, and has a creative and authentic eco-friendly decor. The new down-to-earth and super-friendly owners add a spark of life to the place and make customers feel at home.
Whether you are a discerning traveler, an ethusiastic adrenalin junkie or party animal, or just seeking solace, this place comes highly recommended with losts of activities to suit your mood.
So if you're lookin for that great escape, Amapondo is the place to be!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gcinuxolo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I share the same feeling as a lot of people who were there :
Don't look too closely at the cleanliness and bring your own sheets or sleeping bag, the smell of the beds in dormitories can make you want to go sleeping on the beach. Same for the fridge's smell... it will take away your appetite. Dorms are of 12 beds, quite a lot, and no lock.
And Internet did not work.
I spent only one night, so I can't say anything about the team and the atmosphere. But generaly people were nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DisyCorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmapondoBackpackers, Owner at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Hi, thanks for your comments. I would like to let you know that my wife and I (Neil and Amanda) have just bought Amapondo only a few weeks ago. We have been focusing specifically on cleaning the place up because when we bought it recently, it was feeling quite unloved and a bit run down. I guarantee you that if you come back and visit now, you will be pleasantly surprised at what we have done to the place. As we nurture Amapondo, we will strive to make everyone's visit an unforgettable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I had an awesome experience at Amapondo and loved the friendly staff. Its a great place to stay with a variety of rooms including dormitories, double rooms, and also private cottages. The food was great, the atmosphere was lovely, and they even organized a Full Moon Party, which was great fun. And on one of the days they organized a hike to a nearby waterfall, and the wonderful dogs they have there guided us all the way whilst a friendly guide from the Backpackers told us about the beautiful fauna and flora of this amazing area of the Transkei. A most interesting and wonderful experience. Highly recommended

Room Tip: The double rooms are very comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamneilclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The dorms where clean and spacious with comfortable mattresses. Good place to party with a creative eco-friendly deco.
Good food and super friendly staff, who was very helpful to help us organizing our hikes.
Good address in Port St Johns

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandrineinRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Amapondo is nothing but awesome. Winding your way through the beautiful Port St Johns you suddenly arrive at this picturesque, idyllic backpackers situated on the slopes of a hill overlooking the river mouth, second beach, coral trees and natural forest.

I will never forget Amapondo, the people, the staff, food, our beautiful view from our self catering unit, the music and the feel good vibes. It truly is the ultimate backpackers!

Room Tip: Turtle Cove – Self catering unit, on the slopes of a hill overlooking second beach. Duplex unit, fully furnished, bath on top level overlooking the bay/ocean (we saw whales in the ocean while taking a bath). All SC units are good though, we’ll placed with awesome views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MySouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews