We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

I've just stayed here for 8 days and really loved it. The place is run by very friendly people, most of them are locals. The bar/restaurant is run by a young and vibrant crew and the food is delicious, also from an Italian perspective.
I stayed in a single room which was ideal and the bathroom facilities where always neat and well kept.
I spent hours just reading books chilling out on an hammock, playing pool or poker, where i badly lost!
I did most of the activities organized by the staff. All good especially canooing down the river to a beautiful secluded beach and then back to have a braai on the river shore. Thanks Tim!
The walk to the waterfall is a must.
The place is children friendly and there are childrens living there.
This is my fifth trip to SA and Amapondo is a place where i would definitely come back.
Cristian

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristiancassetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    51
    21
    10
    9
See reviews for
13
71
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hersham
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed here for a magical few months and Second Beach, Port St Johns is still my favourite place in the world. Tim and Annie, the owners, are warm, friendly and welcoming to everyone. The atmosphere for the whole time I was here was brilliant as it attracts cool people. Having travelled across South Africa, I can assure you that the standard of dorm and double rooms here are excellent, comfortable and clean and it is fantastic value for money. The bar is brilliant for cocktails, parties or chilling in the hammock. The beach is beautiful and Amapondo offers a lot of trips & activities (some free) and opportunities for volunteering in the local community. I volunteered in a care home for street children (Eluxolweni) & the local primary school & it was one of the best experiences of my life. It is far quite far from town but there's always people driving to get a lift with and the isolation adds to the magic of the experience. The food is delicious. I haven't got a bad word to say about this place - only that if you want a 5* hotel, don't come here - if, however, you want a fun & tranquil time & to meet great people, book it now or just rock up!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegeorgiegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Shepstone, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend in the low season and had a really good time. We stayed in one of the double rooms. The room was basically just a (not too comfortable) bed, but there were plenty of couches and hammocks on the patio to relax on. We also shared a communal bathroom (there were very few travelers there at the time though) so there were no queues, but, be warned, there are outside showers. Literally outside, with only jungle on one side to protect your modesty. Being in a tropical climate, there are also loads of bugs, esp mozzies & spiders, but the room had a fan and a mosquito net so we survived.

We catered most of our meals for ourselves but the bar/restaurant serves food all day with vegetarian options for all meals and the meal we had there was good, much better than some of the restaurants in town.

We also went on one of the hikes offered daily. A bit of false advertising on the website, they were not free, but I didn't mind paying the friendly local guide for a generous 2.5 hours of his time. There was no way we would have found the waterfall on our own. The hike itself was quite a workout, more like jungle bashing than hiking in some parts, but the jump off the waterfall was worth it.

Amapondo is right on the road to Second Beach, which is walking distance if you don't have your own transport. Second Beach is definitely a party beach and, we were told, gets absolutely packed over December. Think taxis blaring house and kwaito music in the parking lot, no space to swim in the water and loads of people braaiing at the recreational facilities. Although the beach is really amazing, fine white sand, crystal blue waters, sadly the next morning there were beer bottles and broken glass strewn everywhere.

The Eastern Cape is also the poorest province in South Africa, so don't be surprised if you get heckled everywhere you go, shops, beach, etc. That being said though, even though I am South African, going to Port St Johns was like going to a different universe. It is absolutely beautiful, and on a totally different vibe. We left feeling relaxed and restored. I would definitely recommend PSJ to everyone and Amapondo is a good backpackers to crash at for a few nights, as long as you're not expecting luxurious accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Port St Johns very strange and unique place, and to get even average accommodation is not easy. Lots of traps in this little rustic town.

We drove from place to place and ended up with Amapondo Backpackers, stayed for 5 nights and we were really happy with the place, wonderful staff and view.

We stayed in the Chalets in the back and it was a different experience to a 5 star hotel, more rustic but more than adequate for an adventure holiday.

The bar area is great even for kids and we enjoyed the barman Mr Clint even thou he took all our money on poker night.

If you have a family and you can get one of the chalets I won’t look any further.

Just don’t go fishing in Poenskop you will be harassed from when you stop on the beach until you leave. 3rd and 2nd Beach is better for fishing.

And try to bring everything with you so that you don’t need to do any shopping in town because this is not Camps Bay Spar, you won’t have fun shopping. Absolute chaos!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights - was a great place for hanging out and relaxing. Everyone who worked there was really friendly. The accommodation is super basic - basically a bed in a room, with shared outdoor showers - but it is also fairly cheap. The location is beautiful - really green and lovely beaches - the view from the airstrip is definitely recommended. The dinners were pretty good value and the bar was nice for a chilled-out drink or two. One of those places where the nice people and beautiful location make up for the basic accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noone28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amapondo, General Manager at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thank you for your lovely review, we do our best to ensure that people get the time out to relax and enjoy themselves here.
We hope you come and visit us again sometime.
Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed there 6 days and it's one of the best places in the world where relax and be' casted away... Please choose one of the bongalows they have: great view of the ocean and the river, monkeys come in the evening... And you can see everything right from your bed!!!! We suggest this accomodation to' everyone!
And finally they have great staff: say hello to Rex, Tandie and Zulu! They can help you on everything!!!
Amapondo is a perfect place to get the Pondo fever! We got it and we enjoyed!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanzoazonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amapondo, General Manager at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
WOW! Thank you for that super fantastic review, we do love our guests especially when they are happy. It is our guests that make having such a good time possible. Come back anytime for some more of that Pondo Love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

If you want to experience a backpacker being "high" then this is definitely your place, because you will not notice the lack of cleanliness, the wasps nests, the warn out springs on the bed and the challenging shower. Other than that-if you can see past all these discrepancies it can be chilled to hang around. Should this have been years ago in my wild young days, I would have loved it, because I remember everything of being "high" and careless, however being pregnant it is the last place I want to be and seeing kids at the bar inhaling all the second hand Ghanga fumes saddened me. The staff is definitely friendly and inviting... But I kept wondering whether they are like that when they are not "high" - if ever... We had supper on arrival and my husband had a beer (nice and friendly welcoming). We walked into our onsuite chalet and 15min afterwards moved to a place double the price at another establishment, but even for us hikers who are used to minimal (climbed Kili) this move was worth it. So, depending on who are... You will either love or hate Amapondo... No in between. Happy traveling...

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrinkMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port St Johns
2.0 mi away
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
#4 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge on the Beach
The Lodge on the Beach
#5 of 8 in Port St Johns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#7 of 14 in Port St Johns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#2 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.3 mi away
Port St John's River Lodge
Port St John's River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 5 in Coffee Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amapondo Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amapondo Backpackers Lodge

Property: Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Address: Second Beach Road | Wildcoast, Port St Johns 5120, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Port St Johns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amapondo Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amapondo is Ama-azing. Amapondo is nestled on a hill on the verge of a tropical rain forest and only 2 minutes walk from a beautiful beach. Head down to sunbathe or plunge in the clear warm waters of the deep rock pools nearby. The African-themed rooms and deluxe private self-catering cottages all have their own unique design and style. The quirkily designed cottages have incredible views, are really comfortable and come at a price that you'll find hard to match. Turtle Cove has one of the best views on the Wild Coast from its upstairs bubble bath, whilst Crystal House, with its glass frontage, offers classic panoramic ocean views. Whether you want a quiet, relaxing break in your own piece of paradise, a base from which you can explore the natural beauty of the area, an adventure on one of their many tours, close interactions with locals, genuine cultural experiences, yoga lessons, a deep tissue massage, or a thumping all-out party at their buzzy bar, you'll find it at Amapondo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amapondo Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amapondo Hotel Port St Johns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing