We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
121
57
24
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
57
24
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsport stwild coastlive entertainmentfew beersthanks guysunique placejungle viewself catering unitrelaxed vibeawesome fooda great place to stayan amazing viewbackpackerslocalsvibesaccommodationparties
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 224 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights - was a great place for hanging out and relaxing. Everyone who worked there was really friendly. The accommodation is super basic - basically a bed in a room, with shared outdoor showers - but it is also fairly cheap. The location is beautiful - really green and lovely beaches - the view from the airstrip is definitely recommended. The dinners were pretty good value and the bar was nice for a chilled-out drink or two. One of those places where the nice people and beautiful location make up for the basic accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank noone28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amapondo, General Manager at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

Thank you for your lovely review, we do our best to ensure that people get the time out to relax and enjoy themselves here.
We hope you come and visit us again sometime.
Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed there 6 days and it's one of the best places in the world where relax and be' casted away... Please choose one of the bongalows they have: great view of the ocean and the river, monkeys come in the evening... And you can see everything right from your bed!!!! We suggest this accomodation to' everyone!
And finally they have great staff: say hello to Rex, Tandie and Zulu! They can help you on everything!!!
Amapondo is a perfect place to get the Pondo fever! We got it and we enjoyed!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zanzoazonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amapondo, General Manager at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

WOW! Thank you for that super fantastic review, we do love our guests especially when they are happy. It is our guests that make having such a good time possible. Come back anytime for some more of that Pondo Love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

If you want to experience a backpacker being "high" then this is definitely your place, because you will not notice the lack of cleanliness, the wasps nests, the warn out springs on the bed and the challenging shower. Other than that-if you can see past all these discrepancies it can be chilled to hang around. Should this have been years ago in my wild young days, I would have loved it, because I remember everything of being "high" and careless, however being pregnant it is the last place I want to be and seeing kids at the bar inhaling all the second hand Ghanga fumes saddened me. The staff is definitely friendly and inviting... But I kept wondering whether they are like that when they are not "high" - if ever... We had supper on arrival and my husband had a beer (nice and friendly welcoming). We walked into our onsuite chalet and 15min afterwards moved to a place double the price at another establishment, but even for us hikers who are used to minimal (climbed Kili) this move was worth it. So, depending on who are... You will either love or hate Amapondo... No in between. Happy traveling...

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrinkMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed at Amapondo for 4 nights with our two young kids, age 7 & 8, staying in one of the en-suite cottages up above the main building,

We loved our stay. The staff are friendly and helpful, there is a lovely, friendly bar/restaurant and there are free activities laid on - such as a walk to a local waterfall and swimming lake, which was great fun.

The cottages are individually designed, lots of space for four - ours had the nice addition of a bath so you can have a soak and look out into the jungle. There were vervet monkeys playing out the back, which made it a lot of fun for the kids... but obviously keep doors shut,

The whole place has a very relaxed vibe, the beach is great to visit (but can be busy at the weekend). The only slight issue is that the cottage wasn't cleaned during the time we were there, not a big deal for a couple of nights... but after four it did need the rubbish bin emptying.

For families without local knowledge just one word of warning - there have been a few fatal shark attacks on the beach. Amazingly, there are no warning signs anywhere - we only discovered this by talking to locals. If we hadn't, we could easily have taken our kids out on surfboards.

But don't let that put you off going - it is a fantastic place to hang out for a few days.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Amapondo was a clean decent place. We were there during an off season and only met other staff and no other travellers. Locals came by and we were able to hitch a ride into town. Staff were friendly, but we didn't get a lot of party atmosphere.
Location is very near to a great beach and allowed for a quiet enjoyable stay.
We had a double private room and felt safe. Showers were a bit campy...great if you like that style.The facilities looked a bit tired and in need of some freshening and maintenance.
Overall a positive experience, but not one to write home about.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thompson119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews