We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality - perfect place to be !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Simmelsdorf
1 review
“Great hospitality - perfect place to be !!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hi travellers,
we have been to the jungle monkey backpackers for two nights during our journey through SA this November 2012. In our opinion a well kept and clean accommodation that is worth to be visited for a stay in Port St. Johns. The room called "monkey view" with a great view to the jungle and the surrounding mountains from the appendant spacey veranda was amazing. The own open air shower under banana leaves was breathtaking. The owners Mike and Hennie were so friendly, helpful and really cared. They take you up every evening to an airstrip and to the cliffside of mount thesiger to enjoy a sundowner with a perfect overview to the river and its mouth. We also did a halfday-trip with their inhouse-guide across the river and along the beautiful beaches to a nearby xhosa-village - very nice and funny !!
This accommodation deserves really a great recommendation. Thumbs up.
Many greeting from Germany from Uli & Gerhard

Room Tip: Room "monkey view" is really worth to stay !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franken-Uli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    19
    7
    10
    3
See reviews for
5
27
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Jungle Monkeys was our third backpacker. After great experiences in Chintsa and coffee Bay we met a new kind of backpacker on our route. We stayed in a unacceptable dirty and disgusting room. It was a tiny shed in the garden, there was gecko [--] everywhere, it seemed that the last cleaning was a long time ago. Now we are not surprised that we had to pay the accomodation in advance. The pizza was not good at all, they used old cheese. BUT: The staff was very friendly and we had a really cool guide on our hiking tour.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellangelo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annaknb, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Monkey Backpackers, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Our ensuite garden cabin has been renovated in the meantime and is all nice and shiny now :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Coolest place in PSJ come at weekend nights for live music , fire , beer and good time
Very friendly stuff and owner.
Don't forget to check out the great massage by aiisha,
Enjoy local beer and dance with great people

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank IssyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2012

My husband and I have been traveling in South Africa for 2 weeks now and we have stayed in some great places but Jungle Monkey is by far the worst place so far. We have a room/cabin with our own shower. It stinks and is very dirty. Terrible. Can't wait to leave tomorrow morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Zosia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We really enjoyed our 3 days here and wish we could have stayed longer. We stayed in a double room with shared showers & bathroom. The room was airy and comfortable with a fan provided. The on site restaurant is good and convienent, though kitchen facilities are available. The owners Mike & Hennie greet you personally and even take you to the airstrip for sundowners- an incredible view of the river estuary. At night we were treated to live music, a bonfire, and a drum show. We chose to do the hike to the waterfall with their in house guide which was well priced a lot of fun. Highly recommend visiting!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluepassion264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I stayed at this hostel with friends a while back but had to review it. I have been many places around the world and this hostel was simply breath-taking. AMAZING views.

They had a stage that we played on with other travellers and the owner once took us for a hike (nearly got us killed!!) The dog was awesome…like a horse.

The cleanliness, although it wasn’t unhygienic, was the best but that’s not the point with this place.

The hot tub was beautiful, the bar was a little pricey but the bar staff had a good crack with us and taught us a thing or to about South African drinking habits!!

We took a walk around the hostel and I can say they have some amazing rooms, it was like an endless maze of rooms to explore, defiantly something for everyone. Tents over looking the sea/jungle, dorms, camping areas, I think there was even an open air shower over looking the jungle too!!

Had the time of my life here, I was sad to leave to get my flight back home to England :(

I will be back. Get yourself here NOW.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonzodoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Jungle Monkeys is quite a nice bakpackers . We stayed in a private room with an outside shower. Clean and comfortable.

We had "braaied" along with some other guests, also fine.. although, this of course depends on the other guests as well.. but with backpackers it is what is.

Free wifi internet , for a backpacker on the wild coast this is good.

I recommend Jungle Monkey's

Room Tip: Ask for the new private rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port St Johns hotels
2.0 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lodge on the Beach
The Lodge on the Beach
#5 of 8 in Port St Johns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.5 mi away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#7 of 14 in Port St Johns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Port St John's River Lodge
Port St John's River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.2 mi away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#3 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Umzimvubu Retreat
Umzimvubu Retreat
#4 of 8 in Port St Johns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Monkey Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Monkey Backpackers

Property: Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Address: 3 Berea Road, Port St Johns, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Port St Johns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Monkey is situated in the rugged and untouched heart of the Wild Coast, in South Africa’s Eastern Cape. Here, we are still impressed by what nature brings forth patiently and by the result of its rejuvenation. Port St. Johns is home to many rare species. Watch the parrots or go on a boat trip to see whales and dolphins during the sardine run.The stunning views and tranquil surroundings invite to go exploring. Stroll through the traditional Pondo villages or climb the rolling hills with our guides. We offer light hikes as well as adventurous full day trips.Enjoy a swim in our pools, sleep in our comfortable doubles, triples, the safari tent, dormitories or camp in the garden.Our restaurant offers a broad selection of hearty meals and the vibey bar invites to settle down after an adventurous day. Enjoy regular live performances by local artists or jam together on our fully equipped band stand. Use our instruments or bring your own.Just remember when the Pondo Fever strikes, you might never want to leave again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Jungle Monkey Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Monkey And The Island Backpackers Hotel Port St Johns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing