We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Santana, Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Omali Sao Tome(Sao Tome)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
89
70
12
4
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
70
12
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardthe main roadsao tomeplace to stayfishclub santanabeach bardiving centergreat weathertropical locationbungalowbayseacapitalportugueseparadiseflight
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 182 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Located in a beautiful spot, much better than the hotels in the town and still very easy to go for a dinner, a evening out or just a afternoon walk.
Very good and helpful service, nice beach and beach bar, good breakfast and good food in general.
We loved the free boat trip to the ilheu Santana, really worthy.
Saturday dinner at beach bar with capoeira show and life music.
Just a remark, I don't think they speak English, or maybe a few words. they should invest more on that.

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow close to the beach. You can sit outside in the afternoon or evening and just enjoy the view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria37_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Excellent service from being met at the airport (we were in a big group so this may not be normal) until we left.

Claudio, the fitness coach, was a great host giving us an introduction brief on the way to the hotel. The individual bungalows are very spacious and clean. Good powerful a/c units. Breakfast which is included is fresh and tasty white the friendly staff making sure the buffet is well stocked and omelettes and croissants are promptly delivered.

The beach bar and restaurant is a great place to relax and use the water sports equipment. The free boat service to the Santana Islet is a great service too.

All in all a very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Bungalows 1 to 4 and 6 have the best ocean views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Welsh_Clarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Club Santana is an example to all of the other establishments in Sao Tome on many fronts. Whilst I could probably extol its virtues forever, I'll try to summarise.
1/ Excellent service. We were met at reception by the manager. He balanced being very professional, with very nice. Upgraded us given that the hotel wasn't full, and escorted us personally to the restaurant area (which is simply stunning) and made sure we were comfortable. He clearly manages this place well. All the staff were professional, cheerful and friendly, even if we didn't always speak the same language, and even when we had issues understanding each other. The staff didn't say 'yes' to everything thay didn't understand (unlike other places..) and always found another member of staff who spoke English or French to help.
2/ Very very clean. OK so maybe the little bunglows are a little 80s inspired on the decoration front, but they are excellently maintained and spotless.
3/ Families. The only place in Sao Tome where we had a proper child's bed for our 3 year old (small and with side rails) and a suitable baby bed for our 1 year old (one he couldn't climb out of).
No problem for the staff to do suitable children's meals early evening, and very easily organised a babysitter for us so that we could enjoy our evening meal in peace.
4/ The food. Our French background means that good food is important to us. We certainly weren't disappointed here. If you don't stay at Club Santana, at least go for lunch at the restaurant on the little beach there, you won't regret it. Everything we ate was delicious.
5/ The location. Coming off the main road through the forest, one wonders where one will end up. The small bay where the lunch restaurant is located is stunning, as are the views from the main restaurant. It is only about 30 mins drive from Sao Tome, perhaps less depending on how quickly you drive, worth considering as a base if you want to spend the day in Sao Tome and then get further down the coast in the evening.
6/ Value for money. We found full board to be reasonable, given the excellent meals, quality of accommodation and all round service.
7/ Relative to other hotels. We stayed in three other hotels on the island. This was definitely the best.

I hope that this hotel continues to maintain its high standards and excellent food. Sao Tome being absolutely beautiful, we hope to visit again in a few years time, and it would be a joy to stay again at the Club Santana, only next time we would definitely stay for longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ali187371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Thank you, Antonio, Ines and all the staff for these fantastic holidays.
The place (beach, club & surroundings) amazing...so clean, so well trated, so beautiful.
The food (especially St. Valentine's dinner) outstanding, and the right music.
The service completely adequate.
The sea so warm so transparent so full of beautiful fishes.
The trips along the island, all green. The turtles running to the sea - unforgetable
Definitely a "come again" resort.
Hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JPNRocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

After a long drive from the airport through the island on bumpy roads, that was a surprise to discover the luxurious nature in the parc and at the very end of it the hotel facing the beach. The room is clean and comfortable, without being amazingly nice. But the location is astonishing with the surrounding nature, it's incredibly beautiful. The beach is a dream with all those palm trees all around and the water has this amazing emerald color: first thing we did was to go for a swim! And we spend the afternoon in the bar/restaurant on a wooden terrace facing the water just enjoying the landscapes.
We had dinner in the restaurant, but the menu was not very exciting: few choices and obviously not the French cuisine they advertised (I am french!), the wine list was disappointing as well: half of the wine are from the Beaujolais, where I come from (just five times what I would pay at home). But the staff was very nice and we had a nice evening in the restaurant where we were alone starting @ 8pm and left @ 9pm. I guess you adapt to the sun.
I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for tropical journey on this island.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews