We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short stay in Butare, excellent value for money”
Review of Motel du Mont Huye

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel du Mont Huye
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Butare
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short stay in Butare, excellent value for money”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Simple, clean and safe accommodation that is centrally located - internet cafe is a 2 minute walk from the Motel. The staff are exceptionally friendly and the showers are always hot because of solar heating.

The free breakfast included with the room fee is very basic (bread, jam and tea/coffee) and you might want to buy breakfast if you're looking for something more substantial.

I was in Butare for 2 nights for business but actually decided to stay a third night because of the peaceful atmosphere at the Motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
2
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Everyone was so nice here, the food was good--the bread and jam at breakfast are homemade!--and the rooms, beds, and bathrooms were clean. Our room (#13) had reliable hot water, though the other people in our group noted that they weren't able to get hot water in their rooms. The beds were pretty comfortable. The bed nets could use a washing since they smelled dusty.

We loved our short stay here and would stay here again. We ate at another restaurant in town the night before and while the service there was also great, the food was not the best.

Overall we found the service and people across this entire region to be the best we've experienced in Rwanda--even the bus rides back from Butare/Nyanza to Kigali were the best we've experienced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikimiki25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I've stayed at the hotel several times during my relationship with the local primary school rehabilitation, and it keeps getting better. During the rainy season, the landscaping is lush and inviting even if the roads are muddy and full of puddles. There are mosquito nets in every room, and water is solar heated and is in adequate supply if everyone takes a "bucket" shower rather than a "western" shower (where we let most of the water run down the drain). There is a new building to house the generator, and there is a new cistern to provide more water. Things are a bit more tidy, but, like most non-5* hotels, there is a lot of maintenance that could be done. Some of the staff have beden there since I first stayed there in 2007, so it's fun to return.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have patios, but you might want to stay away from the conference center and the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

This is easily as good, if not better than, other accommodation in Rwanda that costs twice as much or more. I stayed here on two separate nights without booking either, just turned up and asked for a room. Everything is simple but clean and tidy, there is hot water (not always the case in Rwanda) and a generator to keep the lights on if there is a power cut.
Breakfast was served efficiently on the terrace outside the room with an omelet available for a small extra charge.
It's a 3 minute walk to the centre of town and the hotel Ibis where you can watch the bustling activities of the town whilst having a beer / food under the verandah,

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2010

A great place to stay in Butare. A bit of a hike to the University (30 minute walk) but very convenient to in-town stores, restaurants, and cybercafe. Wonderful, wonderful wait staff and housecleaning staff. Rooms are spacious, clean, and secure.

Two caveats: Reception only speaks French (and not well) and so there can be confusion about the reservations you've called in. Don't worry, they'll resolve the confusion. And, sometimes the rooms run out of shower water. Take a shower in the afternoon if you want warm water (solar heated water tanks) and be ready not to bathe for a day or so.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahryanrhetoric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2010

This is THE place to stay in Butare. Very relaxed atmosphere (what else is new in Rwanda?) with extremely friendly staff. Very clean, beautiful gardens, good food, cheap beer, probably wouldn't have left if I could have helped it. The impromptu kinyarwanda lessons in the courtyard were an added bonus but reflected the enthusiasm our hosts had for their guests.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Percypig1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyeeMissT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

A large group of 14 of us stayed at this Motel while in Butare for 5 days.
The charm of this hotel, the friendliness of the staff, and the simplicity of living here is delightful - I did not want to leave.

Centrally located in Butare, one minute up the red-dirt road to the main street, and 5 minutes or less to the supermarket, taxi stands, or restaurants on main street.

Food service is slow, but knowing a few words in Kinyarwandan will help you when you want to ask your waittress for a missing item. Breakfast of fresh baked bread with butter, & coffee with hot milk, is included with your room, but the basic omelette & sliced pineapple are nice additions to this breakfast (at 400francs each when we were there). Buy an avocado on main street and slice this onto your omelette - delicious!

Keep in mind that food service is slower EVERYWHERE in Rwanda than it is in North America, and plan this into your day.

The waittresses are very friendly, and busy - keep in mind when they forget something that these young women seem to start work at 6 am and are still there serving beer from the cafe in the courtyard at 2 am.

Only three cautions:
If you want hot water, make this clear when you check in.
Bring your own mozzie net - some of the ones at the motel have holes in them.
Internet is provided, not high speed but not dial-up speed either.

I loved it here, for its simplicity and beauty, and would definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AyeeMissT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Butare hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Credo
Hotel Credo
#2 of 3 in Butare
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sifa
Sifa
#1 of 6 in Butare
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Shalom House Butare
#2 of 8 in Butare
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Barthos Hotel
Barthos Hotel
#3 of 8 in Butare
4 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Motel du Mont Huye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel du Mont Huye

Property: Motel du Mont Huye
Address: Butare, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Southern Province > Butare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Butare
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Motel du Mont Huye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing