We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant....Fantastic value for money!”
Review of Motel du Mont Huye

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel du Mont Huye
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Butare
Reviewed March 22, 2011

This is easily as good, if not better than, other accommodation in Rwanda that costs twice as much or more. I stayed here on two separate nights without booking either, just turned up and asked for a room. Everything is simple but clean and tidy, there is hot water (not always the case in Rwanda) and a generator to keep the lights on if there is a power cut.
Breakfast was served efficiently on the terrace outside the room with an omelet available for a small extra charge.
It's a 3 minute walk to the centre of town and the hotel Ibis where you can watch the bustling activities of the town whilst having a beer / food under the verandah,

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for Motel du Mont Huye
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 21 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2010

A great place to stay in Butare. A bit of a hike to the University (30 minute walk) but very convenient to in-town stores, restaurants, and cybercafe. Wonderful, wonderful wait staff and housecleaning staff. Rooms are spacious, clean, and secure.

Two caveats: Reception only speaks French (and not well) and so there can be confusion about the reservations you've called in. Don't worry, they'll resolve the confusion. And, sometimes the rooms run out of shower water. Take a shower in the afternoon if you want warm water (solar heated water tanks) and be ready not to bathe for a day or so.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahryanrhetoric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

This is THE place to stay in Butare. Very relaxed atmosphere (what else is new in Rwanda?) with extremely friendly staff. Very clean, beautiful gardens, good food, cheap beer, probably wouldn't have left if I could have helped it. The impromptu kinyarwanda lessons in the courtyard were an added bonus but reflected the enthusiasm our hosts had for their guests.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Percypig1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

A large group of 14 of us stayed at this Motel while in Butare for 5 days.
The charm of this hotel, the friendliness of the staff, and the simplicity of living here is delightful - I did not want to leave.

Centrally located in Butare, one minute up the red-dirt road to the main street, and 5 minutes or less to the supermarket, taxi stands, or restaurants on main street.

Food service is slow, but knowing a few words in Kinyarwandan will help you when you want to ask your waittress for a missing item. Breakfast of fresh baked bread with butter, & coffee with hot milk, is included with your room, but the basic omelette & sliced pineapple are nice additions to this breakfast (at 400francs each when we were there). Buy an avocado on main street and slice this onto your omelette - delicious!

Keep in mind that food service is slower EVERYWHERE in Rwanda than it is in North America, and plan this into your day.

The waittresses are very friendly, and busy - keep in mind when they forget something that these young women seem to start work at 6 am and are still there serving beer from the cafe in the courtyard at 2 am.

Only three cautions:
If you want hot water, make this clear when you check in.
Bring your own mozzie net - some of the ones at the motel have holes in them.
Internet is provided, not high speed but not dial-up speed either.

I loved it here, for its simplicity and beauty, and would definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AyeeMissT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

A group from all over the world congregate at the Mont du Huye annually to work with the local primary school built by the Catholic Church and now owned by the government. The school was destroyed in the genocide in 1994 and only 1 building of 5 was being used when we first arrived in 2007. Now 4 of the 5 buildings are in use, thanks in part to the owners of the Mont du Huye Hotel who are personal friends of the ex-pat who organizes the annual pilgrimage.

The rooms are basic but adequate, and each has its own private lanai/patio. The water is solar powered so you need to take "African" showers where you pour a bucket over your head, soap up, then rinse off with another bucket over your head. The power will handle a blow drier if the hotel isn't 100% full. The beds each have their own mosquito netting, and there is either a closet or an armoir in each room. The sink is either in the room or in the bathroom, depending upon the room. There is one suite with a connecting door to two "master" bedrooms each with its own bath.

The staff is quite friendly, but we're there for 2 weeks; so we get to know them a little better than most visitors. The local language is Kinyarwanda and most folks also speak French or Swahili. The secondary language in the country, after Kinyarwanda, is now English rather than French and reflects political changes in the country

We found the food basic but filling the first year, and we took several things with us last year .. pancake mix, pasta .. and this year we will take some pasta sauces for educational purposes. We found the staff very willling to try anything we wanted, but we have 2 Rwandan ex-pats with us who speak the local language, so I admit we have an advantage.

The local market is an experience everyone should have, and you are expected to bargain for everything. Fabric is imported from China and India, and the local seamstresses at the markets bargain for the cost of crafting the article, or you can go to one of the storefront artisans and negotiate a price to make what you want. They will fit you several times, and the finished products I have seen are incredible. I bought fabric in Kigali on the way home last year, and I will have the articles designed and put together on our next trip in July/August 2009.

The Lebanese market has moved across the street and now offers a great restaurant as well as a passable espresso and latte. They will also exchange new $100 bills at the same rate as the bank but much quicker.

The University of Rwanda has its campus in Butare so there are a lot of college students around town.

The national museum is also in Butare and well worth the visit.

You should get out and walk around the entire area .. that's how we found the first women's drumming group formed in the country after women were first allowed to drum. One of our group was walking past, heard the music and drumming, and we joined in for an unforgettable experience.

If you like wine with your dinner, you'd best bring it with you as the selection of both wine and liquor is limited outside of Kigali.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Given that fact that there are only a handful of hotels in Butare (Butare has only more or less one street), the Motel Mt. Huye definitely has some charme and might be still the best choice out of hardly any choice. The hotel is situated in a dusty and red side street, but after you have entered the gate of the hotel, it has a very pleasent and peaceful atmosphere. Lot's of long-term guests from the university stay here. I know one Professor from Europe who stayed theere one year. Every room has a small terasse with a table and chairs, and is pretty separate by the neighbours with wall and plants. The room itself is clean but basic, including a mosquito net. The bathroom is even more basic and it takes some days to get used to the cold water.

The staff is a bit numb and unmotivated, but friendly. 'Breakfast' is nearly every morning a new adventure. There was not a single day where the very basic breakfast (coffee, bread, jam, butter) included all four items. And you have to order it at least half an hour before you want it.......it just takes there long.

Still, believe it or not , the advantages of this place outweight the disadvantages. You are very central, it is quiet and peaceful, there is a lebanese supermarket around the corner and the Restaurant Ibis (probaly the best in Butare) is also around the corner.

2  Thank poepinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travelinglena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Butare hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Credo
Hotel Credo
#1 of 3 in Butare
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sifa
Sifa
#1 of 6 in Butare
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Shalom House Butare
#4 of 9 in Butare
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Casa Hotel
#2 of 9 in Butare
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barthos Hotel
Barthos Hotel
#3 of 9 in Butare
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel du Mont Huye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel du Mont Huye

Address: Butare, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Southern Province > Butare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Butare
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Motel du Mont Huye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing