We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for families staying in Lake Placid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best for families staying in Lake Placid”
Reviewed September 1, 2010

This was a lovely hotel in a great location just up the hill from the Olympic skating rinks. Check in was easy and the size of the room was great for the 4 of us (and had a beautiful sunset view). We opt'd out of the offered breakfast (extra price) in order to eat graham cracker bagels from Soulshine Bagels on Main Street.

Pool was warm and clean - lots of towels available. The Great Room was beautiful and welcoming. We did not take advantage of the beach or golf or fancy dinner portions of the hotel this trip. We will definitely stay here again for our next visit to Lake Placid!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ligers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    498
    207
    63
    29
See reviews for
447
514
15
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel several times, but may look elsewhere next time we are in Lake Placid. The hotel is beautiful and looks like it has just undergone a rehab. We checked in on 8/28 about 1:30 and our room was ready early, which was nice. However, the gray haired man and the younger lady weren't that friendly and didn't make us feel that welcome. They gave us the bare information and that was it.

When we inquired about there Boat House Restaurant, they simply said "It's full for tonight." When we asked about a possible cancellation for a reservation, they again said, "It's full for tonight." When asked if they take walk ups, again it was, "It's full for tonight." She sounded like a disgruntled robot and the gentleman just gave us dirty looks. We took our keys and were on our way. No other information was provided about the hotel, etc.

Later we went to the private beach that is part of the hotel where the Boat House Restaurant is located. I asked a staff member if they had any reservations available. She politely said they were closed due to a wedding. Why couldn't the folks at the front desk just told us that.

To make it worse, when we got back to the hotel, I overheard an elderly couple asking the front desk staff (different people this time, but just as unfriendly) about the Boat House Restaurant. They had made a reservation at the restaurant 2 weeks ago. The young man only said "They're booked tonight." The elderly lady was confused because she had made a reservation. All he kept saying was "They're booked tonight." She was very confused. The clerk then rudely said, "I don't know what to tell you, maybe you made it for the wrong day." Then he told the lady she could try calling over there to try and make a reservation. Knowing he was wasting this lady's time and making her very upset, I walked over and told her I was just there and they were closed for a wedding and the front desk didn't tell me either. The elderly woman looked at the man and just asked him why didn't he just tell her instead of having her call, etc. The young man got very defensive and sarcastically said, "I wasn't lying, they're booked. We're not supposed to say there is a wedding."

I don't know why they just couldn't have been truthful and more polite with me and the older couple. What is the big secret? Ironically, I later saw they had the wedding posted just a few feet away.

In the hot tub later, I heard other people complaining that they didn't think the staff was that friendly either. There was a very nice young man named Gregory working at the pool that deserves to be complimented.

Having said that, the property is very nice looking and up to date. It's lacking an outdoor pool and the towels by the indoor pool aren't much bigger than a dish towel.

IF YOU HAVE ALLERGIESBE AWARE THIS HOTEL ALLOWS PETS AND DOGS ARE WALKING AROUND. I WAS TREATED TO ONE GOING THE BATHROOM IN THE FRONT GARDENS.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Passat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazenovia, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Traveled here w/ my husband & 4 yr old son. Booked our stay a few weeks out through a 3rd party site @ a discounted rate after reading reviews here on Trip Advisor.
One of the best looking hotels in Placid & offers incredible views as it sits atop a hill overlooking mirror lake. Welcoming, curtious staff, pleanty of pillows & towels & clean indoor pool & hot tub. Downside was the room service~ $50 for breakfast and the food sucked.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate3821933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Enjoyed the hotel, had a nice view and not too far from the shops!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yummycitylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

This was our 2nd visit to the Crown Plaza; were quite impressed last fall however this visit fell short. We prebooked (paid in advance) a "king jacuzzi room, with walk-out balcony and chairs for 3 nights but because I became quite sick, we cut our trip short and left after the 2nd night. On check-out I was reminded that "it's non-refundable", which I understood, however a more sympathetic comment could have been made than the blunt reminder of "unrefundability". The cold front-desk attitude only served to jog my memory that last year's "front desk" demeanour was also steely cold and not at all welcoming. This room left some to be desired: the jacuzzi was very, very old; there was a huge puddle of water left from the a/c unit in the middle of the "walk out" balcony (which, by the way was perhaps 18" in width; more a Juliette balcony than a "walk out"), etc, etc. We'll come back to Lake Placid again next year, but we'll not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailing_into_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I can't say enough to thank the manager, Ray, and the entire staff at this hotel for all they did for me. I fell and badly twisted my ankle on my first morning of my vacation. This happened around 7:15am on the 4th of July. I was bed-ridden for 8 straight days, the entire time I was in Lake Placid. My daughter was in a sleep-away camp so I was all alone. I depended on the staff at the hotel for everything, and every person I came in contact with were nothing but absolutely marvelous. Every call for ice refills for my ice pack, some coming at 3am, was no problem. They brought me room service with set-ups so that I could eat while sitting in bed with my leg up. Everyone with a smile on their face, asking how I was doing and if there was anything they could do to help. I could go on, and on. I'm sure not everyone has the best experiences at hotels, but when it came time to depend on the kindness of strangers, kudos' to everyone at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid for being my hero's. I will always remember what you did for me.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfg_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakePlacidBizOwner, Owner at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Thank you for your wonderful comments; I have passed them along to our dedicated team. We are certainly proud of our superior customer service. I hope you are feeling better and are able to enjoy the rest of the summer! Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

As most of the reviewers have noted, the location and views of this hotel are second to none. It has the best spot in town. The great room has terrific views, although the decoration was slightly cheesy in our opinion. We stayed in the adirondack wing. The facade of the great room and the adirondack wing are also quite nice. Our King Suite was a spacious, luxurious room equipped with full kitchens (pots, pans, glasses etc included), a jaccuzi in the master bedroom, and balconies that lead to more spectacular views. The boat house restaurant is also quite scenic. The price was the best in town.

That being said, this hotel is not a 5 star resort due to the quality of the beach club and the quality of the service. A request for how to get the shuttle to the beach was met with an angry, " Come to the front desk and request one only when you are completely ready to go to the beach." A half hour after our request was made, our shuttle still had not arrived. The staff had no idea where the shuttle was and refused to check up on its status. We ended up taking the local free trolley down the hill and crossing through restaurant parking lots and shrubbery to get to the beach club. After all that, the beach club ended up being disappointing. The bathrooms are filthy and there are no towels, chairs or snacks available. There are also no kayak or canoe rentals either. A request for chairs was met with a gruff , "We can let you borrow two chairs for a little bit." However, there were four people in our party. Lastly, after a fantastic night of dinner and drinks in the village of Lake Placid, my friends and I returned our Luxury King Suite, we found that the pull-out bed had not been made as requested. There were no sheets, blankets or pillows for half of our party to sleep on. Bedding was brought up nearly a half hour later. The staff member who brought it up, sighed, rolled his eyes, threw out bedding in our general direction and mumbled "have a good night."

Bottom line, go for the value and the views but do not expect to be pampered!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neena79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
0.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#25 of 31 in Lake Placid
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Property: Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing