We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what i expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Just came back. Stayed 2 nights before new year.

The good: Hotel location cannot be better. Right above The Olympic Center. The facade is probably the best in town. The common areas are very nice.

The Room: We booked a standard double room, this being the only kind available as all others were sold out during this busy week. Rates were double the non peak rate. At least our room was comparable to a room in a.. Holiday Inn, Best Western level. Small, dated but the worst part was the heater. We called the front desk asking to check it since the noise was too loud. They said " they all make noises. I would be concerned if it made more noise than this" . Obviously they dont sleep in those rooms. We kept waking up during the night.. We should have known, when we saw earplugs as part of the room amenities included. The days we stayed were one of the coldest but did not expect to see a wet towell we left by the heater to be frozen in the morning...

Service: Our car would not start in the morning, probably cuz it was very cold overnight. We asked the front desk if someone can give us a jump. They said " we can't, our policy does not allow that. What if the car explodes.." I almost fell backwards...explode??? Fortunatelly, a fellow skier guest was more than willing to take that "mortal risk" . Maybe it is their policy ,but coincidentally we stayed on our way back in Hampton Inn and a fellow guest had a car jumped by the hotel shuttle...humm, some policies need to be changed..

Breakfast was good. But you are paying $11 for it. Is not like it was included in the base room rate. Wifi worked after trying a few things. A bit slow though.

Bottom line, if you are not staying in one of their better rooms, dont expect much. The hotel rooms need a major update . But if you only care about the common areas or location, this is a pretty good choice

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MasterDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,159 - 1,165 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed here over the Christmas holidays and it was everything we were expecting. Unlike some of the other hotels, motels and inns in the area, everything is on premises and under one roof. It really made it great for families and large groups because there is plenty of room to meet, hang-out and relax. It has a cozy lodge atmosphere, very spacious and inviting.

We booked a standard room through Expedia and were pleased to find a full size couch, mini fridge and microwave in our room. It made spending time in our room a lot more comfortable and convenient. While the carpet felt a bit dated, the room was very clean, especially the bathroom. We didn't have a view of the lake, but the surroundings of the resort are still very scenic.

As with most hotels, the rooms aren't very soundproof. Since there were a lot of families with young children, there was also a lot of running down the corridors and screaming in the early hours. The hotel also has wi-fi, which was handy with our laptop but we were unable to access it with our mobile devices.

The resort is in a great location, an easy drive to either end of Main Street. It is however on the top of a hill, which makes the walk down and up a little more treacherous. It's also close to gas stations and the route to take you out to Whiteface Mountain.

I would not recommend eating at the restaurant as there are other, more tasty options in the town. We had the breakfast buffet one morning and the food was cold and bland. At $11.99 a person, I would look into other places or even stop at the local grocery store for breakfast. We also had room service one night and the food was just so-so. For a great dinner at a very reasonable price, I would go to Lisa G's again. They have an extensive menu, the place is very family friendly, and the food is good to boot!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would return if ever in Lake Placid.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Firstly, I booked on-line in July/09 only to find that I would be charged IN FULL for our stay (in October). I have never seen this type of reservation before (and I'll be on the lookout for it again whenever I book in the future). WATCH OUT FOR THIS EVERYONE!!!
When it came time for us to go on our trip we suddenly had a family emergency and couldn't go (let alone even think about a vacation). When we got home from this family emergency, on the day when we should have been checking out, I called the Crowne Plaza to tell them what happened. I asked them if I could re-book for two weeks later. THEY TOLD ME TO FORGET IT AND REFUSED TO GIVE ME ANYTHING!!! I was so surprised at their reaction and lack of compassion that I wrote a letter to their president. The response was that the hotel was privately owned so sorry nothing could be done. In effect I lost $288 + tax. Imagine this type of treatment in such a competitive world out there! I hope everyone boycotts this hotel with incredibly poor management. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Never_again000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D-Spin, Owner at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2009

This person booked an advance purchase rate online; this is a discounted rate which clearly states "Special Savings! Reservations require full prepayment for the entire stay at time of booking. Fully non refundable. Prepayment is charged to credit card between time of booking and day of arrival and is non refundable. No refunds if cancelled or changed"

This person called us the day he was to check-out, and since the reservation was prepaid for 2 nights it was held for the 2 nights booked over a busy weekend.

The family emergency was never clarified as to what it was and no real reason given as to why he did not call us on his check-in day instead of his check-out day.

Our General Manager told him via email if he had let us know w/ a documented emergency in advance of his stay we may have been able to give him a credit for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

I love Crowne Plaza Hotels! Great location and the staff was very friendly.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LucyG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We very much enjoyed this hotel and Lake Placid. The rooms are nice, we did not have a view room or a fireplace. However, the views from the Lobby/Bar Area can't be beat. Just fantastic.
The Hotel Staff we came into contact with could not have been better. The front desk staff made our dinner reservations for us and arranged transportation via the hotel shuttle.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grandma51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

My husband and I are from NYC. We stayed at Crowne Plaza for 3 nights for our anniversary. Originally, we rvsp'd a King with fireplace, upon our arrival we were upgraded to a King Suite with fireplace, Jacuzzi, and balcony overlooking the mountains. What a wonderful room! We were very pleased with the free upgrade, and the customer service. We had the buffet breakfast in the hotel one morning, which was good. We also spent time in the Grand Room with the big stone fireplace. This room is great!! This hotel has one of the best views of Mirror Lake from the Grand Room. There is a bar in the Grand Room and tables, as well as big sunken comfy sofas. You can enjoy a cocktail in front of the attractive fireplace or by the window overlooking beautiful Mirror Lake (we did both). The hotel is on a hill overlooking the lake. It is conveniently located to the shops in town. You can easily walk to the shops. We bought a bottle of wine with us; however, we forgot the wine glasses and a bottle opener. The bartender was nice enough to give us 2 wine glasses and a bottle opener. We returned them after our use. The hotel staff was very nice and they met all our needs. This hotel is a good quality hotel and reasonable for the price compared to the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butterfly321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

The great room has a cozy fireplace, a good place to curl up in a big chair and socialize with other people if you want to.
The hotel itself definitely shows the wear and tear of its age. The staff is indifferent. Any king of adjustment or need they will charge you through the nose for. It's pretty obvious that this was once a Holiday Inn even though they charge higher prices.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsMariana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#14 of 32 in Lake Placid
254 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 32 in Lake Placid
28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#29 of 32 in Lake Placid
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Address: 101 Olympic Drive, Center Of Village, Overlooking Lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: $114 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing