We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Adirondack Inn(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$147
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whiteface Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$338
$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$144
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake House(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$188
$144
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Placid Bay Inn(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$122
$105
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$339
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lake Placid Lodge(Lake Placid)
$699
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,374)
Filter reviews
1,374 results
Traveler rating
540
528
212
64
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
540
528
212
64
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadirondack winggreat roomsteep hillhill overlookingin townboat housenew wingfamily suitehockey tournamentbreakfast buffetan upgradethe hotel sitsthe main streetprivate beachfront desk staffbeautiful viewthe hotel offers
Filter
Updating list...
1,190 - 1,195 of 1,374 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Always love staying at this hotel. Most scenic bar in the town. The rooms are always nice and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeauRoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

This was part of our 1-month honeymoon in the US. In total we stayed in six other hotels where everything exceeded expectations and where people were always extremely friendly and helpful. The Crowne Plaza Lake Placid however was without exaggeration our worst hotel experience ever, and was clearly not representative of American hospitality.

I won't get into the old and tasteless design, the poor quality food, and neither our dirty, dusty and smelly room, because the absolute worst thing was the appalling front desk service! We have never encountered something like that.

After having driven all day and arriving at the hotel, the only thing the front desk clerk asked in an unfriendly tone was "are you checking in?". No welcome, no asking about how our trip was, and no offer to help with our four large bags. Granted, we were upgraded to a 'whirlpool' room, but we would have much preferred a warmer welcome! At first we thought that this person must have had a bad day, so we forgot about it. However, during our four day stay it became clear that this unfriendly and lazy behaviour was the rule and not the exception at the front desk. (While the restaurant waiters were the extreme opposite, they were always very nice!)

There were two incidents where we felt like being treated like children: the third day we went for a long walk, and when we came back to the hotel in the afternoon to rest (hereby passing the front desk, as usual without a "hello" from their part), we noticed that the access to our room had been blocked. We then went to the front desk manager, and she told us she reprogrammed our room key because there seemed to be a problem with our credit card. (In fact, our entire stay was already pre-payed, but that didn't include breakfast etc. which she wanted to charge.) Anyhow, the problem was solved in seconds, but we were appalled by this practice of denying the access to our room in order to have us come to the front desk! Why not simply talk to us when we came in, or leave a note in the room? At that time there were not many guests, and we were by far the only young people, so very recognizable I would say.

Now you're not going to believe that the exact same thing happened the next day, for another simple problem, which was also quickly solved. We just couldn't believe the rudeness! Checking out was similarly unprofessional: no asking if we enjoyed our stay, not a single "goodbye", and again no effort to help with our bags.

If you care about good service, do yourself a favor and don't go to the Crowne Plaza Lake Placid!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonardo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D-Spin, Owner at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2009

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry we did not meet or exceed your expectations. The Crowne Plaza, a family owned and operated resort, is an award winning resort, noted for superior service and quality excellence. We appreciate your candor. And we will continue to educate our associates about the importance of customer service and making all of our guests feel "at home". Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

One would think with The Crowne Plaza, one would have an up-scale place to stay. This is not the case in Lake Placid. It's been given a facelift on the front, but looks like a dump in the back. The room was dirty, we found remnants of the previous guest and they had so much furniture stuffed in the small room you could barely move around. The staff was nice, but there were very few on at the busiest times, check-in and check-out. Overall it wasn't worth the price we paid and we'll definitely be looking for somewhere else to stay when we go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlwenIsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Stayed there for 2 nights in September, excellent location, fantastic hotel. This hotel was one of the highlights of our hotel, it is in the perfect location, overlooking Mirror Lake and only minutes walk from the centre of town. It was a very clean hotel, had spacious rooms and the staff were friendly. They had a free shuttle bus which would take you to nearby Restaurants and pick you up later on.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Our room was in the adirondack wing w mountain views - very comfortable and great scenery. Although we had requested a lake view, the view from our room included the parking lot which turned out fine as we could keep an eye on the car which made us feel better. The room itself was clean and quiet and felt private. Access to the hotel was easy and any kind of dining was within walking distance. We enjoyed just sitting and watching the sights. The first morning we ate breakfast in the hotel which was tasty and plentiful. We do not have any complaints but we did not spend alot of time in the hotel either. However, all contact with hotel staff was good.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VarSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews