We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Golf Vacatin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Placid
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Golf Vacatin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

Third year in a row visiting the Crown Plaza. Service overall was very good and course was in good shape this year (though a lot of rain.. boo). The real stand out on the trip was Joe at the lobby bar. Very professional, made me the best manhattan ever, even made our reservations at Veranda for us. He really went out of his way for the whole group. Lucky us and lucky hotel for having him.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rondackmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    480
    199
    63
    26
See reviews for
420
493
14
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

Just returned from a three day stay at the Crowne Plaza Lake Placid (7/14 - 7/17) and enjoyed every moment of our stay. We stayed in the newer Adirondack Wing with views of Mirror Lake and Whiteface Mountain from the balcony of our room. It was definitely worth the extra money. The Great Room is a comfortable place to have a drink, read a book, or just enjoy the view. We had dinner at both the Veranda and Boat House Restaurants, great service and fantastic views. We happened to meet Donald Whitmore (Food and Beverage Manager) the night we had dinner at the Boat House Restaurant. He made a point of stopping by each table, asking guests about thier meal as well as thier stay in Lake Placid. It was evident that the level of service at these restaurants is due to his attention to detail as well as to his training of the staff. I would highly recommend the Crowne Plaza Lake Placid.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

Stayed here for one night on a return trip from Vermont to Canada. Paid $150 on hotel's web site. Upon check-in was upgraded to a room in the Adirondak wing due to membership (free) in hotel's loyality program. The room in the Adirondak wing was absolutely beautiful.

My family and I were on the first floor, wheelchair accessable room, which meant extra space, especially in the bathroom. Although there was no bath tub, the bathroom was almost as large as the room. We loved the patio that overlooked the mountains.

There is a big difference between the hotel enterance way/lobby/restaurant/bar/Adirondak Wing and the rest of of the hotel, which is dated and really quite ugly. I would feel badly if we were given a room in the older part. That said, the common areas were wonderful and the views excellent from almost every room in the place.

The walk to the town of Lake Placid is less than 3 minutes down a very steep path. One does not have to take the road to the town, which is longer, but rather, can walk to the left of the tennis courts across the street. There is a narrow, paved, path, with some stairs, which is more direct, but also much more steep. However, without this walk the hotel would not be situated on the top of a hill and the views would just not be as spectacular as they are, so the trade off is worth it.

Upon check in we were given vouchers for $10 off at the resorts restaurants that are located: 1) beside the hotel (president Clinton ate here) and 2) across Mirror Lake. We elected to eat at the "Boathouse" across the lake and were not disappointed. The setting was great, the food was also very good.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel, again, if one can secure a room in the newer wing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YYZAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

The Crowne Plaza is situated atop a hill with wonderful views of Mirror Lake. We traveled with our two sons (early 20's) and we all enjoyed the hotel. We were initially given two rooms on the ground floor. My husband and I immediately upgraded to a room on the 4th floor with lake views. Two nights later, my sons moved to the 4th floor because of some earwigs (from all the rain) in the dressers. The switch was made quickly and cheerfully by the front desk staff. A room on an upper floor is better, because it is cool enough to leave the sliding glass doors open all night and you might not want to do that on the ground floor. The rooms were very clean and there always seemed to be housekeeping staff cleaning all areas of the hotel. The beds were comfortable with very nice linens. The food was OK (pretty much the same as all of the restaurants in town). We used our coupons from check in to eat at the Boat House grill (lovely, peaceful setting, same OK food). The hotel is right in town, but being on the hill gives it a quieter, calmer setting than places in town. If you go up and down the steep stairs from hotel to town a few times each day (as opposed to taking the trolley), you burn enough calories to eat whatever you like for dinner. The small beach on the other side of the lake is nice and the water was just lovely for swimming. Hotel staff will drive you there, but it is a nice walk if you cut through the park. There are wonderful hiking trails within 5 miles of the hotel. We would absolutely return.

Stayed July 2009
Helpful?
Thank Italychaperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed on July 3rd, having travelled all around New England with our 2 teenagers. I couldn't disagree more with the negative comments about the staff. We were so warmly greeted by all staff and got chatting in particular in the supremely comfortable bar with one of the managers, Donald , a perfect gentleman. He took the time to welcome us and tell us some of the history of the hotel - this is a big hotel but with totally individual service. We were served by a young waiter, Charlie, a very bright and helpful young man, who we think represented the seamless service we got from everyone.

Our room, in the Adirondack Wing was immaculate and comfortable. The food is great and good value. We considered changing our travel plans to stay another night but it was booked months in advance by repeat travellers. We will be back to this area -without the kids, for a biking oddysey and have already decided that this stop will be the luxury bit of our journey. I think this hotel is superb and we have not come accross anything that got better than this in New England.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JarvisMrMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
309 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed at this hotel over the July 4th weekend for three nights. The hotel is pretty convenient to the Main Street of town - you walk down the big hill or you can take the semi-steep steps down - and you're smack dab in the middle of everything. There are many restaurants, stores and the Olympic Museum and Oval within easy walking distance.

PROS:
View from the Great Room Bar is simply stunning. The hotel and the town are dog friendly and we ran into a very wide variety of beautiful dogs! There was plenty of parking (no fees), two computers for web surfing (no fees), plenty of places to sit indoors and outdoors, and a pool and jacuzzi.

We requested and received a lake view room and it had a balcony with a wonderful panoramic view of Mirror Lake and Main Street below. We had a perfect view of the Fourth of July fireworks. Six pillows provided on the bed (awesome). More tv channels to choose from than other hotels. One sleep pack provided - sleep mask, pillow mist and earplugs. Toiletries were not a brand I was familiar with, but the scent was rustic, organic and spa like.

CONS: The walls are a bit thin, so hallway noise and door slamming can be heard. The mini-refrigerator in the room didn't keep things very cold. The hairdryer was very weak and always seemed to overheat after 30 seconds. The hotel gym was an afterthought - four old machines and a weight set (but in a winter/ski town, I suppose people get their exercise from winter sports). There were no lounge chairs in the pool area. No room safes. The town's free trolley runs very sluggishly. Once, we only waited five minutes, the rest of the time we waited closer to 20-30 minutes and gave up.

SUGGESTIONS:
I can't recommend Milano North highly enough, the pizza and pasta were absolutely delicious. Great outlet stores, fresh handmade chocolates at the Candy Man. Good spa experience at Mirror Lake Inn and Spa. Lovely views at The Cottage - restaurant/bar at Mirror Lake Inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milril44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

Great location to explore Lake Placid, the Olympic Center and all the olympic venues, and the greater Adirondacks. Best views of any hotel in the area and the only hotel from which one can view both Mirror Lake and Lake Placid, as well as the mountains. Newly redone and gorgeous Great Room is the perfect place for a drink and app after a day skiing, exploring, or whatever. Lots of little touches throughout the hotel which make it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.8 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Property: Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing