We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Lake Placid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed on July 3rd, having travelled all around New England with our 2 teenagers. I couldn't disagree more with the negative comments about the staff. We were so warmly greeted by all staff and got chatting in particular in the supremely comfortable bar with one of the managers, Donald , a perfect gentleman. He took the time to welcome us and tell us some of the history of the hotel - this is a big hotel but with totally individual service. We were served by a young waiter, Charlie, a very bright and helpful young man, who we think represented the seamless service we got from everyone.

Our room, in the Adirondack Wing was immaculate and comfortable. The food is great and good value. We considered changing our travel plans to stay another night but it was booked months in advance by repeat travellers. We will be back to this area -without the kids, for a biking oddysey and have already decided that this stop will be the luxury bit of our journey. I think this hotel is superb and we have not come accross anything that got better than this in New England.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JarvisMrMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,310)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,156 - 1,162 of 1,310 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed at this hotel over the July 4th weekend for three nights. The hotel is pretty convenient to the Main Street of town - you walk down the big hill or you can take the semi-steep steps down - and you're smack dab in the middle of everything. There are many restaurants, stores and the Olympic Museum and Oval within easy walking distance.

PROS:
View from the Great Room Bar is simply stunning. The hotel and the town are dog friendly and we ran into a very wide variety of beautiful dogs! There was plenty of parking (no fees), two computers for web surfing (no fees), plenty of places to sit indoors and outdoors, and a pool and jacuzzi.

We requested and received a lake view room and it had a balcony with a wonderful panoramic view of Mirror Lake and Main Street below. We had a perfect view of the Fourth of July fireworks. Six pillows provided on the bed (awesome). More tv channels to choose from than other hotels. One sleep pack provided - sleep mask, pillow mist and earplugs. Toiletries were not a brand I was familiar with, but the scent was rustic, organic and spa like.

CONS: The walls are a bit thin, so hallway noise and door slamming can be heard. The mini-refrigerator in the room didn't keep things very cold. The hairdryer was very weak and always seemed to overheat after 30 seconds. The hotel gym was an afterthought - four old machines and a weight set (but in a winter/ski town, I suppose people get their exercise from winter sports). There were no lounge chairs in the pool area. No room safes. The town's free trolley runs very sluggishly. Once, we only waited five minutes, the rest of the time we waited closer to 20-30 minutes and gave up.

SUGGESTIONS:
I can't recommend Milano North highly enough, the pizza and pasta were absolutely delicious. Great outlet stores, fresh handmade chocolates at the Candy Man. Good spa experience at Mirror Lake Inn and Spa. Lovely views at The Cottage - restaurant/bar at Mirror Lake Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milril44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Great location to explore Lake Placid, the Olympic Center and all the olympic venues, and the greater Adirondacks. Best views of any hotel in the area and the only hotel from which one can view both Mirror Lake and Lake Placid, as well as the mountains. Newly redone and gorgeous Great Room is the perfect place for a drink and app after a day skiing, exploring, or whatever. Lots of little touches throughout the hotel which make it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights. This hotel is nicely situated in Lake Placid, there is two ways in to the parking for those who do not want to walk up the hill. It is really attractive from the outside and the bar area view is beautiful.

The room itself was fine, but was not as modern as I would have thought. We were in the West Wing, and I could see some rooms had nicer TVs and décor. It was a bit noisy anytime people were in the corridor and closing their doors. The pool / pool area was fine, but the hotel beach on the other side of Mirror Lake was not open yet, so that was a bit of a let down. We had a great view and did not know beforehand that we had small fridge and microwave so that was a good bonus. Would stay again since it is one of the nicer hotels of Lake Placid but would request a newer room.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie_c_vfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Wow! What a place! We spent 4 nights there from June 6-10th and this place FANTASTIC!!! We had a great room (368) with an absolutely beautiful view. Our room was in a very quiet area away from the entrance of the hotel ... We were treated extremely well by everyone we came in contact with. Everything was in perfect working order. The fireplace and oversized jacuzzi tub were great (it got down in the low 40's our first night there). Our rooms were cleaned early in the day, so when we got back mid-afternoon everything was in order. We did not eat there, so I can't tell you how the food was in the hotel, but Lake Placid has lots of places to eat and we found some very good ones. This hotel is easily within walking distance of the town ... just a 5 minute walk. It was easy to walk into town, go out to eat, go to a movie at the theater in town and walk back to our room in the evening. No doubt about it, we are going back!

1  Thank gypsywoman222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

First off, I can't believe I almost overlooked this Hotel. For some reason I did not consider this place initially and had booked at the Marriott. We went to Lake Placid to run the 1/2 marathon. I found out the Marriott was not as close to town as some of the other places so did some research on the Crown Plaza and sooo glad I did!
It is a great setting with great views and so convenient to Main Street. Please don't be off put by the reviewers who comment on the "big hill." The property is right off Main Street and the location could not be nicer. I walked down every morning to the Green Mountain Roasters for coffee, and also the bakery right down the road.
We also stayed in the nicer Adirondack wing which had great views. The rooms were great, nothing fancy but adequate.
When I called for reservations the receptionist was a bit robotron and didn't exactly exude warmth and friendliness but the worst part of the stay was the hotel clerk at the front desk I encountererd at 6;55 am. I had the audacity to ask him when the cafe opened so I could get a cup of coffee. He rather indignantly replied that they supplied coffee makers in the room and I would have to wait 15 or 20 minutes, eventhough the cafe opened at 7:00 am. I should have stopped there with him but I asked him if there was a place I could get information on hiking. He again was exceedingly rude and unhelpful and realized I was getting nothing here. . .As a side note the rest of my stay I avoided the cafe and walked down to Main Street for a great cup of java at Green Mt. Roasters. Other than this one clerk I must say the rest of the staff was more than helpful and friendly.
Overall the hotel is on a beautiful location convenient to town, and I highly recommend it. Also, we dined at the Boathouse which is across the Lake and operated by the Crown Plaza. Marathon morning I simply walked down the hill to the start of the race.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
Thank MountainCatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLPJB, Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2009

I am so glad you enjoyed your recent stay at our fine hotel. Our entire staff is taught that guest service is our #1 Priority and I am dismayed that a front desk agent missed an opportunity to help a guest and I want to assure you that unacceptable behavior is not be tolerated. We take it upon ourselves to make sure the all of our staff is re-educated and that the guest always comes 1st at this hotel"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

This wing is newer and has somewhat larger rooms and full size balconies....we reserved a room there, with a balcony...paid extra for it and when we checked in were given a room with NO balcony...a call to the front desk corrected that miscue in a few minutes....my only other complaint is that the bartenderette in the "Great Room" was, well, to put it nicely, unfriendly to one and all...quite competent but rather rude. Otherwise. we loved this place...spectacular views!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bradyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPLPJB, Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2009

Thank you for choosing our Resort and also for taking the time to inform us of your disappointing experience. The quality of service you received is not our standard. We are known in the area for providing impeccable service at our Resort. We have taken steps to ensure this does not happen again. We thank you for your candor and are truly sorry for your displeasure. We at The Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club pride ourselves in first class service and food quality. I can assure that the experience you received is not a common occurrence. Your satisfaction is important to us and I hope that you will join us on the next visit to Lake Placid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: $133 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing