We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely two night getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely two night getaway”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Just left a two night stay at the crowne plaza in Lake Placid. Had a lovely stay and the four of us would definitely go back. The rooms are typical hotel rooms, with very comfortable beds, which is most important to me. Hubby did miss his duvet pillows though :D The hotel has a wonderful Great Room and lobby, a nice patio with firepit, a nice heated indoor pool with cozy hot hot tub. With its central. Location close to lots of restaurants and shops, it was a perfect location. ..with fabulous views. While we didn't have dinner there, their breakfast buffet was nice and very hot and tasty - not always the case with a buffet. And their simple lunch menu in the great room had a nice selection of soups and sandwiches. Overall...recommended, especially if you get the rates we got during our stay!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KBT-Ott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review and recommendation! I am ecstatic to hear that your stay was outstanding and everything went perfect. We love to hear about our guests thoroughly enjoying their time with us! Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent stay in Lake Placid, NY and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    488
    207
    63
    28
See reviews for
429
506
15
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York, USA
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Really nice location, central to the town and the lake. Very scenic, rooms on first floors have patio and a view. Pool is very large and pool area is perfect for a party. Only complaint....they need to refurb their walkway/stairs that lead to the town.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slepski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review! I am thrilled to hear that your stay was amazing and you enjoyed our convenient location and breathtaking views! Unfortunately, the stairs that lead into town are part of the town’s property and because of the hard winter we had this year our roads and sidewalks got a beating. However, rest assured they are out in heavy force getting the roads cleared up for the townspeople. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent trip to Lake Placid, NY!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Here we are back at the Crown Plaza and as before the front desk staff are as gracious and helpful as ever. The room had a fantastic view out over the lake. The rooms were net and clean and the beds were comfortable.. The food in the restaurant was good and the omelette station at breakfast was again great but the rest of the breakfast menu could use some change. The only bad part of our trip was the terrible shape of the greens on the Mountain course due to extreme winter kill. At must other courses that I have played they would have instituted temporary greens. Luckily the links course was in good shape. All in all it was still a great weekend at a very nice resort

Room Tip: Try to book one of the rooms facing Mirror Lake for a great morning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for visiting the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club once again! It is great to see you all time and time again. I am glad to hear that your stay was once again great and our staff was very accommodating. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Nice hotel and amenities, Might be a little overpriced its a good hotel with nice views but there is nothing overly spectacular about the rooms. The lobby area is very nice and the great room seems to be a good hang out for everyone in the evenings. No complaints just a little pricey but its a very good location in town as well. It is central to most of the activities you would want to visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am glad to hear that you stay was very enjoyable and you were able to enjoy our amazing GreatRoom Lounge. The views from that room are spectacular! Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemptville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

A beautiful hotel with mountain vistas, friendly staff, a limited menu, but wonerful food, and golf. What more can you ask for. Our room was very clean and comfortable.
The only down side to the visit were the black flies so don't go in late May or early June, but do go. It is worth the trip. There are lots of things to do and see in the area for adults and children. Watch the restaurants. Many very good. Some not so much (Nicolas Italian).

Room Tip: The front side is best for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13Rocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review! I am so glad to see that you enjoyed every aspect of our resort. In regards to the black fly season, unfortunately there is no telling when they are going to hatch. It really depends on the weather and the winter we’ve had. Therefore, in the future please feel free to contact us directly at the hotel to see how they are. Thank you for taking the time to write an amazing review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Was a great hotel with fantastic views of Mirror Lake. The location is also great as it is so central and within easy access to the main street. The rooms are also very comfortable. Did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort! It is great to see that your stay was amazing and got to enjoy our breathtaking views of the High Peaks. Thank you again for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent to trip to Lake Placid, NY and we look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is a typical chain hotel. The rooms had no personality. We bought the tickets on Priceline and it seemed that the discount tickets were for rooms in the older section. The location was great - right in town, but there is a steep hill to walk up. Staff were initially put out by our requests to upgrade. The great room, which looks down on the lake, is very impressive and lodge like. Great beds. This was not a bad choice, just not as impressive as hoped.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us in regards to your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed out Great Room and our convenient location right above town! In regards to your check in process I would like to extend my apologizes for that way you feel you had been treated. I can assure you that our staff does their very best to make sure we can accommodate every guests needs. I do hope that you are to come and stay with us again so we can prove that we are the right choice of resort for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Property: Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing