We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“midweek getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    481
    202
    63
    28
See reviews for
421
497
15
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macedon, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and have never been disappointed. Great views...Location...Staff...Comfortable beds...Nice rooms...and great price! While I have been tempted to stay and or try other hotels in the area, I continuously find myself returning to this Awesome hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing loyalty with the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club! Our staff truly loves to see reoccurring guests time and time again and seeing them enjoying themselves. As a Torchbearer Award winning resort our entire staff takes customer service to the next level. We do our very best to make sure that every one of our guests are enjoying their time with us. We look forward to seeing you back soon and we highly recommend visiting during our summer season. The views are breathtaking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was a great weekend! We were in town to attend a college hockey tournament. This was a splurge for us and well worth it! We had a great room with a balcony, whirlpool, and fireplace. We were at the end of the hallway so it was very quiet. The staff was very friendly both mornings that we had breakfast delivered to our room, and also at the front desk. The site is beautiful, the Great Room overlooks Mirror Lake.

Room Tip: Deluxe room on an end will give you quiet too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you so much for the fantastic review! We are thrilled to hear that everything about your stay was great! Hopefully everything with the hockey tournament went just as great! We can’t wait to host your stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel is probably the best establishment in Lake Placid. We were given a wrong room but after intervention of our booking company we got a very nice upgrade (thanks to booking.con and Ms. Cindy at the reception desk). Our wing was quiet, not as noisy as the main building. The layout of the hotel is weird. The bathroom and room were clean. Bed was comfortable however I still cannot get why a King bed suite had only one night stand. When the hotel was empty our thermostat was working perfectly well, but after rooms around got occupied we could not reduce temperature in the room below 70 degrees unless we turn off the heat completely. Breakfast was very good, service as well. Overall the service at the hotel was very good, staff was friendly and knowledgeable. We dined twice at the hotel's restaurant and we liked it. It was not the best meal I ever had but it was very good. The sister restaurant (Boat House) has a better menu, great view and good service as well. They offer a free shuttle to and from that restaurant. I did not like the location of the hotel. I had to walk 200 yards uphill to get there from downtown. The hotel has to warn people about this inconvenience. I never had that problem anywhere in the world (and I travel quite a bit). Overall I rate this property as Very Good because we had a privilege to stay in an exceptional suite. A few remarks about Lake Placid. Do not go there. After March 15 there are no shuttle buses to the slopes which are 10 miles away (cab cost is about 15 bucks one way). All lifts stop working at 330 pm, why? The open skating ring was closed for the season (temperatures were around 10F, so why?). All shops in town are closed at 5 pm, so no shopping in the evening.

Room Tip: Do not book a Regular room and avoid the first floor. On weekends this hotel is full of young hockey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha122156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our property! I will definitely pass along the good comments to Cindy. Our staff members love to see good reviews of their hard work. In regards to the town I apologize of any inconvenience. You can always get in touch with the town to voice the concerns you have. We do hope that you come back to visit again. In our summer season things tend to be open longer due to day light and more travelers. April tends to be a slower month for Lake Placid causing some places to close for awhile. All in all we do hope to see you again in the future and get the opportunity to host your stay once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1,094 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Would never have suspected an IMMACULATE nice hotel would be here. We had a lake view in the Adirondack Wing (might be newer than other parts of the hotel), a little kitchy, but that's the norm here mirroring the green paint and wood and faux plastic antlers adorning light fixtures...had a nice gas fireplace in our room and hypoallergenic pillows are standard! Definitely recommend, and convenient to town, walking, and sports complex. Cons: usual bad lighting, no in room bottled water or mini bar, bed linen could step it up, not enough outlets at all for electronics, hot water was a wait at night, but plentiful by day, no bathroom night light, shower head kind of minimal, as was toiletries (except for a night rest mini package of creams and spray)..but all in all, recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PlatinumHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent trip to Lake Placid, NY! We are thrilled to see that your stay was immaculate! Our staff works very hard to make sure everything is perfect for our guests and it is nice to hear that it is appreciated. In regards to some of your concerns I will certainly pass along the information to the corresponding department managers. We look forward to seeing you back with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a great spot because you are up the hill overlooking the town which is so quaint. Comfortable beds, decent room service. The food at dinner was not good at all - I'm not sure if that is because it was part of a package...but go elsewhere if so. A bit crazy with kids running all over the place and people up until all hours in the hallway but staff was super friendly, lobby was very nice and walking down the hill to row was a good little workout.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imajerseygirlhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent trip to Lake Placid, NY. It is great to see that you enjoyed both our incredible views and comfortable beds. I regards to your dining experience I can assure you that is not our typical procedure. I would like to extend my apologizes and I can guarantee that this information will be passed on to the Food and Beverage Manager. I do hope that you are to return and give our dining outlet another chance to prove that they are capable of fulfilling your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

6 of us rented one of the chalets which had a great view. the main building was nice in a very rustic kind of way. however, in one of the bedrooms, the radiator is so loud that you couldn't sleep if you had the heat on. seeing as it dipped down to almost -20 Celsius, this was a real problem. when we mentioned it at the front desk, the first staff member was polite but unhelpful. when we next spoke to the manager on duty, she was not only rude and unhelpful but argumentative and aggressive as if somehow we were the problem. it was the worst customer service I have ever experienced at any hotel in the over 45 countries I have visited. re-inforced the negative stereotype about poor American customer service and manners. what a shame, for the resort itself was quite lovely. however, there are many other places to choose from so I strongly recommend looking for other options.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear snadon,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note that you liked our hotel facility. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. I am sorry that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience because of the problem with heating in your room. Also, please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you may have experienced with our team members. We want our guest to have a pleasant and professional experience when interacting with our staff.
The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and will help us improve for your next stay.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.8 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Property: Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing