We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“2nd stay.”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Have been to the Crowne Plaza in Lake Placid twice in the past 3 years.

The hotel is excellent. Very clean and in a great location. The staff are very helpful and courteous.

During our stay there was also a huge youth hockey tournament and staff had upgraded our room prior to our arrival to make sure we were in a different wing for a more quiet and peaceful stay.

This was a welcomed surprise.

We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    488
    207
    63
    28
See reviews for
429
506
15
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My family and my extended family recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Lake Placid NY. We hosted a Memorial Luncheon in the great room after the funeral. The Great Room is a beautiful space, it is very comfortable and cozy, looking over and onto the Lake. It was perfect for this occasion. The Crowne Plaza team including the General Manager Ray Damp and the entire banquet team took great care of us and their friends and their father's friends. It was such a comfort having a great team of individuals responsive to my family’s needs. The Crowne Plaza made a difficult time a lot easier with both excellent accommodation’s and an excellent venue for our gathering. Thank Ray and team.

Room Tip: Adirondack Wing has the quietest rooms! Breakfast Buffet is great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Was here for a hockey tournament. Nice place. Alittle pricey but is in prime location overlooking Lake Placid village.Tournament fee included meals in their large dining facility....This is where the hotel struggles. Food is mediocre at best. Reminiscent of college cafeteria fare and simply not good enough.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RdWarriorNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate our guest’s critiques since it only helps us to improve. I will be sure to pass along the review to our food and beverage director. I am, however, glad to hear that you enjoyed our location overlooking the town of Lake Placid and look forward to seeing you again for Canam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We asked for a quiet room that was animal free. We were accommodated with a fantastic upgrade as Platinum Elite members in the Adirondack Wing. We had a fantastic room with a fireplace and a great view, Room had a balcony and jacuzzi tub plus a shower. Made our weekend. King bed was comfortable and the wing was exceptionally quiet. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leaann419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of our property! We here at the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club in Lake Placid, NY are ecstatic to hear that your stay was fantastic! Make sure to keep an eye out for our ski and stay packages offered for Whiteface Mountain. Thank you for your loyalty with our IHG brand and we look forward to hosting your stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here on a long weekend while doing some climbing. It was perfect. The location is great. It’s a bit above town so you have a great view of the main street and the lake. The walk down is very easy and you are right in the heart of town. The hotel has a big log cabin feel and the staff was great. We wandered around the whole lake checking out the other hotels and no question we will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeanFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the great comments about the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club in Lake Placid, NY. We here at the resort are glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoy our property! The Crowne Plaza brand prides itself on being an upscale brand and we’re glad to see that it shows. Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We brought visitors from the west Coast up to Lake Placid for a mid-week visit and stayed at the Crowne Plaza for one night. We've stayed at this hotel previously and enjoy the location and the pool. The hotel is walking distance to the main tourist street in Lake Placid and has a wonderful pool for children. We haven't tried the restaurant at the hotel. The decor is rustic and the double rooms are fine. The bar area overlooking the town is impressive. Great place for a Lake Placid stay.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very pleased to hear that your stay is a wonderful experience each and every time you stay with us. Thank you so much for your loyalty to our hotel and we look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Both my wife and I loved the room, the view of Mirror Lake and the main street from our 4th floor room was spectacular. The only issue we had was that we heard what sounded like hammering coming from above (the roof) at around 08:40AM, when we questioned the staff at the desk, one said it was from a tub being removed down the hall, and the other staff person said that she had heard that complaint before (which nullifies the first answer we received), then a couple who was checking out on the 2nd floor said they heard the same thing............maybe ghost hunters should pay a visit. Other then the hammering, everything was in place for a romantic get away.

Room Tip: upgrade to the front of the hotel on site instead of doing it from the web, it is cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSyracuse_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the review of our property. I am so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our spectacular views from your room! I deeply apologize for the hammering sounds and I personally will make sure to look into where the sounds were coming from so that no other guest is bothered by this. Again, please accept my apologies and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Property: Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing