We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality resort hotel with views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had the best view of Lake Placid from our balcony at the Crowne Plaza. The hotel has a relaxed feel and you can sit on the terrace or have tea in the lounge with its big glass windows looking out towards the lake. Our room was very comfortable and blissfully quiet. We were in one of the lake-view king rooms in the main hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay in our September all the way from London England. The balconies from our king lake views are a great way to welcome the morning and our Great Room is a wonderful place to enjoy some tea. We would love to see you again if you make your way back to Lake Placid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

801 - 807 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our 2nd ski vacation in LP and like last year, we had a great time. whiteface was in good shape and really, not much different from skiing out west. Last year we stayed at the dated mirror lake inn. This year, we stayed at the crowne plaza. We like the hotel a lot. Our main complaint were the beds, that were really hard. The pillows were unusual in that they were half the size of a regular ones, similar to throw pillows on a couch. The staff was courteous and professional, and the facility was clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your review of your second ski trip to Lake Placid. I am sorry to hear that you thought that the beds were too hard. We are in the process of buying new pillows for our beds that will hopefully be in place for your next visit to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A great place to stay when traveling with children - and there have been many families around during our stay. But...

Although kid-friendly, MacKenzie's Restaurant was a disappointment in respect to the ambience and quality of the food. The pasta-buffet (only during peak season) was a great choice and value for the money even though the rolls were lacking freshness. But the regular dinner items we had ordered lacked quality and size. A salad was accompanied by overtoasted burned bread. The waiter did not make any attempt to replace the dish. The breakfast-buffet is nothing special. A lot could be gained if the presentation of the food items and room design was nicer.

And do not forget to bring your earplugs in case you are sensitive to sound. The air heating is extremely noisy - similar to an air condition appliance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay during the busy Presidents Week. I was glad to see that you enjoyed the Pasta Bar that we open for that week and I have shared your comments with our Food & Beverage Director on the other experiences that you had at our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Lake Placid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This large hotel is conveniently located in Lake Placid for all town activities. Public areas are clean, airy, tasteful and comfortable. Staff are super friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet had plenty of delicious options. The hotel keeps bulletin boards and information sheets of what is going on in town and the costs. Parking is plentiful. We were there during President's week so the hotel was fully booked. Unfortunately, this meant the pool was over crowded and kids were monopolizing the hot tub - not the hotel's fault but it did detract from our stay. Our room did have an extremely loud heater fan that kept us awake on and off at night. It did keep the room toasty though. The room also aggravated one of our party's allergies. The source appeared to be the heater. So if you have moderate to severe allergies you may want to ensure the room you get has had the fan filters serviced recently. We would gave given the hotel 5 stars if not for the heater noise and its allergen content but as sleep is the primary reason for booking a hotel it did affect our rating.

Room Tip: If you have allergies ask for a room in which the fan filter has recently been serviced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cantravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay during the very busy holiday week. I am sorry that one of the members of your party had issues with allergies. Our heating / air conditioning filters are checked and cleaned on a regular schedule. I appreciate your comments on our staff and if you would like to discuss your stay further please call me at 518-523-2556 ext 498 or ask for Scott. we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here during our son's hockey tournament. I thought the rooms would be a little more updated but they were comfortable and spacious. The indoor pool area was big, with tables and chairs. I noticed a couple families eating takeout there. I bundled in breakfast when I booked and I am glad. The buffet was quick and easy for us, but I would never have paid full price for it. I would not stay here without my kids because there were very long hallways and not everyone believes in quiet voices and not running in the hallway! My kids aren't perfect, either. My boys loved the place, so we will try it again. The front desk staff and servers in the restaurant were extremely friendly and helpful.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Martinsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with your son's hockey tournament. We do have wonderful King rooms with lake views and Jacuzzi tubs that would be great for a romantic getaway. Please call us at 518-523-2556 so that we can tailor a room package for you. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Lake Placid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I planned this solely based on trip advisors reviews. I made an excellent choice. The hotel were really friendly and helpful . The Hotel owns their own private beach area and transportation, which was as a plus. You will love the great room. My husband and I sat by fireplace with glass of wine. We were there in summer, I'm sure it's just as beautiful in the winter time. My only negative comment would be the driveway /sidewalk you have to walk down to enjoy the strip. Lots of food and shopping located walking distance from hotel. Also the paddle boats were not safe. My husband and son nearly sank in one. They had to hurry back to shore.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawanda934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thanks for your review of your stay last summer. Your comments about our Private Beach bring warm thoughts in the heart of winter. We have purchased new boats for the summer for your seafaring pleasure. I apologize for the issues with the paddle boats from last year and hopefully we see you again this summer to enjoy all of our summer amenities including the private beach and our wonderful Great Room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The setting is very attractive and comfortable for families. The pool and hot tub were very popular. The rooms are large and comfortable although the heating unit can be noisy. Also the halls can be noisy when there are a lot of families as we experienced during this school vacation week. However, the positives for this hotel outweigh any negatives. The restaurant is great and very reasonably priced. The breakfast buffet and pasta bar in the evening were terrific. .Also, the restaurant is very sensitive to food allergies and provided gluten free and dairy free meals and food items without any problem.

Room Tip: We were told that rooms in the Adirondack wing were quieter. We stayed on the main floor on one visi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lottieharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza. Thank you for mentioning our fantastic breakfast buffet and our Pasta Bar special that we offered during very busy President's Week. Our food and beverage group has been trained on what items can be used in certain dietary restrictions. Thank you for your room tips and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Lake Placid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#14 of 32 in Lake Placid
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
0.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#29 of 32 in Lake Placid
126 reviews
1 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 32 in Lake Placid
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Address: 101 Olympic Drive, Center Of Village, Overlooking Lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: $113 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing