We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good place, great Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretty good place, great Breakfast”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed here in the last week of January with my family and got a good deal as a part of a ski and stay package. We had breakfast included and was great with an omelette station, oatmeal, fruit, eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. Our room was comfortable, there were only three of us and we had lots of space. There is a hot tub, but it is relatively small considering the hotel is pretty large. The front main room/bar area is very nice with beautiful views of the surrounding hills. One of the nights we were staying here there was lots of new snow and our car (with snow tires) almost could not make it up the hill leading to the hotel, and we spole to other guests who had to park their cars and walk up. We found out later that the road is maintained by the town and not the hotel itself and that there there is a back way to get there that isn't up a big hill.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMoss44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent ski and stay trip. I was glad to see that you were able to enjoy our wonderful breakfast buffet that includes an omelet station. We are very proud of our Great Room as it offers spectacular views of the mountains and Mirror Lake. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    488
    207
    63
    28
See reviews for
429
506
15
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband,son and myself spent Christmas 2012 at this hotel and it was the most magical, wonderful Christmas ever! We loved our fire place room it was spotless and the hotel was decorated so beautifully. We had the Christmas da breakfast and dinner buffet and everything was delicious. The character and atmostphere of the "great room" was so relaxing. Since our family is in England we have decided to go back this Christmas. I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

5********

Room Tip: If you are going in the winter take a fireplace room, they are so cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaBelbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review of your Christmas Vacation. I have shared your review with all of the staff. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens , New york
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We as a family went to Lake Placid along with a group of ice skaters from Great Neck, Long Island.We all stayed at the Crowne Plaza.
The ice skating Rink was down the block within walking distance.
The hotel is very nice and the staff are so nice and cordial. The rooms are clean and spacious with a refrigerate and coffee maker in each room.
There is a nice size swimming pool which got alot of use. The hotel is very family friendly.
They cater to large groups of people. There is a restaurant on premises
The Lobby is nice and cozy with a fire and large couches so everybody that wishes to can enjoy the atmosphere was great.
When all the competion was over the children had a wonderful time with their friends downstairs in the lobby.There was plenty of celebrating going on .
So if you are looking for a great hotel in Lake Placid I recommend the Crowne Plaza and they do have group rates.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tubridy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent skating stay in Lake Placid. We were happy that your team was able to enjoy many facets of our hotel including the indoor heated pool and hot tub, the fireplace lodge as well as celebrating in our Great Room. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to being your hotel of choice in Lake Placid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with kids and enjoyed it. The location.is convenient to town and main street. The rooms were comfortable, if you are looking for something a bit newer upgrade to the Adirondack wing. Facilities were great for kids. The lobby bar was very enjoyable but I would not recommend the main restaurant (birch).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boston65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us in Lake Placid. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Lake Placid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel was a bit run down, but the staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean. The hotel is centrally located to town but it is up a huge hill. I enjoy walking, but the hill was long and steep. One night I stopped counting at 150 steps. The hill is so steep that one day when we drove back from skiing and it had snowed, our mini van could not make it up the slippery slope. We found a policewoman who found a back way for us. The breakfast was pricey but good for the price. We went into town one morning to pick up breakfast and it cost about the same.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntieMRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. Thank you for your comments about our staff and breakfast. We do sit on a large hill that affords us the best views in town. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Lake Placid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for business during the heart of leaf peeping season and found my stay pleasurable and relaxing. The hotel staff were patient, helpful and courteous, despite the huge flow of tourists flooding the hotel that day. The rooms were quaint and simple, but comfortable and convenient. The hotel itself reminded me of what those in the 1960’s thought rustic should be, but I felt that it add to its Adirondack charm and character. The highlight for me was the main club room, with adjoining bar and restaurant, which possessed a grand stone fireplace and tall pine rafters which complimented the exceptional views of Mirror Lake below (excellent views of the Adirondacks while dining at night). Finally, the main shopping thorough fare is easily accessible and within walking distant for those brave enough to scale the steep hill the hotel is perched upon.

Pros: Incredibly helpful, friendly staff. Conveniently located to all the Lake Placid shopping, eateries, brew pubs, and sites. Excellent views!!

Cons: For those who have difficulty walking, the steep hill to get you to the shopping below may be difficult; however, I believe the hotel or town offers complimentary shuttle service to bypass this obstacle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ventureman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of you leaf peeping stay at our hotel. This past year's foliage colors were spectacular to say the least with bright orange and red colors. Thank you for comments about our decor and listing your pros and cons. The hill that we sit on does afford us the best views in town. There is the local free trolley that the town provides if you do not want to go up and down the hill. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Crowne Plaza. The location is terrific, you can walk everywhere downtown and its a 10 minute drive to White Face Mountain. Free wifi in the rooms is great and the view of the mountains was spectacular. Check in was very quick and friendly, 2 staff greeted us and both worked hard at getting us checked in and on our way to our room. We went in the hot tub and pool both nights, very clean and not too overcrowded we really enjoyed this both evenings. We dined in the on site restaurant and enjoyed the special all you can eat pasta bar they offered for $16.95, very good value for dinner. The room is clean, spacious and comfortable. Microwave and fridge and HBO are a bonus. Lots of clean towels and our room was cleaned and perfect when we came back after skiing. We stayed on a Wednesday and Thursday night and by the time Thursday night rolled around the place started to fill up with kids from a hockey tournament, they played in the halls on the 4th level and unfortunately found a luggage rack to play on back and forth to give each other rides on it up and down the halls. Not nice. Although not the hotels fault parents don't control their kids it was a tad bit annoying. Maybe an occasional patrol by a staff member would deter this. Not sure I would venture to stay here on a weekend when a hockey tournament is going on something tells me it would be overrun with children, when I walked by the pool on Friday to check out the hot tub and pool must have had 15 kids in it. eek, we were glad we were checking out. All in all, good value, clean, comfortable, friendly staff made our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Mountain view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lives4cookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with your son’s hockey tournament. Thank you for your comments on our wonderful breakfast buffet, that includes a cooked to order omelet station. I was glad to see that you were able to enjoy our "Great Room" and cozy up to the fire and recount the day’s activities. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Lake Placid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Property: Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing