We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay...”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay here. We paid for a lakeview with balcony. They stuck us in this odd family style room. Which was like 2 hotel rooms put together. It felt odd because there was all of this useless unusable space (and beds). They sold it to us as a free "upgrade". But I would have much preferred the room I booked, and it was a downgrade in my opinion. The room smelled like mildew. All of this totally killed the romantic vibe my husband and I had going on. The view was very nice, but we were right on the corner. I feel like had I gotten the room I actually paid for things would have been perfect, so it's kind of a bummer. I definitely feel ripped off.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
I would first like to thank you for staying at our hotel and taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review of your stay. We looked to upgrade you from the two queen bed with a lakeview to our family unit that also does have a king bedroom with a lakeview. I would like to apologize for this and any other inconvience that might have impacted your stay. Please call me at the hotel to make your next reservation and I will ensure you the best room to meet your expectations.

Once again I apologize for any issues and wwe hopefully look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    481
    201
    63
    28
See reviews for
421
496
15
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed at this property for 2 nights. The first night we found a mouse in the room. After notifying the front desk they moved us to a different room which smelled of mildew. Although the location seems perfect (right downtown) it sits on top of a steep hill which makes it inconvenient to explore the area. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
I would like to apologize for all of the issues that you incurred while staying with us. We do get comments on the hill and there is a free trolley service that the town provides that allows our customers easy up and down the hill. The hill also affords us the best views in Lake Placid.

Once again I apologize for any issues that you incurred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The view from the hotel is absolutely breathtaking. It is located in the middle of town with a short walk down a hill to get to shops, restaurants, etc. The walk up the hill may be brutal for a lot of people, but there's a free shuttle that runs through town every half hour and they can drop you off at the front door. The rooms are spotless and the staff is super friendly. The local retailers (including restaurants) close early, so be forewarned. It's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rungirlsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
First of all thank you for your wonderful comments iun regards to your recent stay. Your comments are extremely kind about our employees and you are a great embassador for our property with your explanations of how to take advantage of our hill.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here for the first time on our latest trip to LP as our usual spot was booked (last minute trip) and it will probably will be our last time. When we arrived in our room we immediately were shocked to see how tiny the double queen room was. The foot of our beds were maybe 3 feet from the dressers on the opposite wall, the sitting area with 2 chairs and a tiny round table was cramped, and with luggage for 2 kids and 2 adults in the room it was very crowded. Also the room had a stale smell to it though it quickly cleared up after turning on the A/C.

About the only bright spots were super comfy beds, a great pool, and probably the best view in LP. Having stayed in 2 other locations in LP we will not be staying at the Crowne again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraniteBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
We would like to thank you for trying our hotel recently. Our 2 queen bedroom offers 310 square feet. We also do have a Deluxe 2 queen bedroom in our Adirondack Wing that is a little larger at 425 sqare feet. I would like to thank you for your review and if you would like to stay with us again please call me as I can make sure that we get you a room that exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

relatively small beds, the room wasn't clean (although they cleaned it better immediately after we complained). no LAN in the rooms, and the wireless connection in some rooms is not very good.
also notice that the hotel has great view of the lake, but it is not n walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ikad76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We have rooms with bed sizes that double or full size, queen, and to our king bedrooms. We do not offer wired connections in our room but we do offer a wired connection in our updated besiness center with new computers and printer. We continually are working on improving our WiFi offer. Once again our hill affords us wonderful views and we are less than a 1/4 mile from the lake where you can take the wonderful 2.8 mile round trip walk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for business for 3 nights and was very happy there. It's a big property, so the walk from the common area to your room can be a bit of a hike. Ask for a lake view high floor room for the best views. The Adirondack Wing has the nicest views in my opinion. The wireless internet worked fine, but the password protection that is in place is a bit cumbersome. They allow dogs, which is great for us pet owners. They have a big lawn where Fido can play. I did not use the restaurant, so I cannot comment on that. I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Adirondack Wing or Lake View. The higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay in Lake Placid. Thank you for staying with us and leaving a positive review and hopefully on your next stay you can enjoy one of our wonderful restaraunts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Spent an evening overloooking Mirror Lake and the mountains on a beautiful Sept. summerlike evening! The room was just as marketed and the main dining room and patio overlooking the lake was exactly what we were looking for. Hotel staff were very efficient and gracious, the grounds were superb and they had a shuttle service to another restaurant, off property, called The Boathouse! Would return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We would like to thank you for staying with us as you travelled from Toronto. We were glad that the weather cooperated with you and wwe look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.8 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Property: Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing