We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent place to stay, but avoid the Family Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A decent place to stay, but avoid the Family Suites”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was our second stay at the Crowne Plaza in Lake Placid. We needed to make reservations that were at least partially cancellable, difficult to come by during peak times, so we reserved what is called a Family Suite for me, my wife and our teenage daughter.

The hotel itself is well located and is fairly generic 3 star stuff. It is reasonably clean and bright, has one very nice public space called the Great Room. The desk staff is pleasant.

As for the room, it is in no way, shape or form a suite. It’s sort of like having 2 connecting rooms except with a shared bathroom and mini-fridge/microwave/coffee maker. You enter through a standard sized room with 2 double beds and no window, then pass through the bathroom/fridge area to a small room with a king bed with a small round table and 2 chairs stuffed in the corner. No shared space. Not much space at all, actually.

The king room has a sliding glass door out to a small balcony with a fantastic view of the lakes and Whiteface Mountain. There’s a door between the two rooms, dividing the king room off from the small but functional bathroom. Aside from its miniscule size, my only complaint about the bathroom is that it features the most inconvenient placement of a toilet paper holder I’ve seen. It’s attached to the wall next to the tank, meaning that you have to reach way behind and to the side to get to the paper.

The beds are fine. The fridge neither spoiled not froze anything. The coffeemaker was a joke. Nothing coffee-like could be coaxed from it. They do have free coffee in the lobby for as long as they’re serving breakfast. We didn’t eat in the restaurant or use the pool, which looked nice and was busy all day.

Our biggest pet peeve is with the noise level. Some, if not all, of the Family “Suites” are located near and elevator that rings loudly when the car arrives. The room doors are that infuriating hotel kind that slams loudly by itself and possesses no sound absorbing qualities. It’s no wonder they give you a little amenities bag with earplugs in it when you check in.

Overall, this hotel is a good price/value choice in Lake Placid, but it wouldn’t be our first choice in the future.

Room Tip: Make sure you're far from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseQuonce, Media Director at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for writing about your stay this winter. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the Family Suite in the Main Hotel. These room types are typically quite popular among families and small groups. We hope you will consider a return stay to our resort. We are very thankful for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    488
    207
    63
    28
See reviews for
429
506
15
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We booked a ski package directly with the hotel at the end of November last year for mid-February 2012. We thought we had an outstanding deal until we arrived: we received a room overlooking....the pool atrium! After seeing three rooms with similar "views", I agreed to pay for an upgrade to get a room on an upper floor, viewing the lake and the mountains.
I really did not like this! Priority Club membership didn't serve anything.
After this bitter beginning, everything else was smooth and nice: room and bathroom large and well kept, hotel quiet, lobby outstandingly beautiful, reception desk people very helpful.
Ski conditions at Whiteface were not that great: many ice patches, more on lower slopes, soft snow.
Overall, it was not bad. I wish the hotel had clearer room categories on its website.

Room Tip: An advice to fellow travellers: call and ask in advance. Rooms 101-106 and 201-206 (odd numbers) hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sealover_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseQuonce, Media Director at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the room you were originally given. I am pleased that you were able to resolve the situation and enjoy your Ski and Stay package. Thank you again for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I used my Platinum Priority Club points to spend Friday and Saturday nights in Lake Placid. My partner spent his days skiing at Whiteface, I spent my days at the hotel and shopping. An absolutely beautiful facility with a great lobby, great views and a beautiful bar. Only drawback - and I agree with mkar - small, undistinguished rooms. My guess is that in a resort location like Placid with skiing, ice skating, etc. people don't spend a lot of time in their rooms. Otherwise, terrific.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake facinf room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crs01970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseQuonce, Media Director at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for writing about your stay this February. We greatly appreciate the compliments our Adirondack Great Room, and our location overlooking Mirror Lake. Lake Placid is renowned for its sports heritage – skiing, ice skating, bobsledding, cross-country skiing, and snowshoeing are just a few of the activities available in the “Olympic Village.” We also thank you for your continued membership in Priority Club Rewards – the world’s largest hotel rewards program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Big room w/a fireplace(electric), awesome bed w/white bedding and a large bathroom w/Jacuzzi and plenty of towels. We stayed in the newer wing of the hotel. Overall very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sopphia75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseQuonce, Media Director at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you very much for the review of your stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room in the Adirondack Wing and had a great time while you were here. Thank you again for writing, and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The hotel lobby is impressive. I love the lobby. Our kids were wowed. We stay in 20 hotels a year and are Platinum Priority Club members. Holiday Inn is a good chain. The view, the location, the village itself are all better than I expected. Pictures don't do it justice really.

I emailed ahead of time and made a special request for the room, and the staff was kind enough to oblige.

There are no big amenities for Platinum members. I like it when there is a free breakfast or SOMETHING. A discount? Nothing.

I do understand the complaints about cleanliness. The carpets in the lobbies just don't seem really clean. There seems to be a bit of fuzz, perhaps a few crumbs, along the corners and edges. Not filthy. just not super clean.

The hotel is up a steep incline, but that's okay. It isn't directly on the lake but up a road -which gives it that bird's eye view. There are a number of great fireplaces, and nice gathering areas.

It is an expansive hotel with many outside entrance doors, and we were around the back. The room was comfy and the beds great. With 3 kids, I would prefer a cheaper breakfast, but hotels are not ever cheap and this was fair. We had dinner at the hotel once and have no complaints. Kids do not eat free, unlike Holiday Inn. It isn't a deal, but not exaggerated, and there are many alternatives in the village.

The clientele was a bit noisy. What are you going to do? Lots of young people skiing and sharing rooms. You're going to have some laughing and yelling at 1 AM. You expect it. Our biggest issue - and it really bothered us - was dogs. We saw, in the wing we stayed, perhaps 20 dogs. Big dogs, small dogs, dogs in the elevators, dogs in the hallways, dogs clogging up the entrances, waiting to go out and poop in the front lawn. I felt like I was in a Dr. Suess book. I suppose if we go in the spring, we can catch a healhy whiff of it melting.

It made the hotel seem more dirty, and our kids were uncomfortable with the larger wildlife roaming the hallways. We didn't like it. I wondered if we didn't have dog fur on our pillowcases or bed covers.

At most expensive hotels we have ever stayed, animals are often not allowed, or few and far between. This was remarkable.

We would stay again. Hopefully it was an anomoly. But if the experience repeats itself, we will write off this lovely property.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseQuonce, Media Director at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you for writing about your family’s stay with us this past December. We are very proud of the Adirondack Great Room and the outstanding view of the village it provides. As you mentioned, our “bird’s eye” location only accentuates these views further. Throughout our property, we have a number of pet clean-up stations, which a vast majority of our guests take full advantage of. I am grateful for your feedback regarding amenities for Platinum Priority Club Rewards members and the cleanliness of our common areas. We are constantly striving to create a terrific experience for our guests, and we utilize the honest feedback of our guests to shape our decision making. Thank you again for your review, we hope to see you and your family again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Stayed a couple weeks ago over the weekend. Did not have any issues. We are priority club members and were upgraded to the Adirondack wing. The room was very nice - had a fireplace, large jacuzzi tub and a balcony.

The great room was very nice. Great decor and a fabulous view. Drinks were always full. Bartenders were good.

Didn't eat in any of the restaurants but got chicken wings and soup from room service, which was quick and good but there is a 18% gratuity tax and some other fee which raised the bill to $30something.

There were TONS of children here for a hockey event. They were for the most part well behaved. Played in the pool area and ran around the hallways. However, we did not have any problems with noise.

There was a brief issue with the bill. The credit card had a few random holds which were addressed and removed.

The hill up to the lodge is scary. I'm not a novice when it comes to driving in the snow, but driving down that hill in a snow storm even with 4WD was terrifying. Not that the hotel can do anything about it! I guess without the hill we wouldn't have had such a lovely view.

Overall, nice place and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseQuonce, Media Director at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for the review of your stay. We appreciate your loyalty to Priority Club Rewards, the world’s largest hotel rewards program. You hit the nail right on the head concerning the hill that we are located atop; without it, we wouldn’t be afforded the amazing views of Mirror Lake, Main Street, and the surrounding mountains. Thank you again for writing; we hope you can visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckscounty.PA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Our family stayed here about 15 years ago and remembered a nice experience and beautiful lobby. I am a priority club member and when I called to book I asked for a room with a view. The receptionist stated rather curtly, "ALL our rooms have views." True enough. Our room (#403) had a nice view of the Lake and mountains. The lobby was still very nice and similar to what we had remembered.

The room itself, however, was a typical hotel room-nothing special. The bathroom was fine, water pressure was good. Parking was a bit crowded.

We received a "coupon" for one cup of coffee apiece which we had to present to the hostess at the restaurant in the morning and she filled two cups and gave them to us. We were not allowed in the restaurant unless we were eating breakfast there, which we were not. I thought the whole coupon-for-coffee procedure a bit odd and insulting.

We had remembered a long fight of (outdoor)stairs that lead down to the town beyond the parking lot. The stairs were still there, but in very poor shape and crumbling. We were still able to negotiate them, but I would warn that they are very steep and not for those who aren't in reasonable shape.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseQuonce, Media Director at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you for returning to our hill-top resort hotel! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Adirondack Great Room and the views from your room. We would certainly suggest taking coffee into the Great Room. We have a wide variety of seating, from the cozy stone fireplace, to comfortable couches near the windows to enjoy the expansive view. Thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Property: Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing