We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the area and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Stayed here overnight on Sept.15th, did not have reservation, but they were very nice and gave us a discount as we came in 9pm, great room and great ammenities.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank AlohaHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,253 - 1,259 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2007

We last stayed here two years ago and found the resort to be even better than before! The Great Room in the lobby of the hotel is just beautiful and affords breathtaking views of Mirror Lake. The rooms are fine and we appreciated the updated amenities.I recommend getting a lake-view room. It is worth the additional charge!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QueensNYtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

Stayed here three nights. This hotel sits up high on a hill, overlooking Mirror Lake. You can walk down a flight of steps to donwtown Lake Placid and the Olympic Center, or take a shuttle bus (free). The lobby has a spectacular view, which you can enjoy if you order a drink from the lobby bar - some rooms have this same view, others have a different view or no view. Hotel is well-maintained. We though the breakfast buffet was overpriced and underwhelming, and some days we did not get everything in our room refreshed (one morning they forgot to give us new coffee packets, on another they forgot to give us new shampoo) but each time we went to the front desk and they happily supplied us with these items. Parking is ample. Typical quality that you would expect from a Crowne Plaza. We recommend Nicola's Restaurant at the foot of the hill - excellent pizza. and "the Cottage" Restaurant is a good place for lunch - lovely water view and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boohootravelertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2007

We had a nice time at this hotel previously when it was a Holiday Inn. When I was booking this time I was asked if I was aware that this was now a Crowne Plaza and therefore "more upscale." Yes, I had heard. So this is what is known as upscale.
We went because they advertised they had a beach. They do, sort of, but you have to take a shuttle to the other side of the lake or drive there. We asked if they had change rooms there and were told they did. Well, what they have is two down-at heels toilets. No shower or anything in the men's room, other than sink, urinal and toilet. The beach furniture was Fifties vintage. All this would have been all right but one time when we drove down from the hotel at 5, they were closing up the beach although the sign said they were open till 6. The lifeguard had to go to another job and so they were closing up early. We went swimming anyway while the lifeguard glowered at us. We didn't enjoy that so we got out. By the way, swimming hours of 11 a.m to 6 p.m. are absurd anyway. If you want to swim go to the Golden Arrow across the way where you can swim anytime and you'll pay half the price. As an apology for the closed beach, the
desk manager gave us chits for next morning's buffet breakfast. I wonder if he was laughing while he did so. A more tired buffet I have never seen. The scrambled eggs were not so much scrambled as congealed. There was no decent bread.
However,our room in the new wing of the hotel was gorgeous. The young international staff at the front desk were all very helpful. The cleaning staff were great. But what good is all that with such serious shortcomings.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank IzPoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2007

Stayed one impromptu night at the Crowne in Lake Placid. It was my husband and I's first time in the area and the property was beautiful which persuaded us to stay there. Beautiful views of Mirror Lake and well-kept grounds. The lobby has a nice bar area with a cozy sitting area and board games left for patrons to play. We booked a "family suite" (my mother-in-law had joined us as well) which consisted of a front room w/ 2 double beds and a separate bedroom w/ a king bed and a balcony. There was only 1 bathroom however. The room was fine... a little worn and outdated but clean. I didn't think it was worth $249 but I had no complaints. It was quiet and all 3 of us slept well. There is a new Adirondack Wing to the hotel that looks really neat but I'm sure it comes with a price.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mommainny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at this wonderful hotel. We were returning from a New Hampshire vacation and planned an overnight stopover...we stayed for 2 1/2 days.
The front desk staff were efficient, pleasant and very helpful. Our suite was wonderful. Situated in the new wing, large very well equipped, impeccably clean and with the "million dollar view" of Mirror Lake. We had a superb dinner at the Boathouse and even though the hotel provides transport to/from the restaurant we walked back to the hotel after dinner, around the lake. We recommend this treat after a heavy meal !!
The breakfast buffet was very good,large choice and hot tea/coffee !! Most of the hotel servers are students, some even international,whom we found to be polite efficient and good to talk to. The other restaurants, The Great room, Golf House and the Veranda(we did not eat here) serve quality food.
This hotel is very well maintained. The gardens are lovely, the front reception rooms clean and most sitting areas around the property receive daily attention.
Our experience was most positive. We plan to return in the Fall, when the view, we imagine, will be spectacular.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rivvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Why go to Lake Placid? To see the lakes and mountains. And this hotel is wonderful for seeing them (lakes from half the rooms), being a jumping off point for other scenic attractions, and just relaxing.

The hotel has a deluxe section. I did not use it. The regular rooms are conventional and many have balconies for observing the spectacular scenery.

The staff is very helpful (I was in a wheelchair from a sports injury) and friendly.

The hotel has a beautiful lounge, with a giant fireplace and outdoor balcony.

The food at the hotel is good, but dinners are simple, because the hotel controls two fine restaurants and a golf course.

And fine and delighful describe the restaurants. One, The Veranda, looks out over Mirror Lake and the mountains and the other abuts Mirror Lake.

THere are several extremely expensive hotels in the area. We were delighted to be at the Crown Plaza, build on the great site of one of the famous old hotels..

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#14 of 32 in Lake Placid
254 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 32 in Lake Placid
28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#29 of 32 in Lake Placid
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Address: 101 Olympic Drive, Center Of Village, Overlooking Lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: $114 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing