We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“GREAT GREAT Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Placid Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Placid Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
rhode island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT GREAT Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed there last year for our anniversary. Excellent place with great hospitality. Waiting to go there again.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhodyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    83
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
73
152
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed there this summer. Probably one of the best view of lake placid and whiteface from our room.
We will visit again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

I grew up in Lake Placid, and moved out of the area about 8 years ago. I make frequent trips back to visit and have stayed in many hotels. When we decided last minute to go up for July 4th, not too many places had rooms that were available and afforable. When we booked our room at the Placid Bay I was a little skeptical, but was pleasantly surprised. We ended up getting into town around 11pm, and we were greeted by Denise with a smiling face. She welcomed us and breifed us on what was going on in town for the weekend. When we got to the room it was small, but very clean. The bathroom was quite nice, with hot water and clean towels. The bed was super comfortable, which is just what we needed after a 5+hr trip after work. The next day while we were out the room was cleaned, new towels were delivered--it was great! Everyone there was more than helpful with smiling faces at all time (eventhough the weather was horrendous). We loved it and will definatley be back again. Thanks Denise!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmwilson15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

We stayed in the Mallard cottage and had a great time in Lake Placid and its region. This cottage is excellent with an amazing view on White Face Mountain. We come from the Netherlands and have a two year old boy. He could play soccer on the gras in front of the cottage and the free cano use was also briljant for him. The cottage has all the comfort you need for a week out "in the wild". Denise is very kind and helpful. Just a couple of things you can do with young children: (1) drive to the top of White Face Mountain, (2) visit the High Falls, (3) swim in lake Mirror, (4) take the cano on lake Placid, (5) visit the Wild Center in Tupper Lake and (5) visit the fort Ticonderoga. Great places to eat in Lake placid are definitely "the Caribbean Cowboy" and the Sushi bar on main street. Most restaurants are very child friendly. The Mallard's location on Lake Placid and its view on the mountains alone are fantastic. Enjoy your stay. Paul, Rotterdam, The Netherlands

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulusB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, ON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

We are relatively frequent visitors to the Lake Placid area and have stayed at the Mirror Lake Inn, Art Devlin's Motor Inn, and the Adirondak Loj - among other places around town. For this visit - we decided to try something new - and we rented the Mallard Cottage at Placid Bay Inn for the Canadian Victoria Day weekend. The weather forecast was ominous and the idea of having a cottage rather than just a room or suite was appealing. It suited us perfectly! We did a little hiking, a little reading, a little shopping and eating, and took one of the Inn's canoes out on Lake Placid. All in all - a perfect weekend away.
The cottage is new, very nicely fitted out with everything you would need for a weekend or longer. It is immaculately clean, quiet and private. The grounds are lovely and well cared for. We would have loved to have stayed longer. Denise is everything that everyone else has written - she runs the Placid Bay Inn like you want a place to be run. She's polite, helpful, accommodating and kind - and she runs a lovely well-cared for business. When I was leaving - I felt like I was saying goodbye to a friend. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SquibbyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

Great spot to stay in Placid. It is very central, but far enough away from the village centre so that you can get a good nights sleep. The golf package that they offered was fantastic and the pricing was exceptional. Denise is a great host and is a great ambassador of the Placid community. The hotel is quaint, with a great location on the waterfront. I will definitely be going back to Placid Bay next year for our second annual guys golf trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard41Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

I stayed in the 2 bedroom suite with friends on a winter weekend. The rooms provided us with the basic comforts for the weekend. Nothing fancy, but we were at Lake Placid to be outdoors. Denise provided us excellent service. She even checked up on us upon our return from climbing a mountain to make sure we were OK. I prefer staying at this motel over one the chain hotels in town because of the service and value. The free city bus service stops in front of the motel making it easy to get to restaurants and other locations. We plan to stay at Placid Bay again.

  • Liked — Service and cleanliness
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank harrier86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.7 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#20 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#5 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Placid Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Placid Bay Inn

Property: Placid Bay Inn
Address: 2187 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1182
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adirondack ambiance surrounds you in our picturesque Inn located right on Placid Lake with magnificent views of Whiteface Mt. Relax in a comfortably appointed room, suite or cottage. We have updated & remodeled our accommodations including: upscale towels, bedding, and bathrooms, many with deep soaking tubs. Our Inn offers free Wi-Fi, canoes, outdoor pool, and Adirondack chairs for lounging by the Lake. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to downtown shops & restaurants. Visit our web site for details on our numerous year-round packages and online reservations.Please Note: We are a small hotel not a B&B. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Placid Bay Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing