We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$255
$234
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Adirondack Inn(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$207
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$359
$323
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$230
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Peaks Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$289
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town House Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake House(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$249
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$539
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Whiteface Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$643
$593
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveler rating
251
102
12
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
251
102
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadirondack chairsmallard cottagewhiteface mountaincountry comfortmain streetwatching the ducksnice view of lakefree canoeselectric fireplacemorning coffeelabor day weekendwithin walking distancenice sizecoffee makerdowntown areaenjoy the viewminute drive
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 373 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2015

We chose this motel based on the excellent rating on TA, and we weren't disappointed! Basic accommodations but with excellent amenities such as amazingly comfortable king bed, nice fireplace, very friendly and helpful service. Everything in the room and bathroom was in excellent condition and you can tell the owners take great pride in their hotel as it was tastefully decorated with good attention to detail. The location is right near the heart of the village with a surprisingly nice view of the lake in back. We only spent one night, but have warm memories of our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 333melsie_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2015

The entire staff and family of the Placid Bay Inn would like to thank you for your excellent review and 5/5 rating. It is warming to read that you took notice of our attention to detail in our accommodations and property. Our views of Lake Placid and Whiteface Mountain are spectacular! Many travelers visiting us for the first time, who have not previously been to our website, are surprised to realize that our property is located directly on Paradox Bay of Lake Placid. Perhaps next time you can visit us for a longer stay and take advantage of our lake amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2015

I stayed in a Queen kitchenette room for 3 nights while on business. The kitchenette is just a microwave, sink and mini-fridge, but there are plenty of dishware and utensils. There is a Rite Aid about a block away where you can buy breakfast and sandwich fixings as well as snacks and microwave meals.

Room was clean and roomy, bed was comfortable, service was good. My one complaint is although the lighting by the bed was good, the room was otherwise quite dark. If you want to eat dinner at the table, it will have to be a romantically lit one! I had a lakeside room, and the view was nice, but you had to sit right up to the window to get the view.

The hotel was only about half full when I was there, but I could still hear a fair bit of noise from other rooms even though people were not being loud. One evening someone was making a conference call in the room next door, and I could even make out some of what they were saying. It might get quite loud at the height of the season.

The location of the hotel is beautiful - right on Lake Placid with a view of mountains reflecting in the lake and even canoes guests can use. One of my colleagues was taken aback at the fact that the hotel is almost right on the road, but this makes it easy to get to things. It is away from the crowds of the downtown, but still within walking distance if you don't mind going up and down some steep hills. The people at the front desk told me about a route to the conference center through some residential neighborhoods that was also a nice change of pace.

I would love to come back with family and rent one of the cottages on site.

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Librarian1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of the Placid Bay Inn. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will investigate the lighting situation in your room and see if it can be improved. I truly appreciate the time and effort you have put into your review. We use reviews such as yours to improve the overall satisfaction of our guests' future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here this past weekend (during the off season in Lake Placid) for a weekend getaway with the boo and could not have chose a more wonderful and appropriate place! I had originally chosen this location to stay because it was directly on the lake, and the price point was much more reasonable compared to other locations I had looked at. Though this place does not have a large, luxurious lodge-like lounge like many other hotels in the area have, it was not something I was looking for anyway. Our room faced the water and had a nice little fireplace which really warmed up the room. The amenities were clean, the bed was super comfy, and it was really warm... The room wasn't super luxurious but definitely cozy and had everything I needed. What really made this place perfect for me was the little docks in the back with the canoes and the Adirondack chairs. Those pictures posted of the chairs overlooking the water? They tell no lies! What you see is what you get! We went on a short canoe trip when we got there, and both mornings during our stay on serene Paradox bay, and it was absolutely stunning. We also spent some time at night lounging in the Adirondack chairs looking at the clear, starry sky. The memories I made here at Placid Bay Inn were unforgettable.

The owners Denise, and her son Era(h?) were incredibly sweet and helpful -- they helped us decide on places to eat (we tried 3/4 of their recommendations and they were all good!) and they also helped us plan a day on the mountains. This location is only a short walk down the street from Mirror Lake and Main Street, and conveniently across the street from RiteAid.

I absolutely loved my stay here and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quaint, simple little place to stay and enjoy Lake Placid.

Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Yelissamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2015

The entire staff of the Placid Bay Inn would like to thank you for your wonderful 5/5 review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Located on the beautiful shores of Lake Placid affords some amazing views! I'm so glad you had a chance to take one of our canoes out for a paddle. It was a pleasure having you as guests. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2015

Have been to this Inn both in winter for skiing and fall for touring and hiking. A great location for the Lake Placid area without being in the middle of the town. Easy road access. Right on a bay of Lake Placid. The only reason this is not 5 stars is some road noise depending on room, and no breakfast (but great services nearby).

Room Tip: The cottages are closer to lake and therefore quieter at night.
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to right such a nice review. Next time you call please let us know that you would like a room not close to the road so that you have a quieter experience. We are happy that the rest of your experience was pleasant. Thank you again for staying with us and letting other travelers know your thoughts. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2015

During a visit to lake Placid recently, we staued at the Placid Bay Inn for on night Although not luxurious, this was a great choice for a place to stay. The room was absolutely spotless and the beds were comfortable. The location at the tip of Lake Placid was very nice as well. In conclusion, great value for nice clean property.

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2015

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and you found everything clean and comfortable. Our family would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are always doing upgrades to our accommodations to make every experience a great one. Thank you again for staying with us during your trip to Lake Placid. We hope that we have earned your business, and look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews