We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value! Clean and comfortable!”
Review of Placid Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Placid Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at PLacid Bay for 2 nights during MLK weekend. You cannot beat the price. Great value among a lot of overpriced hotels. Our room, while it had a rustic feel was completely updated and spotless! Nice kitchenette and comfortable bed. (Did not like the pillows) Location was perfect. It is about 1/2 mile from Mirror Lake and Main Street w shops and restaurants. Nice walk to town. Other restaurants only a block or 2 away. Staff was helpful and friendly. My only issue was, as another reviewer stated, the "Free Internet" access did not work. I highly recommend this place as a great value and a quiet getaway!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYKitKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you so much for writing a review, and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. When we designed the rooms in a recent update, we wanted them to fit our area, our property, and not be a Big Hotel experience. Lake Placid is a real town, not just a tourist destination, and located in the Adirondack Park where wilderness surrounds you. It is not a "glam" type of area. I'm very sorry the internet did not work for you during your stay. I have pursued this with our wi-fi provider and learned that Apple/Mac products search for wi-fi radio waves in a different way then regular PC's. They have installed a "fix" for this, and hopefully there won't be any further problems. Please always tell us if you have a problem, that way we can address them right away. When other reviews told us our internet was slow, we updated all of our equipment, and have since also increased the brand width so all customers have faster internet speeds.
Our family wants everyone that visits us to have an enjoyable stay, and experience in the area. I hope you will be able to come back during the warmer months when you can canoe on the Lake, relax in an Adirondack chair right on the lake, and enjoy our beautiful gardens. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience with other visitors to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Placid Bay Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 337 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

Like several spots in Lake Placid, the rooms are a little dated. But I love the charm of the area for not having gone super glam and fake like Mont-Tremblant did 20 some years ago... So I recommend the Inn because the price is right, the rooms are small but very clean, and the service is very friendly and helpful. The setting is also beautiful, with small white lights all around the establishment bringing some romantic and lightheartedness to the place. Although right on Saranac Ave (which makes it convenient but "busy"), it is somewhat peaceful with the lake and trails right in the backyard. Do note that we hear the other guests' tv a little bit and the voices and footsteps outside, but it is light and not disruptive. There is also the best chocolatier right across the street: quality chocolates at reasonable prices!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Our family really appreciates your taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and the service. We have a large range of different accommodations, some very economic smaller rooms, larger rooms/suites which are higher priced, and full cottages with living rooms, full kitchens, fireplaces, etc., which are our highest priced accommodations ($275-$300 per night). Our family has discussed "blowing out" some walls to make less, and larger rooms. My concern is then folks on a tighter budget, or looking for more economy, might not be able to stay on the Lake with us. :-) Decisions!
Again, we would like to thank you for sharing with us and other visitors your feelings about our Inn. We truly enjoyed meeting you, and hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Placid Bay in the week of New Years to go boarding at Whiteface Mountain. Tyra was working when we checked in and all I have to say was that I've never been to a hotel/inn where someone has given me so many suggestions and guidance about the surrounding area. She was so helpful and gave us great recommendations for restaurants as well as guidance about the frigid temperatures that we experienced there (it was between -2 degrees and -20 for our stay). We stayed in the king room with the pillowtop bed (which was so comfortable, especially after a long day boarding) and it was very clean and cozy. The inn is located a little less than a mile from Main Street and is in walking distance other than a day that is below zero. There are a few restaurants that you can walk to on Saranac ave. right from the inn though. Highly recommended for your stay on Lake Placid!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words and appreciation. Glad to read my recommendations were helpful. I have to give you guys 5 stars for making the absolute best out of the bitter weather conditions we experienced the week of your stay. I'm happy to know after a long cold day at the mountain you found comfort coming back to your room and enjoyed your time in Lake Placid so much. I highly suggest next trip a Summer one, to enjoy the beauty of the mountains and lakes with much nicer weather:) - why us "locals" appreciate the short Lake Placid Summers so much!!! We look forward to having you and your husband back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I attend the Lake Placid Summit Lacrosse Tournament every August. This past summer we stayed at the Placid Bay Inn for the first time, and I don't see us ever staying anywhere else. The PBI is so perfect for our needs that I'd be hard-pressed to suggest how it could be improved. Our room - a Queen with Kitchenette - was clean, modern, comfortable, and plenty spacious for the two of us. The flat panel TV and all appliances were like new, and the kitchenette (which enabled us to save $50 a day easily) was well stocked with dishes and utensils. The staff could not have been more friendly, helpful or accommodating. All are very good at their jobs and it shows. Housekeeping always seemed to be one step ahead of visitors’ needs, and the grounds are immaculately kept.

Out back, where the property meets the bay, there are picnic tables and a small dock, next to which we were able to put in our kayaks and within five minutes be paddling on Lake Placid. The PBI is only a 5-10 minute walk to the heart of the village, so there’s no dealing with traffic or parking if you want to explore the many sights and offerings downtown Lake Placid has to offer. And for those times when doing nothing is appealing, there’s enough space for a couple of lawn chairs outside the rooms (upstairs is more desirable for this activity) to read or just do a little people watching.

Since our visit we’ve recommended the PBI twice to friends, both of whom subsequently enjoyed stays there as well. We’re already booked for August 2014, and are looking forward to another great lacrosse vacation week and seeing Denise and Tyra and our other new friends at the Placid Bay Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chip-AnneMarie_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

What a lovely and comprehensive review of our Inn. We thank you and the rest of our growing repeat clientele that truly make our "job" so rewarding. Trip advisor is a wonderful tool for the traveler and certainly helps make the decision making process a little easier. Again, thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such an informative and supportive review. We look forward to seeing you back in August and catching up. All our best to you and your family:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Lake Placid for a quick nyc getaway. We booked last minute so we hadn't done a ton of research. We were so incredibly happy with our choice to stay at the Placid Bay Inn! The inn is right on the lake, making for beautiful scenery and a very memorable canoe ride. It's a short walk from the downtown area so it really is an ideal location. Most places closer to downtown are not right on the lake like this was. And this is a much better value, especially when you consider we didn't spend much time in the room at all. But when we did, it was very clean and the bed super comfortable with a plush pillow top cover. Couldn't have asked for anything more! I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for a great place to stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenNYC1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

We are delighted to read you had a wonderful stay at the Placid Bay Inn! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are in the "business" of doing our absolute best to make your stay with us as happy and as enjoyable as possible, so nice to see we did just that! We look forward to having you back as a repeat guest!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We found this Inn to be a great place to spend a couple of days. We stayed in a lakeside Queen- Kitchenette that had a nice view of the lake. The staff was very attentive to our needs and I really enjoyed a row in a canoe on the lake. The Lake Placid area is a nice area to visit and we will be staying here again.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor units have the best views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bud T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you so much for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and sharing your thoughts with other travelers. The coming winter season will bring a whole new world to Lake Placid! You better like wearing sweaters and mittens though. :-) Our family is happy to hear that you had an enjoyable and relaxing visit. We look forward to seeing you both again in the near future! Thank you again for choosing Placid Bay Inn for your getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights in the Mallard Cottage. Service, cleanliness and views were amazing! A few areas would serve to improve the experience. The grounds were shared by all residents so needed to close blinds/curtains when other folks were in our back yard behind the cottage so not to enjoy the view. The Comfort Cottage seemed to be more private although we found those folks directly behind our cottage at times too. Also bedrooms were in the loft and bathroom was on main level. Slight downside for getting ready and for older folks at night. Furniture could be upgraded also for a more Adirondack experience. Couch especially was uncomfortable to relax on.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have already ordered new living room furniture, and are waiting for it to arrive. :-) We do not use a totally Adirondack theme for our furniture since that is not the style of our Inn. The surrounding views speak for the beauty of the Adirondack Park. I'm sorry if you had any misunderstanding about our property. We are an Inn with rooms, suites and cottages. We do not advertise or say anywhere that the backyard on the Lake is private for the cottage only. There are private houses on the Lake that you can rent that would give you this kind of privacy. Most cabin/cottages have only one bathroom, but I do understand your point. That is why we have a full description on our web site and verbally let folks know that there is only one bathroom, which is downstairs. We appreciate all your comments, and hope you are able to visit Lake Placid again in the near future, and that you enjoyed the Romantic Picnic Basket and your dinner for two. :-) Thank you, again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,306 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
222 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#26 of 31 in Lake Placid
108 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
17 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Placid Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Placid Bay Inn

Address: 2187 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1182
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range: $126 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Placid Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adirondack ambiance surrounds you in our picturesque Inn located right on Placid Lake with magnificent views of Whiteface Mt. Relax in a comfortably appointed room, suite or cottage. We have updated & remodeled our accommodations including: upscale towels, bedding, and bathrooms, many with deep soaking tubs. Our Inn offers free Wi-Fi, canoes, outdoor pool, and Adirondack chairs for lounging by the Lake. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to downtown shops & restaurants. Visit our web site for details on our numerous year-round packages and online reservations.Please Note: We are a small hotel not a B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Placid Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Placid Bay Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing