We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing place”
Review of Placid Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Placid Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an amazing place”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This place is amazing. We had one of the newly renovated rooms and the views were awesome. Tyra at the front desk was really helpful, and extremely nice. We will be back, and are looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Get the King with view of White Face Mountain and the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennyklr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! Tyra and I (Denise) greatly enjoyed getting a chance to meet and speak with you both. I hope you enjoyed your third anniversary with us. We both hope you get a chance to get out of the city and enjoy Lake Placid in the warmer seasons. Tyra has a very special knack with flowers that attract hummingbirds and butterfly's. Happy trails to you, until we meet again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    95
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
83
175
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Remsen, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I are regular visitors to Lake Placid and like to stay close to Main Street. We found this location fitting that need and at a very reasonable price. The King suite with kitchenette gave us great options for breakfast and kicking back for a cocktail without having to sit on a bed! While the walk to the village does have a bit of a hill climb it is by no means a deal breaker. Our room was spotless and the staff very friendly and helpful. We will return here in the future and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Worth the few dollars to get a kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We were very happy that you both enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will be able to come back when the Lake isn't frozen and we have the free canoes for you to use. The Adirondack chairs right on the Lake in our backyard, with the view of Whiteface Mountain, is also a wonderful place to enjoy your morning coffee or that glass of wine in the eveniing. Thank you, again, for staying with us on your trip to Lake Placid! Our family looks forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice week-end at this hotel. We reserved online through the Lake Placid touristic website. The hotel never received our reservation but, the women at the hotel gave us a room without any problem.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReviewM_I_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Even though we all depend so much on computers and email, they are not perfect. I always suggest having contact with a real live person to confirm your reservation/plans. I am glad we were able to accommodate you for the busy weekend, and hope you enjoyed the free upgrade. Our family has been working for over 3 generations to make everyones getaway the best we can provide. I hope the snowboarding was good, and we look forward to seeing you again. If you enjoy the mountains in winter, wait till you see them in the warmer months. Thank you, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My family and friends of my kids had a wonderful time in the Country Comfort cottage by the lake. The cottage is cozy and perfect for a spring break skiing holiday. Everything was very clean. Service was courteous. Small points to improve: more dishes in the kitchen and mattresses could be better, Location is great. Walking distance from downtown Lake Placid and next to supermarket and several restaurants. Highly recommended for families. Must be great in the summer also.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are happy to read you and your family enjoyed the Country Comfort cottage so much. It really is a great little cottage, especially for families. We already have our Spring renovation projects/ new purchases planned, which includes new matress purchases, but thank you for your suggestions. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we value our guests suggestions and look forward to having you back as repeat guests, perhaps in the Summer? All our Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Fairly basic place. The bathrooms were very clean. Location is far enough out of Lake Placid to make a walk to the downtown impractical. Front desk staff were very friendly. This is a decent place for the budget conscious.

Room Tip: We didn't get one of the cottages on the lake which i think would be much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the room you reserved of a good value and very clean. We are glad we can provide various accommodations to suit each individuals' budget, and happy you found the economical room to your liking. Our Inn, is located .4 miles to the actual down town "Main St.", which is typically a 10 minute walk, but we understand, that during inclimate weather, perhaps its better to simply drive, especially on a quiet weekend when parking isnt a provlem. We hope you have the chance to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our stay at the inn was great. First when I called to book the room the woman who answered was extremely helpful. when we arrived a different woman at the front desk was also very helpful offering us directions to local necessities and attractions. Our room was nice and clean with a large closet and kitchenette area. Each day when we left to go skiing housekeeping cleaned the room immaculately. The view of the lake was very nice, and a good value for the Lake Placid area. We would definitely return to the hotel if we come back to Lake Placid. It also had a nice location close to all amenities.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a kitchenette. it only cost a few dollars more and it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pokerlady29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Happy to hear your getaway to Lake Placid and stay with us was a very enjoyable and positive experience. Since we are a family run business, we treat everyone, as we would like to be treated when traveling. Thank you for appreciating our effort, our cleaning and our Inn. The Lakeside Queen with kitchenette room you stayed in, is one of my favorites as well, especially in the Summer when you can leave the windows open, feel the fresh breeze and get a lovely view of our gardens and the lake/Whiteface Mountain. Look forward to having such a nice couple stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you are looking for a reasonable, clean room just around the corner from main street in Lake Placid, here it is! I was there on a Thursday night and it was nice and quiet. I made a mistake with the on-line booking (only booked one night instead of two) and the staff were very helpful in finding me a room for the following night at another inn. This was much appreciated as it was the beginning of a holiday weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RQu55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are so glad we could help you find a room for your additional Friday night stay. We thank you for recognizing our effort with your considerate review. We have all made errors in booking, glad we could be of assistance, especially since it was a Holiday weekend. We look forward to having you as our repeat guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#24 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Placid Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Placid Bay Inn

Property: Placid Bay Inn
Address: 2187 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1182
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Placid Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adirondack ambiance surrounds you in our picturesque Inn located right on Placid Lake with magnificent views of Whiteface Mt. Relax in a comfortably appointed room, suite or cottage. We have updated & remodeled our accommodations including: upscale towels, bedding, and bathrooms, many with deep soaking tubs. Our Inn offers free Wi-Fi, canoes, outdoor pool, and Adirondack chairs for lounging by the Lake. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to downtown shops & restaurants. Visit our web site for details on our numerous year-round packages and online reservations.Please Note: We are a small hotel not a B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Placid Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Placid Bay Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing