We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Lake Placid
Reviewed September 6, 2006

This inn definitely lives up to its reputation. It excels in service and setting (views are superb), as well as in food and amenities.

We came here after leaving The Sagamore 4 nights early. The Mirror Lake Inn was a welcome haven after horrendous service and terrible rooms at the Sagamore.

The service is impeccable - competent, attentive, friendly staff in all places (spa, pool, checkin, housekeeping, restaurants). We were in a Marcy room, which was very well kept and had great views. If I HAD to make a suggestion i would say it was a little cramped for more than two people (we had a crib in there too). This was our fault (there were no suites available), but there was a little too much furniture (beautiful furniture, at that) for the size of the room with three of us in there.

Pool was amazing, as I said it's a standout for service, and the common areas are great for a family. we will definitely return!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SNOOKS1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2006

Having seen recent high rankings of the Mirror Lake Inn by travel magazines, we had high expectations upon choosing this site for a 5 night getaway with friends. We were not disappointed.

The inn is located within walking distance of the downtown, making it possible to go most places without the car. Although there is a road between the main inn buildings and Mirror Lake, the hotel is set high up and the road is not obtrusive. We were in the back building, but high up with wonderful views from our balcony. The building is constructed with the hall on the back side, so all rooms have lake views.

With only one small exception the staff was invariably pleasant and helpful. The exception was the breakfast hostess in the dining room, who was more intent on filling orders for box lunches than on accommodating arriving guests in the pleasant and timely manner that was standard for all of her colleagues.

The rooms were nicely appointed and very well kept. We had noisy neighbors one night, but overall it was a very quiet stay. We paid $350 per night, without meals, but thought we had good value at high season. Boat use was included, and we took advantage of canoes and paddle boats. Both the indoor and outdoor pools were nice, though the indoor pool is frequented by kids and thus quite noisy most of the time. We did not do any of the offered spa activities; our friends wanted to but found that they truly are booked up far in advance. Do heed the suggestion of reserving your spa activities when you book your room. The restaurant was more open for reservations, never full during our visit. We were glad to have chosen European Plan (no meals) as we took advantage of both the hotel dining options (main "View" dining room, the Taste bar and light fare, and the Cottage beside the lake for simple meals) as well as trying several of the excellent restaurants around town.

We will definitely consider a return to this beautiful and well-run hotel, and might even consider upgrading to a suite since the facilities are really first rate.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank 032611s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2006

I used to go to school in Lake Placid back in the 70's and wanted to go back for a visit to sightsee. We stayed at the Mirror Lake Inn for 3 nights and it was extremely nice. Great views, excellent service and nice atmosphere for families. Our kids especially liked the indoor pool which has a very rustic decor and is combined with a sauna and large jacuzzi pool. The lobby is actually comprised of several sitting rooms all with great Adirondack decorating. The staff is friendly and helpful. Across the street is a small beach area with complimentary towels, small boats, and lounge chairs. A very pretty and relaxing setting for sure.
We found it to be a very charming place and I would definitely stay there again.

6  Thank chril2us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2006

In August 2005, my family of five made a spilt second decision to travel to Lake Placid/Mirror Lake. Mirror Lake Inn gave us their last available guest room, so our expectations weren't very high (even though we were happy to have anything!). When we arrived, we were pleasantly suprised with the niceness of the staff, the beautiful hotel, and the cozy and laid-back feel of the hotel as soon as you walked in the door. You didn't feel at all rushed and the hotel, in my opinion, was not snotty or stuffy as said in another review. We were also very pleased when we walked into our room on the first floor of the mountain view building. The room was very nice! We weren't too happy when we heard the room was located on the first floor, but floor one is elevated so the view wasn't half bad. The location of the hotel is just great-we loved being able to walk right into town. The lakefront beach, swimming area, and available boats was a great added feature. If it rains, don't hesitate to go to the indoor pool-it was exceptionally nice. This summer (July-August 2006) we returned to this hotel-right now i am writing you from the room. Our expierence here again was just as nice as our first and we will certainly being coming back again!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank eas09ixo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2006

This place is really a class act. It has the view of near heaven itself. The service and staff are tops. The rooms are very nice from what we saw. Our room was pleasant. The food is very good. The location on Mirror Lake is one of the best in Lake Placid. The prices? Lets just say to bring a lot of money. It is expensive with a capital "E" for this type of vacation. I am not saying it is not worth it. It's very much worth it. Just be prepared to dig deep.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bothofusluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2006

We spent 4 nights at the MIrror Lake Inn in June. We stayed in the Lake Cottage. The rooms were lovely, but I have to say a bit over priced. We were surprised by the fact that the Cottage is right on the street. We mistakenly got the impression from the web site and brochures that the Inn is secluded, and it is not, so the street noise was kind of annoying, especially since we went for quiet! I have to agree with other reviews on this site that the food at the Inn was not great, I would rate it mediocre, and we expected more than that. The staff was always friendly and accomodating, although the assistance we got from the activities desk was not great, there was no follow through on assisting us with our plans, we had to call and bug for information that they assured us they would contact us with. We absolutely loved Lake Placid, but am not too sure that we would return to the Mirror Lake Inn for the price that it was.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Royal Oak Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2006

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to speak with me. It was a pleasure speaking with you and we really appreciate your feedback and suggestions. I was pleased to hear that you felt our staff was friendly and accommodating and want you to know we have followed up on your concerns and look forward to the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Carl Gronlund
Director of Operations
Mirror Lake Inn Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cambridge, MA
13
Reviewed May 21, 2006

I was an intern for one of the sports teams in LP and that is when I fell in love with the Mirror Lake Inn. We went to the Inn before and after many of our events and all of the prominent athletes that we worked with stayed there. Yes, the Inn has an air about it, but sometimes that is what you want when you are on vacation- otherwise stay at the motel 6- but the staff was always respectful and professional.

I was so thrilled when I graduated and began working and can now afford to stay there when we visit LP. It is centrally located; quintessentially Adirondack. It has amazing views, especially in the winter over the lake, and the Cottage is always fun and cozy.

BTW- the restaurant has THE best Oatmeal on the planet for breakfast

My only complaints are with their reservations and the size of the rooms in the Colonial building. I called after hours and even though I wanted two rooms, but for only one night, I was told that they have a two night minimum stay policy. I called later during the day and had no problem getting one night. Two night policies, especially on a non holiday weekend and for a repeat customer, are very customer un-friendly. And the rooms in the Colonial building are TINY.

We are heading up and staing there again in June. This time taking my in-laws. I am so excited!

  • Stayed: January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 31, 2006

Thank you for being our guest. We appreciate your feedback and your kind words about the staff and the Mirror Lake Inn.

We understand your concern regarding our two night minimum stay guideline. The vast majority of our guests prefer to stay for at least two nights. If we always accept one night stays we will have disappointed many guests who will only visit if they can stay for two nights. We always try to be accommodating to our guest requests and I’m glad we could accommodate your for a one night stay in June.

We appreciate your comments about the Colonial House and we agree. We are in the process of finalizing the plans for a major upgrade to the Colonial House. Not only are we increasing the size of all the rooms but the overall quality of the rooms will be unsurpassed in the area. When you are here in June please ask for me and I would be happy show you a copy of the plans.

Again, thank you for being our guest and we look forward to hosting you and your family in June.

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,355 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#10 of 32 in Lake Placid
446 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#14 of 32 in Lake Placid
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: $253 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing