We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven On Earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Lake Placid
Reviewed March 27, 2006

This trip was a Valentine's Day present to my husband. We stayed here a few years back and loved it. When we checked in, coffee and home made cookies were being served in their quaint lobby (best cookies ever). I chose the romance package which included an upgraded room (highly recommend), dinner and breakfast. Our room overlooked Mirror Lake, with views of the high peaks (romantic). Our meals were outstanding and the dining area was beautiful. There is a wonderful pool with its own waterfall for a late night swim or you can take a jacuzzi. Also, be sure to check out the spa, one of the best I've ever been to!!!

Cynthia Giruzzi-Cahill
Delmar, NY

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank itgirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,159 - 1,165 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2006

We just spent 5 days at Mirror Lake Inn on the busy President's Day Weekend. As a bit of background, my wife is a figure skater and we are all enthusiasts. We were drving up from Philadelphia on Thursday evening, (it takes about 7 hours), and would be missing the Mens Olympic Final. We had previously arranged for a VCR in the room (available by request), and I asked if they could possibly set it to tape the program. In response, they (1) had someone go out and buy a blank tape, (2) set up the VCR, recorded the program and left a detailed note explaining how it had been set up, and (3) the front desk employee who had arranged all this recorded the event at home for us in case something got messed up. Amazing!

Not incidentally, the hotel has big, comfortable rooms, good food, a pretty lap pool, a full-service spa and salon, and free afternoon tea with excellent fresh-baked cookies. The location is great too- walking distance to anywhere in town. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

10  Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2006

We returned to the Mirror Lake Inn with our children (ages 9 and 10)for another relaxing family getaway and were not disappointed.

We like the size of the rooms. They are much larger than we expected, furnished nicely, and with a great view to enjoy. Towels, pillows, toiletries are all abundant and replaced daily. The room was is clean as could be. The maid service staff works very hard to keep it that way.

We think the MLI is set apart by the friendliness of the staff and the generous common areas. It was truly relaxing for our family that our children could be playing a board game while we enjoyed reading by the fire, or that we could all play a game together and not worry about being out of place.

We encountered many staff members in a variety of capacities and found each person pleasant, quick to offer a friendly greeting, and helpful. Even the maid staff, with enough work to do and then some, offered to help my husband carry bags.

We had a small complaint regarding our "neighbors". They slammed doors rather than shut them, ran while yelling in the hallways, and the under-ten-year-old set took to calling each other names like "butt face" and worse with abandon. They argued freely and often while the adults present took no action.

We made this known to the front desk, explaining that while this behavior is surely no fault of the inn that we thought they would want to know, particularly if this party was to return. The front desk apologized and asked to let us know if matter persisted. Minutes later a generous tray of cookies, milk, Candy Man chocolates and a bottle of red wine were delivered to our room.

We arranged for manicures for me and my ten-year-old daughter. Alicia and Tiffiny took good care of us. Frankly, I usually expect a hotel manicure to be mediocre and overpriced. While more than I pay at home, the service was excellent.

I have read with interest the other reviews posted here. I agree with those who are as pleased as I, and am confused by other comments. Yes, the beach is small (the lake is small). True the closet doors open toward the bathroom door. That just doesn't bother me. As for cell phones, yes please ban them. Heck, let's also ask for a "no volume" policy on Gameboys. I heard more than my share of Mario games in the living room, and at a good distance to boot.


Beyond the inn, the village of Lake Placid is just great for travelers of all stripes. Shopping, dining, outdoor activities abound. If you plan to go to the Brown Dog Cafe, however, please see my review "Bad Dog Cafe". It might be of interest.

We will return to MLI next year for the pool, the toboggan run, Bluesberry bakery, and fireworks viewed from the inn's library. Most of all we will return knowing that we can enjoy a luxury stay in a wonderful town, as a family.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank atateka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2006

Stayed: February 2006
5  Thank zeppoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2006

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank babymelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
PA
16
Reviewed December 31, 2005

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bayonne, New jersey
19
Reviewed December 8, 2005

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,355 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#10 of 32 in Lake Placid
446 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#14 of 32 in Lake Placid
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: $252 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing