We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,314)
Filter reviews
1,314 results
Traveler rating
1,015
199
61
29
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,015
199
61
29
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews view restaurant taste bistro terrace building colonial house mirror lake cookies cottage restaurant mountain view main building sitting area indoor pool bottle of champagne public areas wonderful weekend hot tub beautiful room winter wonderland
Filter
Updating list...
792 - 797 of 1,314 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I was here years ago and stayed in a similar room, except now the noonmark rooms have been redone and have a much more upgraded feel to them. Gone is the upscale motel feel, now the rooms have sliding glass doors that open where the balcony was. This allows for plenty of light and makes the room feel longer. The bathrooms felt nicely upgraded too. I liked the tiny sink outside of the bathroom with a small fridge underneath. We stayed in room 541 which is in the mountain view terrace and a short stroll from the main building plus there's a walkway so you don't even need to go outside.

We ate in all three restaurants and never had a bad meal. I like the cottage across the street a lot as it has a great adirondack vibe and amazing food. The view from our table was overlooking the lake, doesn't get much better than that.

We spent some time in the pool and my wife said her massage was really good. I liked the sauna and hot tub and surprisingly, we were the only ones in there. The weight room has some older machines in it but the gym has most of the things people would need. The staff was also very helpful. My only gripe about our time here is seeing a bill for wifi- it's the only place that I've stayed in the US that still charges people for this- please get with the times MLI! Other than that, this place is the best for adirondack charm and perfect spot to unwind.

Room tip: The old noonmark rooms have been redone and are much more upscale now. Room 541 in the mountain view terrace felt private and has great views of the lake with the mountain behind.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gimper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for being our guest! We’re happy you enjoyed your romantic getaway and the renovations that we’ve done to the guest rooms and balconies. We’ve received a lot of positive feedback on the extra space, brightness and views. We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had a great time at the Mirror Lake Inn. The staff is very friendly and the service was good. The breakfast at The View was delicious and convenient. The Cottage across the street has good food and great atmosphere. We would definitely come back again.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for being our guest! We are glad that you felt the staff are friendly and the service is good! We hope we have the pleasure of your return.
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We were very excited to visit Lake Placid and see all that it has to offer. Mirror Lake seemed like a nice place to stay and offered what we like- good food and a spa. The location was really convenient.

I need to get this out of the way, the only truly strange thing about our stay was when we awoke the morning of checkout, there was a bill under our door for taxes, fees etc. amounting to $75. We travel a lot and have never had that happen before. Typically, we pay everything up front and thought that was it when we paid almost $600 for 2 nights. We understood what the fees were for but inquired upon checkout why they bill you separately. After 3 deer in the headlight stares from the people behind the desk, we decided that would be our first and last stay here. One person actually said "let me look into that and see what they were for". I pointed to the bill and explained to her what they were for. Not the answer I was looking for and a sour way to end our nice trip.

The room could use a little updating with the flooring but definitely had that mountain feel to it. We stayed in the terrace building. It was difficult to get from our building to the main building. By the end of our stay we had it down but did take some wrong turns during our stay.

Food was pretty good- although we did like the restaurants in the area, we tried the hotel's 3 restaurants. The cottage was great for lunch and had really unique decor. We had pizza and nachos. The only this that was "off" here was the dueling music. The bar played club music while the dining area played alternative rock. The problem is that it is one big open space. View was great!

We had breakfast in the View restaurant 1 day. Nothing special, I'd recommend eating at the Breakfast Club down the street instead.

Dinner at Taste was delicious. Megan was our waitress and she was very good to us. She was training for the Olympics so it was great to hear about her schedule and what she hopes to do. She was very informative on the area of Lake Placid as well.

The spa was ok. I should have asked for a tour of the "sanctuary" before I booked a treatment. Nothing really special. I should have done the pedicure instead, which does not permit you access to the spa sanctuary. My massage was really nice, MaryBeth was the masseuse, I highly recommend her. Book your treatments ahead of time if you want to get exactly what you want.

Room tip: Stay in the main building- it is very confusing finding your way from the other buildings.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our guest. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed the location, had a great lunch at the Cottage, a delicious dinner at Taste Bistro and that your massage was really nice.

We make it abundantly clear at check in that we want you to have a wonderful time while you are here and that we will do everything humanly possible and reasonable to cause that to happen if you let us know your concerns while you are here. We’re not in the business of selling beds, food or beverages, but in the business of creating memorable experiences.

We apologize for any confusion, but the charges were for your balance due. The two night deposit was based on the room rate only (taxes and gratuity additional). We do not charge the taxes etc. until your stay is complete. We have been billing this way for over 30 years and have never had an issue. We reviewed the charges with you at check in and your signature on the registration card acknowledges your agreement to these charges. All of the staff on the morning you inquired about your bill are extremely proficient and fully trained to answer the question you posed and in fact the desk agent that did answer your questions explained how we handle these final charges. Anytime a guest has a question regarding their bill it is our standard practice to pull up their bill and check to make sure everything is in order as it was in this case.

We are sorry you had difficulty finding your way to the main building. We provide signage directing guests to the main building and from your room all you needed to do was go down one floor, follow this hall to the end and go down one more floor. The reason why the property is somewhat spread out is so that every room has lake and mountain views. We designed the hotel with rooms only on one side of the corridor to provide each room with spectacular views. We are not sure what you are referring to regarding dueling music at the Cottage. We only have one music system and can only play one song at a time for the entire restaurant/bar.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your massage and hope you took advantage of the steam room, relaxed next to the fire place while sitting in the whirlpool or in the sitting area.

We are sorry to hear that you will not stay with us again due to the one misunderstanding regarding your bill and especially since you seemed to really enjoy the rest of your stay.

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at the Mirror Lake Inn to ski at Whiteface Mountain and couldn't have asked for a better place. Aside from being the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in, the attention to detail was fantastic. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the location was perfect. The town is a five minute walk from hotel, so convenient, and Whiteface was a 15 minute drive. Each of the three restaurants had fabulous food, and when it was too cold to walk to town, we were able to stay on premises for food and cocktails. Overall, a perfect ski getaway. We will certainly come back here!

Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Bernadette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for being our guest! We’re happy that you had a perfect getaway and enjoyed the food and service! Cleanliness is our #1 priority and we appreciate that you felt we were immaculately clean. We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Below is the letter I recently sent to the Resort regarding our stay...

I wanted to let you know how wonderful our recent stay at the Mirror Lake Inn Colonial House was. My husband and I decided on Mirror Lake Inn for a romantic weekend away of pampering and being spoiled and the only thing that fall short from accomplishing this was we had to leave. We have been to the Mirror Lake/Lake Placid area several times, but never stayed at Mirror Lake Inn, we are disappointed we hadn't decided to stay at your resort sooner. We booked one of the Placid Suites, after all we were looking for a weekend to spoil ourselves, and were more than pleased with our choice. When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by the front desk attendant who checked us in and kindly greeted at the Colonial House to show us the suite and assist with luggage. The room was amazing, warm and welcoming. It was clean with amazing views of the lake and mountain. Requested service, room service, extra towels, etc were promptly answered. The complementary cheese platter, champagne and chocolate covered strawberries were greatly appreciated and fully enjoyed by the in-room fire and with a relaxing soak in the amazing whirlpool tub. I cannot thank you and your staff enough for the outstanding service, privacy when requested, cleanliness and overall great weekend. We are already talking about when we can get back and next time we will definitely be booking our stay for a little longer.

Room tip: Although more expensive, the Colonial House offers amazing rooms, with amazing view. The bathroom is great with rain effect shower heads and a whirlpool tub larger enough for 2 adults.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for being our guest! We are glad you had a wonderful stay and thought the room and service were amazing. We look forward to you staying longer next time!\
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews