We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Winter Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
New Paltz, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Winter Getaway”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband went away for his birthday in early Feb. The room was beautiful, spacious and the view of Mirror Lake and the Mountains was amazing. The staff were friendly and very helpful giving recommendations on places to visit and eat. Their afternoon tea was delicious and the cookies at check in and check out were such as a nice touch. The Lake Placid area offers a lot of fun things to do and places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liza23star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for being our guest! We are happy that you enjoyed your room, the views, friendly staff and that your husband had a wonderful birthday! We hope we will have the pleasure of your return again soon!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    181
    56
    28
    9
See reviews for
277
602
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great place to celebrate our 25th. Hotel staff universally friendly and helpful, from front desk to housekeeping. Stayed in Terrace Building room, which was nicely appointed and comfortable with view of lake. Requested non-feather pillows after arrival and this was taken care of quickly, despite hotel being at near capacity. Complimentary champagne delivered to room was nice touch. Indoor pool and jacuzzi well - maintained. In all, Mirror Lake Inn nicely balances rustic Adirondack feel with modern, understated, luxury.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alman2af
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for being our guest! Happy 25th Anniversary again! We are glad that you enjoyed your getaway, the room and view! We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife planned a birthday getaway to Mirror Lake Inn as a treat for my birthday. It was a special weekend in every respect. Details - Great location - Quiet room - Complimentary coffee 6:30 am by fireplace (real logs) - Twinings Tea served by Pierre mid-afternoon - Snacks at Taste Bistro porch ovwrlooking Lake by fire - Great dinner at View Restaurant. Staff responsiveness - excellent including respectful response to a noisy toddler transiently altering ambience of dinner at View. The weekend was memorable, much appreciated, and the Inn lived up to our high expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for being our guest! Happy Birthday again! We are happy that you enjoyed your special weekend, your room, the food and service by our staff. We look forward to your return to make more memories!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Syracuse
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Mirror Lake Inn in Lake Placid several times and have always enjoyed the experience. This stay on Wednesday, October 3, and Thursday, October 4, 2013 was no exception. The room we stayed in this time was a Cathedral Room with Adirondack Furnishings in the Terrace Building. The décor was wonderful. The bathroom was immaculate. The room was very clean - although we did find a package of cigarettes in one of the drawers which was somewhat disturbing - but there was no cigarette smell in the room. We threw the cigarettes out but would have preferred not to have found them. Our room had a small balcony that overlooked the lake and mountains. While there we did have a problem with the GF outlets in the bathroom and at the wet bar. I went to the front desk for assistance and had a longer wait than what I perceived as necessary. There was one clerk on the desk helping a group with their plans - which was fine. However, another person was standing off to the side watching what was going on and never once offered to help me and to even acknowledge me. I did not time how long I waited but it was several minutes. The problem was taken care of by the time we returned to the Inn. We received a complimentary small box of chocolates and a bottle of sparkling water. We did have drinks in their Taste Bistro & Bar and the Cottage - the atmosphere in each is great. Jeffery was the bartender in Taste when we had drinks there and he made the end of our evening entertaining and wonderful. We do tend to eat in town rather than at the inn partly because of the price and also because many of the things offered on their menus is not really to our taste. The cost to stay at the Inn is somewhat high and I have looked at other places to stay in Placid (there are a number to choose from). However, I just love the ambience of the Inn and always tend to go back there. They do offer free parking and it is an easy walk into the main part of town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for being our guest! We are glad you have always enjoyed your experiences here! I am sorry that you found cigarettes in the drawer in your guest room and for one of the Front Desk persons not being more attentive. Both are highly unusual for us and we truly appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We have addressed both of your concerns and you will not be disappointed next time! We hope we will have the pleasure of your return again soon!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarence, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent two nights at Mirror Lake Inn. This is an older property that is well-maintained. The common areas reflect historic Adirondack charm with lots of dark wood and period-appropriate furnishings. The guest rooms are modern and in excellent condition. We had a wonderful view of Mirror Lake from our room.

The service was cheerful and helpful, and the hotel provides some lovely perks, such as tea and cookies in the afternoon. We mentioned that we were celebrating an anniversary, and were treated to a small box of chocolates and a bottle of champagne.

The restaurants appear to have interesting menus, but their prices are considerably higher than other local eateries, so we dined elsewhere. The room prices are also stiff, but in line with the degree of service and ambiance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KM2L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for being our guest! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, the common areas, your room and service! I hope you will reconsider trying our restaurants during your next visit!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had booked 2 nights in a standard classic Ausable suite and were assigned room 203. We immediately noticed that the room was dated and smelled rather musty.There was a fair amount of dust on the tables and bedstands. Even more disturbing was that this room was right above the bar on the first floor and the walls are so thin that we could hear every word spoken in the bar.

We called the front desk to bring the situation to their attention and the response was that they would close the bar down. 15 minutes later there was no reduction in the noise level in the bar so we called the front desk again and this time were assigned a different room.
Given the noise levels in the bar were not that high when we walked past there on our way to the new room, we can only conclude that room 203 should either be insulated more throrougly or else not even be given to guests.

The new room was an upgrade by the lake side but was still rather dated and in dire need of some upgrades. The next morning we were woken up by the maid who wanted to clean the room inspite of the "do not disturb" sign being on the outside of the door. She went away but when we returned from breakfast we found the maid cleaning the room inspite of the sign still being up. We told her we were non too pleased with this and closed the door. A few minutes later the cleaning manager showed up at our door, which still had the do not disturb sign out, defending the maid and accusing us that we had the sign backwards so it would have read "please clean". He also accused us of something along the lines of hurting her feelings (yeah how do you think we felt!) and also accused us of 'slamming the door in her face." She was no where to be seen when we shut the door. While it generally is commendable to stand up for your personnel, he never asked us our version of what happened and simply called up liars.

The words "do not distrub" are clearly not well understood in this establishment!

The only positive was that they refunded us the 2nd night as we did not want to endure such an experinece for a second night.

The entire stay is not worthy of a hotel with 4 diamond rating from AAA. It is overpriced for the dated rooms and has extremely unfriendly and rude personnel. Moreover the hotel uses the rather tacky practice to automatically charge for a gratuity for the breakfast servers (which is a buffet!) and the cleaning staff. A gratuity should be earned for good service and not billed automatically. Top end hotels such as the Four Seasons, Sofitel and Ritz Carlton don't do these things for a reason. We stayed at another property which has a AAA 4 diamond four nights after this experience and the difference was night and day- the second property was what we expected from a 4 diamond rating- exceptional. Mirror Lake Inn did not come close to this other property.

In short, would absolutely not recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank HVDM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Although we made every attempt to provide you with an enjoyable experience it became clear to us that the two of you were experiencing personal problems while you were here. From the argument between the two of you in the restaurant at breakfast to your awkward response of no I already asked her when the server offered to assist your wife with the clasp to her bracelet. Even after being upgraded (without additional charge) to a spectacular room directly on the lake with the best view in Lake Placid and one of our best rooms, you were still not happy. Your unhappiness continued when the housekeeper was simply trying to prepare your room because the sign requesting service was left on your door and by yelling and slamming the door in her face you brought her to tears. When our Executive Housekeeper was trying to determine why one of his staff members was so upset (literally shaking and crying) his inquiring to you about the slamming door brought the contradictory responses of one of you admitting it happened and the other denying it happened.

We pride ourselves in the quality and graciousness of our employees. We expect them to treat our guests, their peers and management with dignity and respect. We require all of those people to also treat the employees with dignity and respect. Unfortunately your behavior toward our employee did not meet this test. I am pleased that you will not come back or recommend, because in fact, due to the way you treated our employee you would not be welcome to return under any circumstances. We don’t allow people at the Mirror Lake Inn who feel they’re in a superior position and can be abusive to our hard working staff.

By your admission you acknowledged that although we guaranteed provision of facilities for 2 nights, and you guaranteed payment for 2 nights, when we became aware of your dissatisfaction we refunded your money for the 2nd night although we had no obligation to do so. Not exactly the course of action that a disreputable, falling apart business usually takes.

We understand that sometimes guests may be experiencing some difficulties between each other and that this is mostly out of our control. We are sorry that we could not overcome this and hope you have since worked it out. It is very unfortunate that this lead to an inaccurate and dishonest review. People reading this should explore the more than 400 other posts on TripAdvisor about Mirror Lake Inn; most of which speak very highly of the quality and graciousness of our employees, the quality of our facilities, and the quality of our food.

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Love this place. Gorgeous view. Great staff. Great spa. Afternoon tea. Cookies. Highly recommend. Great place to plug out and relax. Would love to return. On main strip. Great location. Gorgeous flowers

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepslittleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for being our guest! We’re happy that you love us – the view, staff, spa, afternoon tea, etc! We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.4 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1.3 mi away
The Whiteface Lodge
The Whiteface Lodge
#1 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Property: Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing