We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Resort & Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
West Orange
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Resort & Spa”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have been staying at The Mirror Lake Inn for approximately 17 years and we are always thrilled to return at least once a year. The staff and the owners are so accommodating, the service is very professional The cuisine is superb. We always recommend the inn to our friends.
The hospitality is superb.

Angela and Robert Meola

Room Tip: We love a room that faces beautiful Mirror Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenzy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for being such loyal guests over the last 17 years! We are glad that you always enjoy your stay, service and food and thank you for recommending us to your friends! We look forward to having you back again and again!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    179
    56
    28
    9
See reviews for
271
597
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Found this place via hotels dot com. GREAT location and great price. The check in was located across the street, the only confusing part of our reservation.
The location was at the end of Main Street and easy to walk to everything.
Bed was very comfortable and yes, the room was dated. However it was clean, quite and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure to get an upper floor for a better view of Mirror Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitzy0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for being our guest! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the location and pricing to be great. We are in the process of some room renovations and we think you will like the changes! We hope that we will have the pleasure of your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estill Springs, Tennessee
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our first trip to Lake Placid was made perfect by the staff at Mirror Lake Inn Resort and Spa! More than any other hotel I can remember, they were attentive and helpful without hovering. They seemed to simply appear when needed. And, they ALWAYS greeted us. The hotel itself is very nice, if a touch tired. Don't get me wrong, it is a beautiful place with fantastic common space (the Living Room and Library) and great views of the lake and mountains. The short walk to the central business district made it the perfect location. The food was delicious in all three restaurants located on the grounds.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeepInTheWoodsMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for being our guest! We are happy that your first trip here was perfect and that you enjoyed the staff, views and food in all three restaurants! We hope we will have the pleasure of your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great spa, pool, bar along the lake. 4 star restaurant. You can walk to anything in town. The choc chip cookies at the desk are worth the drive. Stay in the main lodge not the one on the lake....Sunday breakfast buffet

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for being our guest! We are glad that you enjoyed the spa, restaurants, breakfast and pool! We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I've been lucky enough to stay here a couple times. Both times were in December. This is the type of place you dream about when you think of Lake Placid in the winter. The hotel is gorgeous & looks right out to Mirror Lake. Walk out of the door and you are moments away from downtown. The town is just as beautiful; full of shops, restaurants & bars. It's a dream location & getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KC_Renee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and for returning a couple of times! We are glad that you enjoy visiting us in the winter with the views and close location to downtown. We look forward to your next return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I am halfway through my trip & I keep and I'm pretty disappointed.

Upon arrival (although it was 9pm) - we were basically given keys and a map. We had to park along the very tiptop of the hill, no assistance was offered for luggage. I not sure how a senior or a small female like myself is expected expected to lug everything in by themselves. We have continued to have to park at the top of the incline because there is never any other parking.

The restaurant: hours are 7:30am-10pm, therefore upon arrival we were forced to go down to Main Street to eat by the tip we unloaded everything and finally got to our room.

The bistro- Food was excellent, I must say! But there were only 2 poor servers running around. I felt very sorry for them! It took nearly 15mins to get a drink, and we waited at least 50mins for the second. I'm assuming they were short staffed.

Unfortunalty there is no room service after restuarant hours. This morning we have booked a fishing excursion - but... We will not be able to enjoy any breakfast because the restuarant opens at 7:30 & the excursion begins at 8.

There is no place to purchase snacks.

Room and facilities are outdated but still charming.

The view is gorgeous, but is across the street. The actual lake area with the beach, kayaks etc is much smaller than I had anticipated - but is nice.

With all of the walking and lack of food/service, I have been pretty disappointed. I rarely post, but after traveling so far I couldn't help myself! I had to share!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mbs1334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for being our guest.

We make it abundantly clear at check in that we want you to have a wonderful time while you are here and that we will do everything humanly possible and reasonable to cause that to happen if you let us know your concerns while you are here. We’re not in the business of selling beds, food or beverages, but in the business of creating memorable experiences. We have to wonder why you did not avail yourself of that opportunity.

The Front Desk agent that checked you in is one our top agents and is extremely thorough. Offering luggage assistance is part of the standard check in process. Even our best staff can make an error and by simply letting us know you needed luggage assistance we would have immediately notified the bellman.

We have plenty of parking for our guests and it is very accessible and convenient and clearly marked on the map we provided you at check in. We find it very confusing as to why you would have had any trouble at all.

Our restaurant hours are clearly stated on our web site and explained at check in. We are not sure why you state that you had to go down the Main Street as our records show that you dined in our Cottage Café the night of your arrival.

We are glad you felt the food in the Bistro was excellent however we don’t understand how you could have waited 50 minutes for your second drink as is was delivered prior to your entrée being served and the total time you were in the Bistro was under an hour.

We do serve breakfast starting at 7:30am and we would have ensured you were on time for your fishing trip. Had you asked we would have provided you with something to go or even accommodated you early in the restaurant. I understand that your companion has a phobia to canoes and you decided to cancel your guided fishing trip at the same time you were supposed to depart for the trip. The guide was more than fair to only charge you half price but apparently you felt this was not fair and since the guide needed to depart as other guests were waiting our Rooms Manager took care of cancelation charge for you.

We are glad that you found the room to be charming (4 of 5 stars), the view gorgeous and the beach nice.

It is very unfortunate that you posted this review from your room instead of simply talking to us. I am sure we could have done something to make almost all of your disappointments go away and you would have enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

As first time visitors to Lake Placid we were a little surprised at how congested the area is. The hotel itself was very much old Adirondack with heavy fabrics and dark woods. The guest rooms very comfortable. The staff was great, but the food was unexciting and unchanging. Prospective guests should be warned that the Modified American Plan is applicable only in The View Restaurant where the cuisine never changes. Anyone up for halibut cheeks> I didn't even know they had cheeks.

Room Tip: The Mountain View Building has wonderful views of the lake from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank townhistorian06754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for being our guest! We are glad that you felt our staff were excellent and enjoyed the Spa. We are also glad that you found the room comfortable and enjoyed the views. Regarding the Modified American Plan; you can dine in one of the other two restaurants instead of The View, but its better value if you go off the MAP plan or switch to the Bed and Breakfast plan since the other two restaurants are less expensive for dinner. We do change the menu a couple times during the year based on fresh and local ingredients that are available. Our Chef creates a market fish and market local feature one of which normally changes daily depending on the type of product he is using. Halibut cheeks are a delicacy and a very popular dish when we run them as a feature item in addition to the menu.

Again, thank you for being our guest! We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.4 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1.0 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Property: Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing