We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$204
$180
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$268
$249
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake House(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$279
$261
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$293
$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Peaks Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$299
$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Adirondack Inn(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$243
$203
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whiteface Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$593
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Placid Lodge(Lake Placid)
$1,110
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,248)
Filter reviews
1,248 results
Traveler rating
960
191
58
29
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
960
191
58
29
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsview restauranttaste bistroterrace buildingcolonial housemirror lakecookiescottage restaurantmountain viewmain buildingsitting areaindoor poolbottle of champagnepublic areaswonderful weekendhot tubbeautiful roomthe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
843 - 848 of 1,248 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel at least once a year ever since we were married 15 years ago. We love the warm weather in summer and fall, so generally book our stays here during those seasons.

The inn is gorgeous, warm, inviting, and friendly. It is made up of several buildings, all pretty well connected together. Each building seems to have its own personality, and we have loved staying in all of them.

The main lobby is the heart of the Inn, with a bistro, The View (main restaurant) and some super cozy rooms with great Adirondack furniture and roaring fires. You can get board games from the front desk and spend some real quality time with your family. No TV, cell phones, or distractions.

The spa is wonderful, they offer top of the line services. The pool and sauna area are INCREDIBLE. The hot tub is the size of some other hotel pools, and the pool is really big - even has a little wading area for little kids. There is also an outdoor pool for the summer months. And, of course, there's the lake, with a dock, swimming area, paddle boats, canoes, and a beach.

We stay at the Mirror Lake Inn as a family, and with 2 boys (ages 7 and 9) always find lots to fill our days. The beautiful village of Lake Placid is an easy walk with lots to do and see. The Mirror Lake Inn is one of our favorite hotels in the world.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the place!!!! :)
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for being such loyal guests! It is so nice to see how you have grown with us, from a newlywed couple 15 years ago to a family of four today! We are glad that you enjoy your stays, the service and amenities. We look forward to having you back for many more memorable returns!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked a last-minute weekend trip to Lake Placid to take advantage of the wonderful March snow at Whiteface. We arrived Friday night and enjoyed great live music in the pub and the crackling fire in the library. Saturday was a beautiful ski day - Whiteface is just 20 minutes (a beautiful drive) away. We returned to spa appointments. My massage was great and my husband enjoyed his facial. The spa locker rooms were very nice. The waiting area is more like a reception area than the 'sanctuary' type you find at spas like Mirbeau in Skaneateles.

Breakfast was wonderful both days. Eggs were perfectly cooked and fruit was tasty - no easy feat in middle of the ADKs in March.

After securing a late check out, we tried the offered yoga class. A little tame - meditation would be a better description - but enjoyable.

It is expensive - aiming for a fringe season was a good way to lower the cost though. It's worth the effort.

Room Tip: Try to overlook the lake. Stunning views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for being our guest! We are happy that you chose us for your last minute, shoulder season getaway and that you enjoyed the spa, breakfast, service and views from your guest room! We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I along with our two sons (7 &9) just returned from a two night stay here. We first stayed at the Mirror Lake 12 plus years ago when we were just married. We returned every Fall up until we had our first child. It has been quite some time since weve been here and decided to make the trip with our boys since we were able to get a discounted rate which was such a treat for us. The boys have heard us talk time and time again about our love for Lake Placid. The Mirror Lake Inn continues to be a place of beauty and history. We both agreed that things have not changed too much over the years. We also agreed this can be a good thing and a bad thing. The staff here is fantastic. Love the warm reception. Our boys were well prepared for the visit with strict standards on behavior and they made us very proud at their top notch behavior during our stay. Several other families were visiting and most were respectful of guests and the atmosphere. We did notice one family with two small girls that seemed to just let them run the place. I found this annoying and was a bit disappointed the staff did not reign them in. Our room was clean, however my husband and I both felt it looked tired and ready for a renovation. The carpet seemed really worn along with the furniture and we noticed the moldings on ceiling etc. were stained etc. We both agreed that we would not pay the full rate here and instead (I hate to say this...) would stay at The Lodge at Whiteface even if it was a bit more $. I feel terrible saying this as we have so many great memories here. To sum this review up, we love this place. There are some things that need to be brought up to par. Mainly, the room we stayed in. I also think it is time to get rid of the green carpets in the hallways. I know that at times it seems so right to go with the if its not broke dont fix it mentality, however, I really think it is time to put some money back into this property. Otherwise, many other loyal guests will seek to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dainty1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, Owner at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for being our guest and for your comments. We appreciate your feedback. We are currently in the process of renovating and expanding most of our guest rooms and we think you will be pleased with the results. Please contact us by email or otherwise (anonymously if you would like) to let us know specifically what room you stayed in so that we can address any specifics in the meantime. Sorry we missed the unruly children (and their parents), next time please bring it to our attention.

Sincerely,
Edwin H. Weibrecht, Jr.
Owner/Operator
Mirror Lake Inn Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Mirror Lake Inn is a large hotel complex that is a great romantic getaway. In the winter it is very cold (many times below 0 F) and has lots of snow on the ground. It is a place where you could stay in your room the whole weekend and enjoy everything without leaving the complex.

The service is good and so is the restaurant in the Inn. They normally do not allow pets in the facility. However, we brought a service dog to the Inn and they were very understanding and kind throughout the stay. It is a very relaxed atmosphere, so plan on spending several hours eating in the dining room.

They are really organized. It is on a huge hill but they invested in driveway heaters so the snow always melts on the hills no matter how cold it gets. A very unique location! They pay attention to detail. There are a lot of extras in this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwood199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Great views, excellent foot and wine, very friendly service. Close to town yet quiet. Family friendly - fun indoor pool and fitness room. Afternoon tea by the fire. Rooms are comfortable, furry blankets are luxuriously soft. Rooms can be a walk from the lobby but completely accessible. Can't wait to return again, would be great in warm weather also.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skyboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews