We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets better every time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
CliftonPark, NY
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gets better every time”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We go to the Mirror Lake Inn about once a year...this year we were lucky and got there again after having been there in December. We arrived on a snowy Thursday night and were greeted by the warm ambiance of the Inn. We got into our room with no problem and had dinner at the VIEW. We always enjoy it there but it was even better this time. The scallops special served with brussel sprouts and shitake and lobster mushrooms was divine. Drinks were well made, service impeccable and we always enjoy the little specials they give you during the courses: the amusée of prosciutto with greens and the intermezzo of a green apple/ginger sorbet. Delightful! Early next morning (8am) I used their exercise room, pool and hot tub and enjoyed having them all to myself. A very relaxing and peaceful visit! Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegcap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for being such loyal guests! We are glad this stay was even better than the last that you enjoyed the food and service! We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    179
    56
    28
    9
See reviews for
271
597
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I have been to the mirror lake inn several times over the past several years . I find it very consistent , we have stayed in all different types of rooms and there all very nice. This time we stayed in the Marcy room very spacious and lovely with beautiful views of mirror lake and the mountains. The spa is fantastic , this time I had the bellanina facial, it was wonderful. I also noticed there was quite of few young people working there, they were all very courteous , eager to please, and willing to help you. Another benefit is the location of MLI you can walk downtown in ten minutes where all the shops and many places to eat are. I would recommend MLI to anyone who is looking for good service and beautiful surroundings with wonderful spa services .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieA935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenbush, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our second visit to Mirror Lake Inn. It was just as nice as the first trip. This was our first time in Lake Placid in the winter months. What a lovely view we had from our 4th floor Mountianview room! We had a nice casual dinner at the Taste Bistro. The food was very good. Especially the Bailey's Cheesecake!! Our waitress, Britany was wonderful. Very prompt and very friendly! The next morning I had a fabulous massage with Savanna at The Spa. This was a perfect winter getaway!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CupcakeGirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at78rpm
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Mirror Lake Inn many times, even though we live close by. We've availed ourselves of the fabulous spa -- but I'm getting ahead of myself.

When you enter, you'll enter another era: an era where every guest was made to feel special, where every little detail is of interest to every employee, and where the furnishings are so beautiful that you simply want to call it home. If you have a reservation, by all means arrive early so you can just sit in the incomparable rooms. There's always a good fire, comfortable chairs, and a table full of the day's newspapers: The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Albany Times-Union. The walls are lined with bookshelves, and you are welcome to peruse them. You might find six volumes of Gibbon's Rise and Fall of the Roman Empire; Thackeray's Vanity Fair; London's Call of the Wild; or Light in August by Faulkner. Books you always wanted to read, perhaps, but never had a room like this to read them in.

Check in is as pleasant as it possibly could be, and when they ask you if there is anything they can do for you to make your stay more comfortable, they mean it. If there's a smudge on your window, let them know (but there won't be.) If you want more towels, let them know. If it's your anniversary, let them know.

The rooms are exquisitely furnished, and you'd be very hard-pressed to find beds that have better mattresses, better sheets, better blankets, or better pillows. You will sleep well. A typical room on the inexpensive side has two queen beds, a dresser, a closet, a large bathroom (reminiscent of what Jay Gatsby may have had), a table with two chairs, and a soft chair with an ottoman. The view from most rooms is picture perfect: the village of Lake Placid, Mirror Lake, and the Sentinel Range of the Adirondacks. You simply have to see it on a winter night!

Should you be there in winter, you'll find heated walkways outside. You're not likely to slip on ice because of this detail.

The pool is simply beautiful; there's a sauna and very large hot tub. However, you really should give yourself the gift of a day in the spa. It's not just a massage: there's a whole area, a "sanctuary", where you can wash up, sit in a sauna, hot tub, easy chairs -- while nibbling grapes and apples. In any other milieu this might seem Hedonistic, but here, it is the most luxuriant living we are likely to experience in this world.

There is one thing that I'd like them to change, though, and that is the $10 charge for wireless Internet service. That is a thing of the past, rather like charging extra because your hotel has cable tv. But at least you get what you pay for: it's a lightning fast connection.

Overall, you simply cannot go wrong at Mirror Lake Inn. It will linger long in your memory as one of your most pleasant stays away from home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the village and / or Mirror Lake. The Terrace building is farthest from the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank at78rpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and for your wonderful comments on how special we make our guests feel and the details we attend to! We appreciate it! Thank you for your comments regarding charging for wireless internet. We are glad that you felt it was a lightning fast connection. We look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Staying at the Mirror Lake Inn is a slice of heaven. It is the last of a dying breed - world class elegance and service. It's a MUST visit. You might make it a much needed annual visit! The gathering room with the lovingly maintained woodwork and art is something you would see out of an old movie. Make sure to sit on the rocking chairs overlooking the lake. We have stayed as a couple and we have stayed with our kids. It's way more romantic as a couple but our children love the beach area and we can still relax a little!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiandFishMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I had another great trip to Mirror Lake Inn. This past trip was our Christmas present to each other ..a tradition we will continue to do. The Inn was quiet, as it was mid week in January and we felt like we had the pool and hot tub to ourselves. We had a couples massage which was amazing! Everyone was accommodating and extremely friendly. We spent some time at "The Taste" and found the bartender Rachel to be so incredible sweet that we came back the next night instead of exploring elsewhere. Will be back up with some friends in May for "Girl Friends Get Away"--counting the days.

Room Tip: We opted for the "Marcy Room" as it is very romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Charming place very well managed great location as we walked into town for breakfast and dinner

My problem is that they charged me $700 a night and had the nerve to demand an extra $9.95 per day for Internet access. And only for 1 device! When I asked for the password for access I was shocked to learn about the extra charge. They had what sounded like a canned response as if they were ready for my objection.


This is so 10 years ago! Give me a break. Three nite minimum I'm in for $2100 give me free Internet access and a couple of eggs for breakfast! What could the eggs cost 30 cents!

Instead those eggs cost us $50 for two at the buffet. Makes no business sense. Nice place but they left a bad taste in my mouth. Probably will not go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Doc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.4 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1.0 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Property: Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing