We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and Wonderful Experience at Mirror Lake Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
barnegat, nj
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Wonderful Experience at Mirror Lake Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went for a couple's getaway from Friday till Tuesday of New Years weekend. The hotel seemed like it was at capacity, but they handled the crowds well. Every single staff member that we encountered was more than pleasant. They always asked if they could be of assistance. I do agree that the price tag is not cheap to stay here, but you definitely get what you pay for. Since it was only the 2 of us, we stayed in a regular room, but Marcy was the category, which is the best of the standard category. The room was in the Mountainview building and on the 4th floor, so it had a beautiful view of the lake. The hotel was still decorated so it was very pretty. They just received over a foot of snow the day before we arrived and it snowed a little every day we were there, so it really made it such a winter wonderland. The hotel's location is superb, right at the edge of town. We walked into town for shopping, lunch and the movies. It was freezing while we were there but it is a great location to town. We enjoy martinis and the Taste Bistro bar was a great location for them. We ate there 2 nights and the food was just as good as the martinis. We also ate at the Cottage one night and Jimmys 21 one night. No complaints in the food/drink department. We treated ourselves to an 80 minute couples massage at the spa in the hotel and it was wonderful as well. Great amenities in the spa area. The indoor pool and jacuzzi was great as well. I dont recall seeing pictures on line for this area, but it was very nice and large too.
We look forward to going back to Mirror Lake in the near future. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissag11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    176
    55
    27
    9
See reviews for
260
566
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I just came back from a four-day stay at the Mirror Lake Inn. Our group consisted of 4 adults and 5 teenagers, and we all had a great time. From the moment we arrived there, everyone who worked there was pleasant, helpful and eager to ensure that we had a positive experience. We had four rooms and they all had breathtaking views of the lake and the holiday lights - 4 days of on and off snow did not hurt in terms of creating a winter wonderland. Definitely sign up for the breakfast plan. It was delicious, fresh, and as fast as you wanted it to be. We had dinner at The View one night and would have eaten there more often but we wanted to check out other restaurants in the area. Cookies in the lobby and tea served in the afternoon were another nice, cozy touch. After eating dinner on New Year's Eve at another restaurant, we came back for champagne in the lobby, balloons, hats, etc. They think of everything here! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Nice place. Oak paneling in the library after a lovely breakfast to read the papers.Lovely view from the restaurant across the lake. Good food and a relaxing time. We went in early winter and it was pituresque.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunandelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakville
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Perfect way to prepare for the holidays...a mini getaway ...relax in the spa, swim indoors while watching the snow fall, dream by the fire,sip champagne in the bar overlooking the lake...if you prefer the outdoors, strap on your snowshoes or head to the ski slopes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I just wrote a review about the bad experience we had at The View restaurant in this hotel. Therefore my overall rating for the hotel could never be more than Average.
The hotel itself is an old charmer; loads of history, well maintained, beautiful view, very nice and helpful staff. But... at this level (four diamonds, paying over $ 600 for a good size suite) one can expect a little more. Old charm is nice if it comes to the classic high quality furniture but the bathroom in our suite was in need of an update; at this level I do not want to climb into a (true, huge) jacuzzi to take a shower under a fixed shower head. Showers should be thermostat controlled as standard at this level. Although it is winter I did notice the old style air-conditioning
I realize the dilemma for the owners but I think they need to bring the hotel up to standard if they want to maintain the high ratings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Berend V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Mirror Lake Inn during the long Thanksgiving weekend and everything was wonderful! Our room had a beautiful view of the lake with a fireplace and balcony. The hotel is very cozy and the staff was very helpful and professional. It is perfectly located within a easy walk to town so once you get there you can park the car and walk. Thanksgiving dinner was very good and plentiful, cant wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prodpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Had a great stay at this hotel with my wife,just a great setting for a hotel right a the edge of the lake.Rooms, these where very large with two queen beds in room which were very clean as one would expect from a hotel of this standard.Beautiful decor and comfy sofas in lounge.Staff very friendly we arrived early and with in thirty minutes we were in our room.Hotel was lovely decorated for Christmas.Loved the freshly made cookies every day.My wife and i have stayed in many four and some five star hotels around the world but this is the best of the best thank you to all the front staff for making our stay such a wonderful stay your friends from Ireland. Andrew/Sharon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shargil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Property: Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing