We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Bit of Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little Bit of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2007

We have stayed at the Mirror Lake Inn a number of times and it is like a home away from home. My wife and I were there most recently on Christmas night and it was a perfect place to finish celebrating. The Inn is just wonderfully decorated for the season, beautiful and tasteful.
The restaurant was excellent for our Christmas dinner...there is a super chef with innovative menu selections and all the choices my wife and I ate were delicious and well prepared.
The Mirror Lake Inn is just a short walk from the main street shopping area of Lake Placid and we did some day after Christmas window shopping.
All in all it made for another memorable experience!

  • Liked — Luxurious yet welcoming feeling.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwfollette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    176
    55
    27
    9
See reviews for
260
569
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2007

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Inn during Christmas season. We are newleyweds and were looking for a romantic getaway. Our expectations were met 100%. Although there were a lot of families and children, the hotel has strict "kid" policies and we were uninterupted. We recommend bring your own wine and drinking in the library prior to your dinner if eating at the hotel. We opened excellent bottles of wine in front of the fire place and enjoyed the "coziness" of the Inn. We will certainly be back!

  • Liked — lobby
  • Disliked — expensive during peak holidays / no night life or
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dpepper101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2007

My family has been traveling to the Adirondacks every year since I was about 8 years old and we've always stayed at the Mirror Lake Inn. It's on the edge of downtown (certainly walkable) and an incredibly beautiful property.

The rooms and lobby are gorgeous and we always find the staff incredibly nice. They make you feel very welcome. There's a pool area with hot tub. It's certainly not the cheapest hotel, but you certainly get the highest quality in terms of the way the rooms are decorated and the way the staff treat you.

One of the things we enjoy are all of the places to curl up with a book. There are multiple fire places and porches in the main building that overlook the lake. We love to come out in the early mornings and bring out a book. We also enjoy their tea/cookie time in the afternoon (it's complementary).

Across the street there's a cafe where you can grab lunch overlooking the lake and there's a private beach where guests can take out non motorized boats on the lake.

I know this review contains a lot of praise, but there's a reason why my family has been going back to this place for past two decades.

  • Liked — It's an experience. From the quality of the rooms, to the view, to the way you are treated by the staff.
  • Disliked — I wish I could stay longer
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ewellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleton On Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2007

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful 3 day stay at the Mirror Lake Inn in Lake Placid. This was our 10th visit and each year it gets better and better! This year we stayed on the 4th floor of the Mountain View Building - extremely comfortable room with a beautiful view of Mirror Lake and the surrounding snow -covered mountains. Everything about our stay and the service we experienced was top notch - from our spa treatments on the first day to (reluctantly) checking out on the last. In between, we enjoyed a great dinner at The View and fabulous breakfasts each morning. The staff were all very friendly and accomodating. Everyone we met always had a cheerful hello for us - which means a lot! The inn is decorated so beautifully for the holidays. We especially love sitting by the fire in the library. It reminds us of being in an Adirondack great camp. We are looking forward to next December - it has become our pre-Christmas tradition!

  • Liked — outstanding, friendly service; spa ; great dining - also loved the pool and hot tub!
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAR-VIN93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hempstead, New York
Level Contributor
230 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2007

On and off for the past 20 years, I have visited Lake Placid. Having grown up a figure skater, I traveled for competitions each winter.

Over the course of the past five years, my husband and I have taken our kids (a total of three now) to the Mirror Lake Inn between Christmas and New Year's.

The staff at the MLI are wonderful; the rooms are beautiful, and what you would expect from a four diamond resort. I have stayed in a Marcy Room, Clousdplitter room and a small suite. All are comfortable. In the winter time, the Inn is decorated beautifully for Christmas and the lobby areas are cozy with burning fires, warm blankets, fresh-baked cookies, and a cabinet full of games to play. (Bring your own games, too as they are popular).

Grab MLI's cookies and tea in the afternoon!

Dinner at The View is well-prepared; cater to children, even on high holiday season. Definitely have the granola with yogurt in the morning. It's delicious.

Purchase lift tickets at the services desk to avoid waiting in line at Whiteface.

Bring a sled to sled down the hill at the golf course on the way home from a day skiing Whiteface.

Pool is small but very nice. Jacuzzi is well-maintained.

The spa is a sanctuary and provide quality services.

  • Liked — The warmth of the Inn and its staff
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank momeees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Kingston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2007

My husband and I wanted a convenient and enjoyable destination at which to celebrate our anniversary so we booked a suite at the Mirror Lake Inn, choosing to stay in the Colonial Suites building.We wanted pampered luxury and we were not disappointed. The staff is warm and professional. Our suite was beautiful and comfortable with agorgeous view of the lake. The location in Lake Placid made for easy walks to shopping and entertainment. We hated to leave. I would have one suggestion for the managment however...after taxes and gratuity, our suite was nearly $ 1,000 a night, and at that rate, charging extra for internet access seems a little petty. Computers are an intregal part of our daily lives these days and at that level of service,internet access should be provided as a courtesy. We are discriminating as anyone, and we loved the M.L.I. and will be back!!!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pepNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownstown, MI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2007

My husband and I had made reservations at another property in Lake Placid for 5 nights in mid-September, and upon our arrival later in the evening, we found that the hotel and our reserved room didn't meet our expectations. We thought we'd try the Mirror Lake Inn on the chance they may have an opening for that night. We figured we stay the one night and move on to another property somewhere else in Lake Placid. The Inn was most gracious to accomodate us without a reservation, placing us in a beautiful room in the MountainView Bldg. Once we entered the room and put our luggage down, we decided to ask if there were any openings for the rest of the week. We hit the jackpot on that one. Yes, there was a room available in the main building on the ground floor with parking directly in front. So, here we were for an additional 4 nights, staying in a hotel with the most fabulous views, gracious staff, relaxing spa treatments, and wonderful food that you could imagine.

The whole experience of staying at the Mirror Lake Inn is just that, an experience. We loved it so much, we have reserved a room for Sept. 2008 for another week!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — A bit noisy on the last night from the room above us. They spent a lot of time stomping around.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdirondackNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Property: Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing