We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveler rating
83
162
83
37
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
83
162
83
37
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool main building room was clean inside room free breakfast pool side hot tub the sliding glass door decent stay the breakfast area fridge and microwave great rate rite aid small balcony hotel is situated life jackets in town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 402 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2019

This hotel is old and tired and needs to be retired!
We stayed here for two nights (last weekend) when up for the ECAC hockey tournament. As soon as we walked into building D, I knew we were in trouble. The foyer and hallway was old and the carpet was raised in the middle of the hallway. The room (#110) was no better.
Everything about the room was old and dated with the exception of the tv. There were very limited outlets (2 total) to charge your phones or tablets. The beds weren’t the worse but definitely not the best. There were crumbs on the floor and empty water bottles and a smartie candy box under the bed.
Even after wiping down all surfaces with disinfectant wipes, I still felt that the room was dirty.
If you do stay here I recommend that you bring slippers (so that you don’t have to walk on the carpet or bathroom floor) and disinfectant wipes.
For the price ($169.00 plus tax) it felt more like a $89.00 per night room
The positive is, plenty of hot water and good pressure and nice pool area.

Room tip: Building D and E have the pool and cafe
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank tamegan327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

Got a great rate through booking.com. Positives were great staff, breakfast, views, bed was super comfortable, room was spacious. Rooms are a little tired but completely ok with the rate. My advice unless you don’t want to go to bed or watch TV before 10pm, request a room not pool side. Guests can get very loud at the pool. We moved rooms but the staff could have not been more accommodating!! We will definitely go back. Photo is view from our room!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank kathyk455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019

We stayed as a family of 4 in a king suite room. The suite was spacious (kids slept on pull out couch) and can see in the summer time how it has a great view (looks over the lake). Check in was easy and the rate we booked online was great. In the winter you definitely need four wheel drive as the property is on a hill (they were actively plowing while we were there). Our suite had a great location, however, the facility is dated and in need of a renovation. The carpet is very old and the paint was peeling in places. The room service was fair not great. The included buffet breakfast was good (not great) and very useful when travelling with a family. The heated indoor pool was well used by our kids. It does get crowded when everyone comes back from skiing and I'm at a loss as to why people like the rooms facing the pool as I imagine it gets very loud. Would stay again to save on costs while travelling with a family, however, would stay elsewhere if we could get a similar rate due to the need for renovations.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GatorKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2019

This was the fourth -- and probably the last -- time we will stay here, mostly because the property has been sold and will be knocked down and redeveloped into a Homestead Suites in the next year or so. In any case, that explains why some maintenance issues are not being addressed. Our room - #202 - was fine. Sure, the furniture is dated, but we were hardly in the room. Lake Placid is an outdoors place, so there's no need for fancy-schmancy. We did have an issue with the hairdryer -- it started smoking as soon as my husband turned it on. He called the front desk to let them know that it needed to be replaced. It never was during our stay, so we just didn't use it. Breakfast is ample and the room is large (plus you can seat by the indoor pool, if it really gets crazy in the room). Again, this is a fine place for an overnight stay or two. Just don't expect updated amenities, etc. We will be sorry to see it go, as the location/price are excellent for the area.

Room tip: If you want it quiet, ask for a room away from the indoor pool area.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terriergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019 via mobile

Our room was so gross. There had obviously previously been a water leak, and it had damaged the ceiling and the drywall and left mould on the floor. And they just left it. Their idea of a fix was to put a plug-in air freshener! The ceiling tiles were broken in the bathroom, the pipes shook when the guests upstairs used the water, the room door did not close properly, lightbulbs were burned out, and every single piece of soft furnishing had large stains on them. It was unconscionable that they rented this room to us.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Chula_Banana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews