We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“What all Comfort Inns should be like!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Lake Placid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn Lake Placid
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
South Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What all Comfort Inns should be like!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Great value, super affordable with unexpected amenities. Room with door directly outside because of the dog, thank you! Huge room w frig etc. Love the atrium with bar, seating and pool! Excellent offerings for breakfast. Service from phone reservation through checkout friendly and helpful! Highly recommend in this price tier.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiFronge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    120
    53
    24
    17
See reviews for
108
90
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A great little place. It's a little long in the tooth, but very clean and reasonably priced. The indoor pool, hot tub and patio are great for kids. Good continental breakfast with all the food you would expect. Good location as well.

Room Tip: If you have kids get an interior room on the pool. If not get a room on the second floor on the outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Almontonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, ON
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have been coming to the Comfort Inn in Lake Placid since I was a teen and am now taking my family there. For skiing, it is a great, affordable place to stay. It is a 15 minute drive to Whiteface. The best part is the common atrium area where your group/family can get together to relax in the evening or enjoy the hot tub and pool. The outside rooms have balconies but we love the poolside rooms that you can walk out to the atrium area. The continenal breakfast is typical but there were also sausages, scrambled eggs and waffles.

Room Tip: Poolside for winter time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Comfort Inn for a long weekend of cross country skiing, snowshoeing, and general touring of Lake Placid. Three of us stayed comfortably in the lakeside cottage. It had everything we needed and was accessable. The room was clean and the breakfasts were good. Didn't spend much time in the room and it was still a good value. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerpyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouverneur, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were in Lake Placid for a weekend get away with our two teenage children. We stayed in the newer, upper portion of the hotel, with a second floor room overlooking the indoor pool and hot tub area. The room was smaller than we anticipated, but they did provide a roll out bed for our teenage son, which was in the room before our arrival, so that was appreciated. For an Adirondack hotel, this was not decorated at all in the lodge style. Our room had sun flower wallpaper border and horrible bedspreads. There was a decent size refrigerator and microwave, but the bathroom was tiny (though it was newer and had a great shower head) - two of us couldn't have been in there at the same time for any length of time - and there was almost no counter space at all. The doors security peep hole was at about a 5'8" foot height, making it impossible for me to see out of it (i'm 5'4"). There was no elevator to our floor, causing us to have to drag all of our suitcases up two flights of stairs. The pool area was extremely busy and loud. At one point, we could see about 15-20 children in the hot tub with no adult in the water with them. The first day we were at the resort, we were in the pool about 10 minutes before getting out and returning to the room. Several tables were taken up by large groups of people drinking beer and eating pizza while their children ran around freely - in and out of the pool and hot tub - jumping and screaming. We realize there is not a lifeguard on duty, but they might consider having a staff member checking on guest behavior throughout the day and night. This lasted until 10:00 p.m, when the pool closed for the night - and started up again at 10:00 a.m. the following morning when the pool opened up again. We did spend about 15 minutes in the hot tub our second night there, but counted at least 20 people congregated at tables which they had pulled together from all parts of the pool area - and were again drinking in the pool area while their children ran.

The beds were fresh and clean and the mattresses were comfortable. Ample pillows and towels were provided. A negative was that it seemed about 80 degrees in the room and there is no thermostat, causing us to actually turn on the AC unit in order to cool it off a bit. We had to leave the AC set overnight, In addition, on two occasions, we attempted to call the front desk to ask a question and got no answer at all - the phone simply rang and rang. Vending and ice machines are out of order. The continental breakfast was brought in from an outside restaurant, but was hot and good. Overall, this hotel was clean and the staff we interacted with were very friendly and helpful, but the cons will put it on our list of "not agains."

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room in the upper portion of the hotel - may want to request a room that does n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jweb8969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was our second stay at the Comfort Inn Lake Placid and we were not inclined to return after the less than impressive (very small) room we had during our previous visit. This time, however, we ended up in the main building (up top) and had a much better room facing west and an inside walk to the breakfast room and pool area. The hotel itself is a kilometer from downtown and there are restaurants, a supermarket and a drug store within a hundred meters or so.

The place was almost empty the first night (a Wednesday) but was much busier the next night and booked to capacity for the weekend. In general, Lake Placid fills up on weekends so the experience of staying, visiting and eating may be completely different depending on the time of week you go.

The pool area is large and the hot tub worked just fine and was very relaxing after a day of skiing. The room was clean and spacious but starting to show its age a little and the heating system was old-school noisy and moved into cremate mode if left on for more than 5 minutes even when set on minimum. The breakfast buffet was the standard Comfort Inn type but the large, bright room made the experience more enjoyable than usual. Would stay there again but would be sure to be careful on the room type being rented.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael109_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This place was ok. The rooms were clean. However, It was snowing during our entire visit and they did not always clean the bottom lot. This caused problems with our friends being able to get to their room. Also, we wanted to stay an extra night. We had to change rooms because our suite was sold out. The staff told us we would have to check out at 11 and take our luggage down to the lobby for 2 hrs while the rooms were cleaned. I thought this was crazy, why couldn't they just let us stay a little late in our room until the other room was cleaned. Anyway, It ended up working out because I spoke with the cleaning crew and they had a room clean for us at 11 so we could move over our luggage.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen081995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.6 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#20 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#11 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 18 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.6 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#5 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Lake Placid

Property: Quality Inn Lake Placid
Address: 2125 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Lake Placid 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unbeatable destination for skiing adventures, golf getaways, Olympic experiences and other outdoor pursuits, Comfort Inn on Lake Placid offers affordable and comfortable lodgings on the shores of Lake Placid in the heart of the Adirondack Park. Just minutes from the world-famous ski destination, Whiteface Mountain, this hotel is ideal for families, groups and even solo adventurers.The Comfort Inn on Lake Placid features deluxe full hot breakfast served daily, complimentary Wi-Fi, and a year-round indoor heated pool and hot tub. For groups and meetings, our hotel also boasts versatile meeting/banquet space for up to 350 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Comfort Inn Lake Placid Ny
Lake Placid Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing