We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room O.K. - Great breakfast - Great hotel for families.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Lake Placid
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“Room O.K. - Great breakfast - Great hotel for families.”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

My wife and I spent one night here while traveling through the Adirondack Mountains. The hotel is rated two diamonds by AAA and this is accurate. Our room with a king-size bed in the main building on the hillside was large, with a microwave and mini-refrigerator. Our bed was good. Everything was clean.

Breakfast was a nice surprise. A large, extensive buffet with fresh hot items. China plates and cups, and metal silverware. This was the best breakfast we have had in mid-priced hotels in years.

The hotel is built like a quadrangle, with a large pool in the middle, and with some of the rooms surrounding the pool. These first floor rooms have direct access to this area, which is great for families with children. Second floor rooms overlook this area. But for anyone not wanting this, or wanting to be sure of a quiet room, other rooms face the outside.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank like2travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    140
    60
    26
    23
See reviews for
125
106
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Room was spacious. Shower with grab bars, wide floor base, curved shower rod gives extra elbow room.

Free wifi a very helpful touch.

The BEST part was the breakfast included in the room price. Hot scrambled eggs, oatmeal (real oatmeal, not the pouch and add water type). Choices of breads for toasting ++++.

Great value

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QR8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stay at Comfort Inns on points, so since it's free, I might be more generous than usual with my review, but this is a really nice one! We were on a motorcycle, and there was a bank of rooms that were motel style, separate from the main building, where we could park the bike right in front of the room. They saw we were on the bike and put us there since they thought we'd like that. Very Nice! We liked the big clean room, and its balcony. It was such beautiful weather that we were able to open the balcony and front door for a bit and allow a beautiful adk breeze to go through the room. The breakfast room and breakfast were huge (no jostling! i hate getting jostled at a crowded breakfast bar), with eggs, sausage, oatmeal etc. Maybe the biggest breakfast we've seen at a comfort inn. The main hotel looked pretty neat with the indoor pool in the middle and the rooms surrounding it. It was within walking distance to a few good restaurants, The Paradox Lodge was superb, and, in between drinks, I was able to run back to my room to get my camera when I realized we were going to have a sunset meal! But I digress. This comfort in was great, we'd stay there again! No worries!

Room Tip: If you're on the bike, ask for a room attached to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diclidurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

My best friend made the reservations for my boyfriend and I as a present. We got in late on a Friday night which was fine, the room was ready. Check-in was okay, they showed the rate on the registration card when it should have been cleared out and did not give the coupons to the Howard Johnson's restaurant next door which was given to the guests' checking in next to me. We changed rooms after the first night because my friend requested a room with an outside facing balcony, we had received a room facing the pool (still with a balcony). Did not hear any noise from the pool either. The first night's room was clean and nice. The beds were comfortable and clean. We did have one issue with the first room which was with the mini fridge being plugged into the microwave so the fridge was not working correctly, we fixed this by moving the fridge and plugging it into the wall though that took out the use of the microwave. The second night's room was alright though there was hair in the tub and on one of the towels. The service was good. Everyone was friendly. The breakfast was good and had a lot of choices. The best thing about our stay was the view from the second room nights room. The room was facing Whiteface MT.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyDemonness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hook, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Spent four days at the Lake Placid Comfort Inn and truly enjoyed it. The room opened out onto the indoor pool and spa which was great for the kids. The morning breakfast buffet was excellent with a good choice of foods and drinks. The staff were very friendly. There are canoes, row boats and paddle boats available to sign out. It is located on Lake Placid (larger, prettier lake) not Mirror lake BUT walking distance down the main street to all the shopping (and Mirror lake swim area). If you don't want to walk, the trolley stops out front every 20-30 minutes. Really a great find and will definitely return. Added bonus was it was pet friendly! Both our dogs were able to enjoy Lake Placid and our hikes on nearby trails which the hotel provides a list at check in. Great, great place!!

Room Tip: Don't get room by reception room if wedding booked that night. Make sure the AC filter is cleane...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hockeymom526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here as a family for one night in the summer, as we were passing through the Adirondacks, and just needed a place to park ourselves for the night. We found the Comfort Inn to be quite pleasant, with many things to do, and much more than the simple motel we were expecting!

The hotel is located just outside of the main downtown area of Lake Placid and is actually on the Lake itself. We were in the large building up the hill (that had the pool and breakfast room) but there were several buildings in the complex. Our kids are small so we opted not to have a pool side room and instead had a view of the mountains instead with a little deck area, which was really nice.

The rooms were very large for two double beds, and there was plenty of space for our bags and things and for the kids to bounce around in. In addition, the rooms had a microwave and a fridge, which were very convenient. The decor is rather dated and kind of drab, and the room was kind of dark, but it was clean.

The free breakfast they had out was ideal for families with small kids--they had stuff the kids would like (sugar cereals, yogurts, juice) plus hot and cold dishes. The room for breakfast was right next to the pool, and was large and spacious, and the staff was constantly keeping it well stocked. Also, they had little kiddie tables which our kids loved eating at (and we did too, because we could sort of eat in peace). The downsides to breakfast was that it was a little low on the fresh fruit selection (only strawberries and whole apples) and the coffee was very weakly caffeinated.

The pool area was really fun for our kids--a big pool with towels to use, hot tub, fountains made of rocks with miniature streams, gazebos, and a roof that opens to the sky. I imagine that if you had a poolside room, it would be pretty neat to walk out of your hotel room right into the pool area!

The other great thing is that there is a dock that is right on the lake with paddle boats, canoes, and rowboats that you can use for free, where you check out the oars and life vests from the desk. This was really great as that part of the lake is quiet and peaceful. There is also a picnic area right near the dock with deck chairs, so you can lounge by the lake. There were also tennis courts you could use.

Service was very friendly. They were a little understaffed so sometimes you had to wait a while before being helped.

WiFi was free and signal was good in the big building.

Overall, it was a fun one-night stay, though I can easily imagine that it would be great as a multiple night getaway.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tesseract68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed overnight in early July 2011. Check in was quick but the young female receptionist appeared uninterested, as if this was a summer job, and roll on the winter. However, she was helpful when I asked for assistance about things to do and where to go, although had no knowledge of the Olympic bob sledge run (a main attraction just outside Lake Placid town).
We received a 2 queen bed room in the main block on the hill, (the lower smaller block at road level also contains the reception). The decor was very dated and tired (needs a make over), but it was clean. Our room was on the outside of the building and had a small veranda with 2 chairs, with views over the distant mountains. We also had regular visits from ducks when we sat outside. A large number of the rooms in this block overlook the internal courtyard pool area, and whilst this may be satisfactory for families with young children (as they could keep an eye on them in the pool) I'm glad we did not receive one of these internal rooms.
The main plus for this hotel was having free access to kayaks, rowing boats and pedaloes on the lake at the rear of the hotel. This more than made up for any minor gripes we may have had. A young male receptionist quickly got us the oars and life jackets, but it was carried out with a distinct lack of enthusiasm - perhaps they’re not being paid enough!!
The breakfast was well stocked with the usual juices, cereals, coffee, bread and some hot dishes, etc. The breakfast staff was attentive and kept the area clean and tidy.
The hotel is in a good location but it is a reasonable distance away from the main street, if that is important to you.
Would we go back - yes, if only for the kayak. However it would depend on the price, and I would also check out the other hotels first. If we did decide to book again I would ensure that we had an ‘external’ room in the higher block, for easy access to the pool and breakfast room.
I would normally give this hotel an average rating, but I feel in a generous mood and as we did enjoy boating on the lake, I have given a very good mark on this occasion.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dell08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#24 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.9 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Lake Placid

Property: Quality Inn Lake Placid
Address: 2125 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Lake Placid 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unbeatable destination for skiing adventures, golf getaways, Olympic experiences and other outdoor pursuits, Comfort Inn on Lake Placid offers affordable and comfortable lodgings on the shores of Lake Placid in the heart of the Adirondack Park. Just minutes from the world-famous ski destination, Whiteface Mountain, this hotel is ideal for families, groups and even solo adventurers.The Comfort Inn on Lake Placid features deluxe full hot breakfast served daily, complimentary Wi-Fi, and a year-round indoor heated pool and hot tub. For groups and meetings, our hotel also boasts versatile meeting/banquet space for up to 350 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Comfort Inn Lake Placid Ny
Lake Placid Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing