We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Bondville, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

After spending a night in a truly dismal Econo Lodge property in Albany, I braced myself for motel hell. My fears were unwarranted though, and I was actually very pleasantly surprised.

The room was a little rustic (a polite way of saying outdated) but clean, and nicely appointed with comfortable beds, a fridge, work desk, and wifi. There are lawn chairs outside the room which are accessible through sliding doors. I enjoyed sitting outside at sunset.

After a day of hiking the Adirondacks, the indoor pool and Jacuzzi really hit the spot. The location is about a mile east of town, and close to area recreation.

There's a continental breakfast downstairs in a conference style room. The highlight of the breakfast assortment was a flapjack machine that looked like an invention from The Jetsons...cool!

The only sour note was the sneaky "safe and warranty" charge that appeared on the closing bill. (I had no use for the room safe). The charge was only $1.50 plus tax, but I didn't appreciate the slight-of-hand bill padding. The desk clerk removed the charge without protest.

Overall though, I enjoyed my stay, and would recommend this location for a pleasant stay in the gorgeous Lake Placid area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    64
    49
    25
    21
See reviews for
65
52
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cold Spring, New York
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This old fashioned motel is nothing to look at, but the rooms are huge, they have all the amenities (including a 'fridge) they are spotlessly clean, and the service is great! What more can you ask for? Its the perfect place to stay before and after hiking the adirondack peaks

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ellynvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Lake Placid, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Barb Wood
General Manager
Econo Lodge
Carriage House Motor Inn
Lake Placid
(518) 523-2817 Ext: 300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I had planned on staying by myself and not bringing my family the night before the Lake Placid Marathon, but ended up bringing my wife and two kids, 6 and 9. The kids loved the dolphin- shaped pool. The room, while not newly decorated, wasn't bad. Location was good, close enough to everything we wanted to do. Nothing fancy but fine--and inexpensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dakaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Lake Placid, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Barb Wood
General Manager
Econo Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Been there with my boyfriend a couple of years ago. The only purpouse of the trip was to visit White Face Mtn. This Hotel has a good fare and its ok for people who travel through or want to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Lake Placid, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Barb Wood
General Manager
Econo Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is an average hotel. There's nothing fancy about it but here's what I really like:

It is reliable. I stay here usually at least once a month. When I arrive here I know what I'm getting. It might not be the cleanest place in town but it is comfortable and there has not been anything that has disgusted me yet. It is a budget hotel. If you go in with that expectation you will not be disappointed.

The staff are friendly and courteous. The breakfast is free and efficient. The pool is cool. I appreciate the fact that they are a national chain for which you can earn reward points.

All in all I think this is one of the best values in town.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior hallway room - less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USMC076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Lake Placid, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Barb Wood
General Manager
Econo Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

last minute booking with very helpful front desk attendant, Zachariah. great location, hassle free stay. amenities... good roomy room, excellent bed, free internet, clean pool and whirlpool area. continental breakfast enough to get you going... oatmeal, baby! definitely, i recommend. definitely, i would book again.

Room Tip: solid constuction, probably all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Kathy,

I was so delighted that blind faith brought you to the Econo Lodge and that you enjoyed your stay.

Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Barb Wood
General Manager
Econo Lodge of Lake Placid, NY
518-523-2817
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

When booking a hotel for President's Day weekend, the Econolodge was about 1/2 the price of other area hotels. Considering I was traveling with 3 teenage boys, I decided minimum comfort would do. I was pleasantly surprised with the large size of the rooms and unexpected services available, such as WiFi and a hot breakfast, The pool and hot tub were in better condition than those of pricier hotels we have stayed at in the area. As most of our trip was spent at Whiteface or visiting friends in the area, we did not mind being outside the village.

Room Tip: Extra $10 for room with an interior corridor is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Pool and Hot Tub. I hope your sons did as well. I did want to bring to your attention that there is a Free Local Trolley service that does stop at the hotel that would bring your family into town instead of driving.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Barb Wood
General Manager
Econo Lodge of Lake Placid, NY
518-523-2817
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.6 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#25 of 31 in Lake Placid
95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
10 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Town and Country Motor Inn
Town and Country Motor Inn
#21 of 31 in Lake Placid
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Prague Motor Inn
Prague Motor Inn
#18 of 31 in Lake Placid
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Lake Placid

Property: Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Address: 5828 Cascade Rd, Lake Placid, NY 12946-4143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Lake Placid 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Econolodge Lake Placid
Lake Placid Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing