We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Too budget for us” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Lake Placid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
New Hartford, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too budget for us”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a night in January for a quick ski trip. We waited too long before getting a reservation and this was the only place we could find under 350. When it comes to this hotel you definitely get what you pay for, not much!!! It is very, very dated. However, it is clean. We are not people who require something very fancy or we wouldn’t have tried this hotel at all, but this was even a little too bare bones for us. The walls are also very thin, and the parking lot small, so parking especially with a bus in the lot was an issue. The breakfast was very, very skimpy in a very depressing looking room full of folding tables and chairs. The year prior we stayed in the Comfort Inn and found it much more comfortable. We will stay home before staying at this motel again.

On a side note, Lake Placid is a great town, but every time I’ve skied at Whiteface its been ridiculously icy. Every time I go back I think it may be different this time, but it is exactly like the last time. If it wasn’t for how much fun Lake Placid is, I would never ski Whiteface again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    61
    45
    20
    20
See reviews for
63
48
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked a hotel at ECONO last minute- all other hotels were extremely pricey.

Econo was $100 and that wasn't bad for the winter and booking last minute trip to Lake Placid.

We got there and they let us in early- prior to 1 o'clock check-in time, which was nice and good service. Easy parking, nice-clean room and bed sheets were nice and clean, too. Everything seemed good. They also had "breakfast"- on house- in the a.m- nothing special. A few donuts, some cereal and some juices- BUT- thats always a bonus when you have children because it can get a bit pricey buying 3 -meals for everyone- especially in LP. They had a LOVELY Pool area- and hot-tub- WISH we brought our swim trunks.

Only downfall was the shower and location- Not located in the central of LP (Main street) but thats fine because our country need to do more walking anyways :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A good basic, quite nite rest on comfortable (firm) bedding, with free lite breakfast..if you can find it in the basement (n0 signs), nice indoor pool & hot tub. A car is nice for walk to town is over a mile. There are some nice restaurants before town. Hotel is easy to find, just off main road.

Room Tip: We had room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TakeTimeTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel has the basics, nothing special, rather spartan. I stayed here overnight on Feb. 8 because it was part of a travel package.
When I checked in to my room in late afternoon, I couldn't feel the heat. I tried to figure out the old-fashioned heater (it had 3 knobs), then I called the front desk and he sent maintenance right away. The heater worked fine after that, but it was too hot overnight and I slept on top of the bed. There is no thermostat or any way to determine the temperature of the room. The knobs, if they work, can be rotated to "warmer" or "cooler."
Shortly after checking in, I wanted to go out to dinner. I was disappointed that the staff was not knowledgeable about local restaurants and activities. Also, my friends and I wanted to catch the free shuttle/trolley into town. The clerk told us it ran every half hour, but when it didn't show up on time, I happened to read the schedule on the wall and it said the shuttle only runs on the hour after 5 p.m. Another clerk, who works part-time for the shuttle, suggested that the shuttle might not be running because of the poor weather that night. There were eight of us who had come up on a bus and had no cars and we were upset to think we couldn't get into the village for dinner. The clerk said the shuttle company had no office and no dispatcher, but she had a cell phone number for some of the drivers. At first, she seemed unwilling to help us, but later got in touch with someone. The shuttle came eventually, but as we discovered the next day, too, they aren't necessarily on time. However, they are free and it is a good idea to leave your car at the hotel and avoid the crowded parking lots and limited parking space downtown.

Room Tip: I was on the second floor, a spacious room. There is no elevator, so you have to carry your luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UpstateNYUtica_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel. The rate was cheap (90$) and there is an indoor pool. We had room 117 near the entrance. This is a room for persons in wheelchair. The bathroom is spacious and well equipped. The room was fine for the price, nothing fancy but it did the job. Even if we turn the heater on, the night was a bit cold. At this price we would go back for a short stay.

Room Tip: Take a romm on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jfrcusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Mostly, you get what you pay for. There is nothing outstanding about this hotel, nothing extremely and you could tell that they haven't renovated in a while. However, if you're visiting Lake Placid, the hotel should be the last thing you should worry about in terms of achieving class, the way I see it. As long as the beds are clean and comfortable and the rooms are well isolated, that's all that matters, since the only time you should be staying there is at night.
The "spa" and breakfast are nothing special, to be honest. Out of all the hotels that I've ever stayed in, which offered a continental breakfast, this breakfast was the most limited in terms of food choice.
Going back to the main point though, the beds were great and the concrete walls made the isolation from other rooms perfect. This is what I mostly paid for and this is what I got. Hence, the rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Øle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Oh boy...4 of Us went to lake placid to see stars on ice. This is a very busy ski weekend, New Year's Eve weekend. All hotels were no vacancy or minimum 2 nights. Booked Econo lodge through hotels.com & was able to book just one night. The non-smoking room stunk like cigarettes! Outdated & gross. Ancient heating system. We asked to be moved & they did accommodate us to better smelling room but still outdated. Coffee maker didn't work. Blow dryer didn't work. Pillows were flatter than a pancake. Thank God we only booked one night. Would not be going back there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Placid hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.7 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#21 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
1.9 mi away
Town and Country Motor Inn
Town and Country Motor Inn
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Prague Motor Inn
Prague Motor Inn
#20 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Lake Placid

Property: Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Address: 5828 Cascade Rd, Lake Placid, NY 12946-4143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Lake Placid 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Econolodge Lake Placid
Lake Placid Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing