We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Reasonable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Lake Placid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Mostly, you get what you pay for. There is nothing outstanding about this hotel, nothing extremely and you could tell that they haven't renovated in a while. However, if you're visiting Lake Placid, the hotel should be the last thing you should worry about in terms of achieving class, the way I see it. As long as the beds are clean and comfortable and the rooms are well isolated, that's all that matters, since the only time you should be staying there is at night.
The "spa" and breakfast are nothing special, to be honest. Out of all the hotels that I've ever stayed in, which offered a continental breakfast, this breakfast was the most limited in terms of food choice.
Going back to the main point though, the beds were great and the concrete walls made the isolation from other rooms perfect. This is what I mostly paid for and this is what I got. Hence, the rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Øle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    62
    46
    21
    21
See reviews for
63
49
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Oh boy...4 of Us went to lake placid to see stars on ice. This is a very busy ski weekend, New Year's Eve weekend. All hotels were no vacancy or minimum 2 nights. Booked Econo lodge through hotels.com & was able to book just one night. The non-smoking room stunk like cigarettes! Outdated & gross. Ancient heating system. We asked to be moved & they did accommodate us to better smelling room but still outdated. Coffee maker didn't work. Blow dryer didn't work. Pillows were flatter than a pancake. Thank God we only booked one night. Would not be going back there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Placid hotels

Clark, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Of all my years of traveling, I was never so pleased while makng a reservation on the phone with Barbara. She mentioned that a Sports team would also be staying there and suggested other accommodations to meet our needs. When arriving to Lake Placid 2 hours before check in, I called the hotel and Barbara answered the phone. She said it wouldn't be a problem checking in early and was looking forward to meeting us! Upon arrival, my husband and I were treated like Royalty. Our room was very clean and the beds were so comfortable. The waffles and hot coffee was an excellent way to start off the morning. Highly recommended place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask Barbara - she knows the rooms and meet your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delarval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My boyfriend, parents and I stayed here recently for one night after running the Adirondack Ragnar Relay. We wanted a place close to where the race finished so we could relax after the race. The beds were super comfortable. We also checked out the hot tub too which was nice. We took advantage of the breakfast the next morning and they had a make your own waffle station which was really pretty cool, and it the waffles were good! It was a nice hotel for a decent price. I would stay here again if I run the race next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenM294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We requested an early check in and Barbara was wonderful in getting our room ready. She even took my husbands phone number and called us when it was ready (we needed it for about 12pm and called around 11am) Accommodations were fine, but how nice the staff were made it 4 over 3 stars for us.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shush14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just returned from a trip to Lake Placid. We had lovely accommodations at the Econo lodge. It was nice and clean and the rooms were well maintained every day.Lovely fluffy towels and other amenities which make it a great place to stay. We enjoyed the hot tub and pool. The hotel was very quiet. We would definitely stay here again. The staff was terrific going out of their way to fulfill requests quickly. Thanks again to everyone invovled.

Room Tip: We liked facing the back of the hotel. The view was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stcatharines65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
282 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our group stayed here as it's very convenient to hiking trails and cycling routes. The shuttle bus is also convenient as it runs by every 30 minutes until about 10:30 p.m., however, on Sundays it doesn't run after 6 p.m. so you can get into town but you're on your own to get back (no problem if you don't mind walking a half hour with the last half mile along the shoulder of the road).
The staff are quite accommodating and pleasant - bravo!
Breakfast is a major disappointment - if you are an active person, you will need to go out for breakfast.
Rooms are large, clean and comfortable.
No hesitation in returning but next time we'll compare total costs with the need to add external breakfasts before making our decision.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms would face the back, but no views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tryharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.7 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#21 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
1.9 mi away
Town and Country Motor Inn
Town and Country Motor Inn
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Prague Motor Inn
Prague Motor Inn
#20 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,153 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Lake Placid
Quality Inn Lake Placid
#14 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Lake Placid

Property: Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Address: 5828 Cascade Rd, Lake Placid, NY 12946-4143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Lake Placid 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Econolodge Lake Placid
Lake Placid Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing