We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Lake Placid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Lake Placid
Clark, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Of all my years of traveling, I was never so pleased while makng a reservation on the phone with Barbara. She mentioned that a Sports team would also be staying there and suggested other accommodations to meet our needs. When arriving to Lake Placid 2 hours before check in, I called the hotel and Barbara answered the phone. She said it wouldn't be a problem checking in early and was looking forward to meeting us! Upon arrival, my husband and I were treated like Royalty. Our room was very clean and the beds were so comfortable. The waffles and hot coffee was an excellent way to start off the morning. Highly recommended place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask Barbara - she knows the rooms and meet your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delarval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    64
    48
    24
    21
See reviews for
64
52
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

My boyfriend, parents and I stayed here recently for one night after running the Adirondack Ragnar Relay. We wanted a place close to where the race finished so we could relax after the race. The beds were super comfortable. We also checked out the hot tub too which was nice. We took advantage of the breakfast the next morning and they had a make your own waffle station which was really pretty cool, and it the waffles were good! It was a nice hotel for a decent price. I would stay here again if I run the race next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenM294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We requested an early check in and Barbara was wonderful in getting our room ready. She even took my husbands phone number and called us when it was ready (we needed it for about 12pm and called around 11am) Accommodations were fine, but how nice the staff were made it 4 over 3 stars for us.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shush14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just returned from a trip to Lake Placid. We had lovely accommodations at the Econo lodge. It was nice and clean and the rooms were well maintained every day.Lovely fluffy towels and other amenities which make it a great place to stay. We enjoyed the hot tub and pool. The hotel was very quiet. We would definitely stay here again. The staff was terrific going out of their way to fulfill requests quickly. Thanks again to everyone invovled.

Room Tip: We liked facing the back of the hotel. The view was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stcatharines65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
284 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our group stayed here as it's very convenient to hiking trails and cycling routes. The shuttle bus is also convenient as it runs by every 30 minutes until about 10:30 p.m., however, on Sundays it doesn't run after 6 p.m. so you can get into town but you're on your own to get back (no problem if you don't mind walking a half hour with the last half mile along the shoulder of the road).
The staff are quite accommodating and pleasant - bravo!
Breakfast is a major disappointment - if you are an active person, you will need to go out for breakfast.
Rooms are large, clean and comfortable.
No hesitation in returning but next time we'll compare total costs with the need to add external breakfasts before making our decision.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms would face the back, but no views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tryharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massena, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a very quaint hotel. It was very comfortable and quiet. Great place to stay if you just need a bed. It's very clean as well. People are EXTREMELY nice too! It's old but very well kept. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Actually I don't think there is a restaurant on property---that's an error.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I'd have given the Econolodge 3 stars, but four things happened:
1. A wedding party was staying there and a number of them stayed out in the parking lot under our balcony till about 4:30 am, smoking and making noise. Why would the hotel allow this at the expense of the other guests?
2. The air conditioner was noisy too, even though it still couldn't drown out the partygoers;
3. I got a close look at the carpeting when I had to retrieve something from the floor. Filthy and sticky. The hallways and entries were bad too.
4. We came back on Saturday at 2:30 pm and our room had not been serviced, leaving us with a pile of damp towels and a full wastebasket.
$130 a night isn't so cheap that I could overlook these things. It was a much nicer place 7 years ago when we stayed there last. The free breakfasts are very mediocre, the ice machine outside our room wasn't working but was pinging and zinging constantly. Very disappointing overall.

Room Tip: Use Tripadvisor to choose a different lodging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AudreyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonK123, General Manager at Econo Lodge Lake Placid, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest:

I sincerely apologize for the stay you had at our property. Please know I listen to all of our guest’s comments and use them to improve our guest service here at the EconoLodge. This is not the level of guest service we expect from our associates and I assure you we have taken the necessary steps to make sure that this does not happen in the future. I thank you for informing us of the situation and at your convenience, please contact me to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Placid hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.7 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#21 of 30 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.9 mi away
Town and Country Motor Inn
Town and Country Motor Inn
#20 of 30 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 30 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 30 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prague Motor Inn
Prague Motor Inn
#19 of 30 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 30 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Lake Placid

Property: Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Address: 5828 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Lake Placid 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Econolodge Lake Placid
Lake Placid Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing