We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Basic but pleasant accomodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Lake Placid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
282 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Basic but pleasant accomodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our group stayed here as it's very convenient to hiking trails and cycling routes. The shuttle bus is also convenient as it runs by every 30 minutes until about 10:30 p.m., however, on Sundays it doesn't run after 6 p.m. so you can get into town but you're on your own to get back (no problem if you don't mind walking a half hour with the last half mile along the shoulder of the road).
The staff are quite accommodating and pleasant - bravo!
Breakfast is a major disappointment - if you are an active person, you will need to go out for breakfast.
Rooms are large, clean and comfortable.
No hesitation in returning but next time we'll compare total costs with the need to add external breakfasts before making our decision.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms would face the back, but no views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tryharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    61
    46
    21
    20
See reviews for
63
48
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massena, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a very quaint hotel. It was very comfortable and quiet. Great place to stay if you just need a bed. It's very clean as well. People are EXTREMELY nice too! It's old but very well kept. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Actually I don't think there is a restaurant on property---that's an error.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I'd have given the Econolodge 3 stars, but four things happened:
1. A wedding party was staying there and a number of them stayed out in the parking lot under our balcony till about 4:30 am, smoking and making noise. Why would the hotel allow this at the expense of the other guests?
2. The air conditioner was noisy too, even though it still couldn't drown out the partygoers;
3. I got a close look at the carpeting when I had to retrieve something from the floor. Filthy and sticky. The hallways and entries were bad too.
4. We came back on Saturday at 2:30 pm and our room had not been serviced, leaving us with a pile of damp towels and a full wastebasket.
$130 a night isn't so cheap that I could overlook these things. It was a much nicer place 7 years ago when we stayed there last. The free breakfasts are very mediocre, the ice machine outside our room wasn't working but was pinging and zinging constantly. Very disappointing overall.

Room Tip: Use Tripadvisor to choose a different lodging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AudreyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonK123, General Manager at Econo Lodge Lake Placid, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest:

I sincerely apologize for the stay you had at our property. Please know I listen to all of our guest’s comments and use them to improve our guest service here at the EconoLodge. This is not the level of guest service we expect from our associates and I assure you we have taken the necessary steps to make sure that this does not happen in the future. I thank you for informing us of the situation and at your convenience, please contact me to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Placid hotels

Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Our family has stayed here on numerous occasions as we have a child who trains for sports here and we like to ski at Whiteface. Lake Placid can be a pricey place to stay and we routinely find this to be one of the more reasonably priced options. The rooms are clean and have the basic amenities. We have been particularly impressed with the management who has been accommodating when we've needed to change our plans due to weather conditions. The pool area is clean with a "balcony" area out of the splash zone, a convienent place to supervise kids who are swimming but don't need you at their side.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bohlcore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was a very nice motel. Very clean and quiett. If you are close to the pool you may smell a bit of chlorine. Nice large room with iron and frige had to ask for it, but no extra charge. Free shuttle bus right outside the door. Front desk very nice people. There is a continental breakfast, but not much to offer and the coffee and tea was cold.Indoor pool shaped as a fish and hot tub. The pool is very small and no deep end about 5 feet deep. Couldn't really swim in it. Quite a distance from downtown, but shuttle takes you right there. Only comes by every 30 minutes though. Would stay there again. It was a little more then I had hoped to pay, but save by having breakfast there. Stayed two nights.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the pool. We had the very last room from the pool and could still smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

A last minute trip to the area had us choose between the two remaining types of hotels high end and low end. Not willing to pay twice the money for a one night stay, I chose the Econo Lodge. It was clean and basic. Keeping basic in mind. There wasn't any major problems to report. Clean and comfortable. Basically. Would stay here again facing the same situation.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MyNextDestination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I recently stayed at the Econo Lodge enroute through to NewHampshire with a group of fellow bikers.
The hotel is hard to find on the end of town, not that close to the downtown. An average hotel - nothing special. My friends had an older room, close to the reception, mine was newer on the second floor in the back building. So if you do stay you might want to inquire about the newer / remodelled section.
If you are travelling through and looking for an economical hotel, then your good. If you are looking to stay for a few days, and tour the town, a little too far away. There is a complimentary "Lake Placid shuttle" but runs every hour.
Pass on the morning breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cotss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.7 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#21 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
1.9 mi away
Town and Country Motor Inn
Town and Country Motor Inn
#18 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Prague Motor Inn
Prague Motor Inn
#20 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,150 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Lake Placid
Quality Inn Lake Placid
#14 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Lake Placid

Property: Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Address: 5828 Cascade Rd, Lake Placid, NY 12946-4143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Lake Placid 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Econolodge Lake Placid
Lake Placid Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing