We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I love this resort!”
Reviewed January 31, 2011

This is a great resort. Our lakefront room was very nice. The decor might be a little 80's, but so am I. The pool is really great and the sauna was super hot, perfect for warming up after taking a dog sled ride, or riding down the tobaggan shute (which is just a short walk down the lake). We dined at the hotel restaurant both nights and it was wonderful. Our room was very clean and every staff member we encountered was just delightful. This resort is right in the center of all Lake Placid has to offer. We will definitely come again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler2123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    425
    113
    48
    26
See reviews for
467
547
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
251 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

This is an old hotel with nothing special. It is centrally located in the downtown district. I would recommend this hotel for families or small group of people who are interested in being downtown. The lakefront rooms do offer a beautiful view of mirror lake. The rooms and furniture are very outdated.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodshink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenArrow, Owner at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Ouch. "An old hotel with nothing special" really hurts. I am glad you liked the location and the view. Those are certainly two of the things that are so great about the Golden Arrow. It pains me to read that you did not find anything unique and fun about the property. As a family owned and operated resort, as well as a hotel operating independently from any franchise, we try very hard to offer something that stays true to our mission of superior customer service combined with a relaxed elegance. I am so sorry that you did not experience that. You did not mention anything specifically that went wrong, but if you were dissatisfied, either with the level of service or the quality of your room, I wish you had said something.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Booked the Golden Arrow through an on-line agent - should have gone direct. These folks were super helpful and very nice to deal with. Our room was on the village side so there is some street noise, but very little even though it was New Years Eve. The pool and hot tubs were awesome. Kids and adults have their own hot tubs. The sauna and steam room were a nice option as well. We also used the gym which is unusually large and pretty nicely equipped. My kids enjoyed all the amenities, including the convenient indoor Alpine Mall but they loved the Sugar Shack cupcake bakery that is also attached. Room was clean, large and well equipped even though it was the cheapest, regular room. Location is fabulous, short walk to every restaurant, Olympic attraction and the movie theatre. We skiied Whiteface and coming back to the underground garage and warming up with cocoa and cookies in the lobby was very welcoming. When we checked out my daughter left her teddy in the room. They found it, called us and then Fed Ex'd the bear to us. They didnt have to go the extra mile but they did. We cant wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueSheeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We would stay here again and recommend this hotel. We will add just what hasn't been elaborated by other reviews mentioning the great staff, location, and decent accomadations. The cleaning staff is wonderful, attentive, and deserves special mention.
Just a few thoughts-
1) Generations- the restaurant - Excellent - great menu, great kitchen. Absolutely the most exceptional homemade Ceaser salad on the east coast. Had the the best prepared trout one night, and filet mignon on another night. Wait staff is very attentive and professional. Prices are reasonable. Staff know how to make families with children very welcome. 5 out of 5.
1a) Advice for management on Room Service - Room service meals are served covered in saran wrap. Guests dump eaten dishes in the hallway or by the elevators, which sit there unappetizingly for long periods. For $220 per night high season, the hotel should invest in carts and lids for room service meals. Carts are delivered to the rooms, and then left for pick up, covered, when done for retrieval. As it is, it''s quite gross for other guests walking by discarded and uncovered meals in the hallway.
1b) Two out of four mornings, the main lobby hadn't been vacuumed and was strewn with beer bottles and chip crumbs - with the front desk staffed presumably all night, one would think that someone would have noticed.
Enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falconsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenArrow, Owner at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Thanks so much for that thoughtful review. I appreciate your suggested improvements regarding the room service trays and intend to bring them to our restaurant management's attention. I think it is good advice and am a little embarrassed that it did not occur to me earlier. We took over management of the restaurant exactly a year ago and are still working out some kinks. Your suggestion seems like a pretty easy fix. Thank you for mentioning it.

I will address the lobby issue to our housekeeping department and make sure that any oversight in that area is corrected immediately if it has not already been corrected. The lobby is the first impression we give to people and it should be immaculate at all times.

I do hope you visit again. If you do and have more good suggestions for areas where we can improve, please come meet me at the front desk and let me know. Feedback like this is our best opportunity to improve. I always enjoy meeting guests who have new ideas and suggestions. I hope to meet you sometime in the future.

Jenn
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhards Bay, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We had an upcoming College Tour of Paul Smiths College, and wanted to make it memorable for our son that weekend. What a great choice to stay at the Arrow Lakeside Resort. We all loved the specialty room and everyone was very pleasant. We can't say enough about this hotel and cannot imagine why anyone would give it less than exceptional ratings!! And yes, he just signed his acceptance letter to Paul Smiths - so we know where we will be staying on our visits!!! Thank you again, Jill Babcock

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proudmom160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

We booked the Wright Peak room. Actually, we are still here and there are pretty much no complaints. The place is a "Green" hotel, so, we are only slightly annoyed that we can't burn real wood in the FP. The hotel property is great. The staff is great as well. The location is awesome. Their parking garage, which I didn't even know they had, as it's hidden under the building, is very convenient. We have stayed in LP before, but at The Mirror Lake Inn, which is a bit disconnected from the strip. The Golden Arrow, maybe not quite as swank, is just what we wanted...great resort close to the fun times and great food that Lake Placid has to offer. BTW The pic of the room was exactly what we saw when we walked in.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmolderinBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We stay at the Golden Arrow every time we come to Lake Placid. You can't beat the location. You can walk all over town and around Mirror Lake if you want!

We stay in the standard room with a balcony on the lake side. Even though I thought they were nice when we were here for Thanksgiving 2008, I think they did some updating of the rooms, new furniture and flat TV's. Our room had what I think was a "pleather" loveseat and chair, very uncomfortable, but pretty to look at.

When we arrived my in-laws had already settled into their room. We had asked for a room nearby, but not right next to them (for a little privacy, but able to help them if needed). They were in 309 and we were in 304. We unpacked and went to visit them. While we were there, we noticed a dog in 308 had started barking nonstop. Evidently, the owners had gone out to dinner or something and left the dog. My M-I-L went out to the desk and they opened up 303 for them to get away from the dog. Yep, that's right, right next to us! Anyway, they said that dogs are not to be left unattended. When we went to Thanksgiving dinner a couple of hours later, the dog was still barking. We also heard it barking on Friday as we walked by the room. Note to people who left the dog alone: YOU GIVE DOG OWNERS A BAD NAME!! We used to travel with a diabetic dog and we would never allow that to happen.

Parking is so convenient at the GA and we love the pool/hot tub/steam room/sauna area. It is large enough that you don't feel crowded even when there are families all over. There were no towels when we went in Friday night and the desk staff sent someone over immediately to fill the shelves.

The staff is outstanding and treats you very well. They do a great job!!!!

We wouldn't stay anywhere else when we come to Lake Placid!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelrlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenArrow, Owner at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2010
Thank you for returning to us again this year. I am so sorry your family was disturbed by the barking dog. You are absolutely correct that pets are not supposed to be left alone in the room. From time to time we make exceptions to allow people to go out to dinner etc. When that happens wee make sure we have a valid cell phone number so we can call the owners should their be any issues like the one you experienced. In this case, the owners were no especially good about answering their phone.

I think we were trying to do a good thing by placing your in laws closer to you. I have made a note on your profile for future reservations to keep you guys close, but not too close. That should help going forward.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again next year. Until then we wish you happy & safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.1 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.9 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
5 reviews
0.3 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Property: Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Address: 2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3305 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The Only thing we Overlook is the Lake.” Surrender yourself to the untouched beauty of the Adirondack Mountains at the first resort in the United States to receive the Audubon’s Society highest Platinum Eco Rating for Hotels. It’s a place to renew yourself on the serene shores of Mirror Lake, and a place to thrill yourself, just moments from the famed Olympic Village at the heart of Lake Placid, New York. We are proud to offer Deluxe Accommodations as well as over 20 different kinds of suites and specialty rooms. All of our rooms are 100% smoke free, our lake front rooms above ground level have private balconies, and the ground level rooms have large glass doors leading out to a patio. Don’t forget your pup because we are a Pet Friendly resort. The Golden Arrow has an indoor pool, steam bath, two whirlpool hot tubs, and sauna. There is also a private white sand beach that is the perfect place to take in a magnificent panorama of the Adirondack Mountains. In the summer there are complimentary kayaks, canoes, and paddleboats available, we also have an authentic Italian Gondola that can be taken out for a minimal charge. In the winter you can ski, skate, and even take a dog sled ride on Mirror Lake right out our back door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Arrow Lakeside Hotel Lake Placid
Hotel Golden Arrow Lakeside
Golden Arrow Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing