We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Golden Arrow is right on target!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We spent a four-day autumn getaway at this hotel in the heart of the village of Lake Placid in celebration of our wedding anniversary. The room was perfect for our needs with a wonderful view of Mirror Lake from our balcony and was more economical than others in the area that we had also considered. We were within walking distance of virtually everything.

We didn't really have many encounters with hotel staff - - which is probably a good thing - - but when we did see them in the hallways they were very cordial. The hotel seemed busy but was also very quiet. We used the pool one evening and practically had it all to ourselves. We had breakfast in Generations one morning and found the food and prices to be very good. The couple next to us apparently had some sort of problem with their meal and we overheard a very apologetic waiter tell them that they would not be charged for it. We thought that was a nice touch.

We would definitely return to the Golden Arrow, perhaps for a longer period of time. There is so much to do in the Lake Placid area. Once is definitely not enough.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zarleydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,153 - 1,159 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2010

I attended the Olympics in 1980, loved Lake Placid and decided to return with my husband the end of September 2010. We saved for this vacation, and were able to afford a 4th floor, deluxe room at the Golden Arrow. However, when we arrived, we were instead given a room on the 2nd floor. My husband was extremely disappointed but the clerk advised my husband that they can't promise a room/floor because sometimes guests don't check out in a timely manner. Except that the other front desk clerk was explaining to someone on the phone that there was plenty of room availability since the season had not yet begun. The hallway leading to our room was very warm and had worn (but clean) carpeting and old wallpaper. When we entered our room, despite the cool evening temperature of 54 degrees, our room was hot, even with the a/c unit on full blast. We overheard a family in another room talking about the same temperature problem. The front desk clerk was advised and remarked that it was odd. The television was an old-fashioned style with a blurry picture. The bathroom was old and outdated and the doorknob was broken and would not lock. I did not consider this a deluxe room. The view (from the second floor) was beautiful. I'm sure the view from higher rooms were spectacular. Canoes are made available to guests of the hotel. The location of the hotel was great - situated in the heart of Lake Placid shopping and dining. Food was incredible at Dancing Bears - deliciously affordable comfort food in a casual atmosphere. Get the nachos! Coffee and sandwiches/crepes can't be beat at Big Mountain Deli & Creperie.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakekathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenArrow, Owner at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2010

I am sorry you did not find our hotel up to the standards you expected. We do always try to deliver top notch service and a quality product. It is unfortunate that we were not able to get you into a room on the 4th floor. However, my staff correctly explained to you that we can not guarantee the exact location of a Deluxe Guest room because I can not predict with certainly what all of the other guests at the resort might do at any time. They may be scheduled to check out and decide to stay over instead, for example. On your reservation, the only request that was noted was that you requested not to be on the pet floor, which we were able to grant with no problems.
Please believe that we do always try to respect and honor the requests of our guests. If it is humanly possible to grant your requests, we do so. Why wouldn't we? Otherwise I end up on trip advisor answering complaints just like yours. That said, I am sorry we were not able to get you where you wanted to be. I am glad you enjoyed the view.
I wish you had said something about the TV and the bathroom door knob while you were here. I have just spent the last 30 minutes going through every reservation on the second floor for the last few days looking for someone from your location. Luckily I was able to find your past reservation and have sent maintenance to the room to look at both issues. As always, had you said something during your stay, we could have fixed it for you immediately and tried our very best to make it up to you. In the future, please let the hotel staff know when you find an issue or are dissatisfied in some way. We will always do our best to make sure you have the best stay you can have. That is what we do and why we are here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

I have visited the Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort over the years with my children and husband. We always loved the location, cleanliness and friendliness of the hotel staff and family. It is not often that staff remembers your name and that of your children, especially when the resort is as large as the Golden Arrow but this family owned property really makes the visit worth your while.

This past weekend, my sweetie and I decided that we needed some time away from our day to day responsibilities and chose the Golden Arrow as our destination.

We chose to stay in a romantic suite right on the beachfront where we readily accessed canoes and row boats to entertain ourselves and indulge in the fresh mountain air. The turning of the leaves was nearing its peak and the temperature was a balmy 77 degrees.

Our room was immaculate, the lawn well groomed and many families were busy enjoying their little ones, beachside. To our disbelief, no sound was heard during the evening as we soaked ourselves in the beauty of the adirondacks and silky, soaky jacuzzi that was offered by the luxury of our suite. The walls were well insulated and the sounds of happy children far removed from our very sheltered suite.

I want to recommend this resort to both family and friends, singles, married and romantics. It would only seem natural for me to write this review as I was fully re-charged upon my departure and most grateful for all the little extras that the Golden Arrow offered us.

It would be a great honor to visit again, sometime soon.

Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susie1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Lake Placid was our last stop of a 10 day road trip with Tweens. We wanted to stay a couple of nights and little up market as it was our last point before heading home. Boy did we choose the perfect spot. Check in was easy and the staff were really friendly and serviced us with a smile. We had a great chat to the Hotel Manager as well, who was just a delight. As soon as we checked in, the kids were in Mirror Lake for 3 hours and if we weren’t sitting on our balcony watching them and the gorgeous scenery, we were down there with them. After dinner of the first night we could not get into our room as the lock had broken and at 11 pm with cranky and tired Tweens it was a bit frustrating. The Janitor finally got the door unlocked, only to find the next morning we couldn’t get out of room. We were locked in because of the faulty lock. We phoned down to the desk and were let out straight away. The Hotel Manager heard about our little adventure and sent us down to Generations Restaurant for a lovely complimentary breakfast for the 4 of us for the little mishap. This was a unexpected surprise. We had a wonderful couple of days in Lake Placid and can't wait to stay at "Golden Arrow" again this time for the skiing in winter.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiepals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

This was our first time to Lake Placid. We wanted to stay at a hotel that offered more than just a bed to sleep in. We chose the Golden Arrow as it was right on the water front of Mirror Lake, and offered outdoor activities like canoeing.

We stayed in the Marcy Suite. The room was on the 5th floor. The room size was decent and it had a balcony overlooking Mirror Lake. Stunning views! We had to be careful as the aluminum railing on the balcony had become loose from the wall. There were 2 chairs on the balcony to sit and enjoy the sunrise / sunsets.

The room was showing its age. The wallpaper was starting to peel on the seams and the jet-tub in the washroom had a chip out of it. The washroom was an average size but again was missing the detail. For example, there was a burnt out light bulb, and the toilet seat was loose.

The bedding was very clean and warm; however the bed itself offered little comfort and squeaked every time you move. There were three pillows on the bed when we checked in, and quickly went looking for more as they were very thin. We found two more in the closet.

The Marcy Suite comes with a real wood burning fireplace. There are commercial fire logs available in the room. This was a nice change from the gas fireplaces in some hotels.

Our TV was the old tube style with a built in VCR. It worked fine, and we rarely watched it, as there was always something else to do. The Marcy Suite also comes with a microwave and a refrigerator. The fridge STUNK of ???? When I opened the freezer section, it looked like the previous guest had a beer that exploded. Another item overlooked by the hotel staff.

As mentioned, the Golden Arrow is right on the water front. They have a limestone beach with plenty of lounge chairs; there are two docks and a swimming area. They offer canoes, kayaks, peddle boats, and row boats for guests to cruise the lake in. This was one of the reasons we chose this hotel.

The hotel is on the main street, and is within walking distance of all that Lake Placid has to offer. There are plenty of dining options and I would encourage readers to read about the hotels on Trip Advisor. The ratings generally held true to our experiences.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackriverexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenArrow, Owner at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2010

Thank you for your review of our resort and your appraisal of the Marcy Suite. I agree that it is a wonderful room, and it is nice as it is, but it is not reaching its full potential. That is why it is on our list of rooms to renovate in the near future. As I have said on this site many times...we are constantly updating and renovating this resort. Guest feedback plays a large part in how we pick what to renovate next. I appreciate you taking the time to let me know your thoughts. Perhaps next time you return you can stay in the Marcy Suite again and let me know your feedback on the renovations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

The view is amazing from this hotel. It is directly in front of Mirror Lake with an unobstructed mountain and water view. The room was clean and the staff members were friendly. It is centrally located in the middle of town so the restaurants, outlets and shops are within walking distance. The hotel provides free paddle boats, canoes, kayaks, and a small man-made white powdery beach for the guests' use. There's also a good fishing spot on the paddle boat deck, especially during early evening.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lethaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Beautiful location/views right on Mirror Lake. Nice sandy beach with free use of paddle boats, row boats, and kayaks to use on the lake. There were several of each so there generally is no waiting for one to use. Spectacular views of the mountains from our balcany. The room was very clean, udated furnishings, and a conforatable mattress. Many different rooms to stay in ranging from a standard room with 2 double beds to rooms with fireplaces, seperate bedrooms and jacuzzi. There is also a heated indoor poor, game room, and fitness room.The hotel staff were excellent and very accomodating. Asked about a discount, they don't advertise for an AARP discount, but that was all we had so they accepted it and gave us a discount. Ate in the adjoining Generations restaurant, good service, food and price. Great place for couples or a family.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sgl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.1 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Address: 2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3305 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: $109 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The Only thing we Overlook is the Lake.” Surrender yourself to the untouched beauty of the Adirondack Mountains at the first resort in the United States to receive the Audubon’s Society highest Platinum Eco Rating for Hotels. It’s a place to renew yourself on the serene shores of Mirror Lake, and a place to thrill yourself, just moments from the famed Olympic Village at the heart of Lake Placid, New York. We are proud to offer Deluxe Accommodations as well as over 20 different kinds of suites and specialty rooms. All of our rooms are 100% smoke free, our lake front rooms above ground level have private balconies, and the ground level rooms have large glass doors leading out to a patio. Don’t forget your pup because we are a Pet Friendly resort. The Golden Arrow has an indoor pool, steam bath, two whirlpool hot tubs, and sauna. There is also a private white sand beach that is the perfect place to take in a magnificent panorama of the Adirondack Mountains. In the summer there are complimentary kayaks, canoes, and paddleboats available, we also have an authentic Italian Gondola that can be taken out for a minimal charge. In the winter you can ski, skate, and even take a dog sled ride on Mirror Lake right out our back door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Arrow Lakeside Hotel Lake Placid
Hotel Golden Arrow Lakeside
Golden Arrow Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing