We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,514)
Filter reviews
1,514 results
Traveler rating
830
474
127
54
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
830
474
127
54
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews generations restaurant mirror lake underground parking paddle boats attached restaurant main street specialty room in town steam room shops and restaurants indoor pool life jackets private beach hotel restaurant dog sledding frozen lake hockey tournament
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,514 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort is always our first choice in Lake Placid, because it is a place we never have to leave! This historic hotel is very comfortable with a variety of interesting room choices, a great lake view, a nice restaurant and a popular indoor pool, and a fantastic location. Yes, it is a bit of a maze inside, so choose your room location carefully. This resort is family-owned, and the owners have lavished decades of care on the property. A great place to enjoy year round, but especially in winter when it is minus ten with a foot of snow outside, but inside there is a roaring fireplace and a friendly smile.

Room tip: Review floor plan carefully due to room variety
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joell_Stetson, Marketing Strategist at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the 4-star review Mary! We're happy to be your first choice in Lake Placid! We're glad you were able to stay warm in cold temps and enjoy the great views. Thank you for noticing how much care goes into keeping the Golden Arrow the hotel that it is. We hope you'll be back for another visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Golden Arrow exceeded all expectations - there is no reason to look elsewhere if you are visiting Lake Placid. We instantly felt at home. Cozy interior, beautiful lakefront views, friendly staff, delicious breakfast, high quality service. Truly cannot wait to return!

Room tip: Lakeside view is worth the extra expense
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MaisyElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joell_Stetson, Marketing Strategist at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the 5-star review MaisyElizabeth! We're happy to hear you felt at home here and such great service! We hope you can come visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Third time staying at the Golden Arrow and they always meet our now high expectations. Go to LP for skiing which is not great due to Whiteface height and orientation so it ices up quickly but the Golden Arrow makes it a great experience. Stayed in 442 which was recently renovated and done extremely well. Easy walk across the street for the shuttle to the mountain and my car stays clean in their underground parking. Great deal with lift ticket and a great breakfast in the Generations restaurant. Stay 2 nights and the 3rd night is free is a great deal. People could not be nicer and they are genuine in their interest in making you feel wonderful about the whole experience. Dinner was also excellent.

Room tip: Ask for recently renovated rooms.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joell_Stetson, Marketing Strategist at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the 5-star review Eric! We're glad you were able to take advantage of the great ski package! It's very nice to be able to walk across the street and grab the shuttle to Whiteface and not deal with cleaning your car off. We're glad you enjoyed the updated room and your meals at Generations as well. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2019

We were there for a few days to get away after the Xmas and New Year holidays. We had a room overlooking Mirror Lake; the view was beautiful. We watched the dog sled riders out on the lake, and we were also treated to fireworks over the lake in conjunction with the International Children's Winter Games. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The staff were very helpful in allowing us to extend our stay when a snowstorm blew in, and they were helpful in advising on road conditions for our travel out of town. A very nice and relaxing place to be.

Room tip: best views on side overlooking Mirror Lake
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelsWithMitzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joell_Stetson, Marketing Strategist at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for the 5-star review! We're glad you could join us for a relaxing vacation after the Holidays, and were able to enjoy some of the activities going on around town. Our staff is very knowledgeable, so we're happy they were able to help you out! We hope to see you again soon for another great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2019 via mobile

We bought the romance package with our stay. Very disappointed in the romance package overall. We arrived late so we weren't able to eat dinner at the restaurant, used our vouchers for breakfast (super annoying experience). The "chocolates" were a handful of hershey kisses. Disappointment. The note left in the room was cute. We didn't use the dessert voucher and when I explained that to the person checking us out, he said that we basically used it all because it's a package. Lol. Very disappointed I spent $150 on something I could've spent $50 myself. Would never recommend that package. The room was amazing, though. We stayed in the haystack specialty room. Loved it & the view.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Pineapples18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joell_Stetson, Marketing Strategist at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2019

Thank you for the 4-star review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the new romance package. You were the first couple to purchase the updated package, so the new vouchers might have confused the restaurant staff. We apologize for that. We have gone over everything with them again so there should not be any issues going forward. We're sorry you arrived late and were not able to use your appetizer/dessert and drink vouchers this stay, but they don't expire so you are welcome to use them on your next trip. We're glad you liked the Haystack room and hope you enjoy the candle and lotion from Pure Placid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews