We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,514)
Filter reviews
1,514 results
Traveler rating
830
474
127
54
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
830
474
127
54
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews generations restaurant mirror lake underground parking paddle boats attached restaurant main street specialty room in town steam room shops and restaurants indoor pool life jackets private beach hotel restaurant dog sledding frozen lake hockey tournament
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,514 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2019 via mobile

We bought the romance package with our stay. Very disappointed in the romance package overall. We arrived late so we weren't able to eat dinner at the restaurant, used our vouchers for breakfast (super annoying experience). The "chocolates" were a handful of hershey kisses. Disappointment. The note left in the room was cute. We didn't use the dessert voucher and when I explained that to the person checking us out, he said that we basically used it all because it's a package. Lol. Very disappointed I spent $150 on something I could've spent $50 myself. Would never recommend that package. The room was amazing, though. We stayed in the haystack specialty room. Loved it & the view.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Pineapples18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joell_Stetson, Marketing Strategist at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2019

Thank you for the 4-star review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the new romance package. You were the first couple to purchase the updated package, so the new vouchers might have confused the restaurant staff. We apologize for that. We have gone over everything with them again so there should not be any issues going forward. We're sorry you arrived late and were not able to use your appetizer/dessert and drink vouchers this stay, but they don't expire so you are welcome to use them on your next trip. We're glad you liked the Haystack room and hope you enjoy the candle and lotion from Pure Placid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2019

This hotel-resort is high quality - yet remains very friendly - we felt like being with family and friends! The room was very comfortable, quiet - with everything we can wish for + the view of the lake is amazing! The food at Generations Grill is amazing - with local ingredients - loved the pretzel and onion soup!! Staff is great!
An amazing New Year in Lake Placid!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank blk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joell_Stetson, Marketing Strategist at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2019

Thank you for the 5-star review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and were able to eat at Generations. The views of the lake are amazing, and there's so much going on this time of year, there is always something to watch! We hope you'll join us again soon for another great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2018

We stayed at the Golden Arrow right on Mirror Lake in Lake Placid. The view of Mirror Lake and Whiteface Mt. from our lakeside balcony was fantastic. The rooms were spacious, clean, and supplied with amenities like Keurig coffee. The main lobby is beautiful with fireplace and full windows overlooking Mirror Lake. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. There is a parking garage which is extremely helpful since most things in the village are within walking distance, and the village parking is a major challenge anytime of the year. This is a great destination any time of year, and we are already planning on returning this winter and next summer.

Room tip: For the little extra cost, the lakeview rooms are well worth it if you are going to spend time around the hotel
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Glenmore43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joell_Stetson, Marketing Strategist at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2019

Thank you for the 5-star review Glenmore43! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your lakeside room and those amazing views that come with it! The parking garage is a nice bonus, especially in the snowy months! We hope you'll be back soon for all the winter activities in Lake Placid!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2018 via mobile

This was our second time staying at the Golden Arrow. A wonderful location with well appointed, roomy and perfectly maintained rooms and common areas. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We brought our whole family for Christmas and they loved it. Extremely reasonable prices for the facilities and service this wonderful resort offers. We will definitely be back.

There were two minor areas where I would give them advice to change the approach for next year. They are renovating some rooms which lead to pretty steady hammering noises in our room throughout Christmas Eve afternoon until 5pm. That does not lend to relaxation. They should probably close off and not place guests in a large swath of rooms around areas they will be doing work for the future. Second was that the restaurant was closed for Christmas Day. Understandable that people at the restaurant would want to be home with their families on Christmas Day and the Hotel generously offered free fruit and muffins but it is a cost of doing business at a winter resort hotel that someone has to work on Christmas Day. The key is for management to make it economically well worthwhile for the employees who make that type of significant sacrifice. Neither issue rose to a level to mar a delightful stay.

We look forward to being back.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Thebigduck09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joell_Stetson, Marketing Strategist at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2018

Thank you for the 5-star review! We're happy to hear you and your family had a great time spending Christmas at the Golden Arrow! We're sorry you were inconvenienced by the renovations. We try to keep guests away from the working areas if at all possible, but when we get really busy it can get a little difficult. Hopefully if you come back next year, you will see all these wonderful upgrades! You are exactly right, our restaurant staff wanted to spend the holiday with their families, as did many others in the area. We hope you were able to find someplace else for a nice meal though!
Wishing you and your family a happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2018

Room: although we usually reserve family suite with a fireplace and Jacuzzi every year, we also add additional standard rooms to fit our growing family. Both the family suite and the standard room are in mint condition. We also noticed the ongoing efforts taking place in Golden Arrow to upgrade and repair the rooms.
The cleanness improved dramatically over years becoming ideal. No issues with either room or hallways or shared facilities. We can continuously see personnel cleaning the hotel from early morning till late night (swimming pool area is cleaned after it closes at 10pm). We have to state that this time, even the difficult to maintain pool area was in perfect condition throughout the day - no dirt, towels, food remnants.
With all their efforts to keep the hotel clean, Golden Arrow is awarded for water conservation.
But what makes it really miraculous is the Christmas spirit - the hotel is meticulously decorated outside and inside. There are beautiful designer's gingerbread houses on display. The private ice skating rink on the lake, the dog-slays and a complementary breakfast on the Christmas morning completed the perfect picture.
Underground parking is really critical for the snowy days, as Christmas Eve was.
Also bare in mind - Golden Arrow is pet-friendly.

Room tip: Lake views
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikhail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joell_Stetson, Marketing Strategist at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review Mikhail! We are happy to hear that you and your family had such a great time while staying with us, and that you are repeat guests! It means a lot that you noticed how hard our staff, especially housekeeping, works to keep the Golden Arrow looking its best. We're glad you were able to enjoy so many festive features over the holiday as well! We hope to see you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews