We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$141
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Whiteface Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$333
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Peaks Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$159
$135
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Placid Lodge(Lake Placid)
$599
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cobble Mountain Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$109
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town House Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,413)
Filter reviews
1,413 results
Traveler rating
755
457
123
51
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
755
457
123
51
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgenerations restaurantmirror lakepaddle boatsunderground parkingattached restaurantmain streetspecialty roomin townsteam roomshops and restaurantsindoor poollife jacketsprivate beachfrozen lakehotel restaurantfirst floorhockey tournament
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,344 - 1,349 of 1,413 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2006

Front Desk Staff has been wonderful as well as the custodian who has been most helpful. We have been coming here for 9 years and we will keep coming back. We always have a great time at the GA

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Spooky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2006

We stayed for three days at the beginning of August. We had booked two lakefront rooms and I asked for something quiet on an upper floor. After reading other reviews I guess we got lucky, because we got the rooms on the third floor at the far end of the new wing. The rooms were in decent shape and we had no noise problems and had views of the lake from the balconies. The rooms and hotel in general are a bit tired, but met our needs. The view from the lobby was great and the beach was the best. We were down at the beach every day with the kids, used every boat they had, and had a good time on the quiet mirror lake. The location also meant that we could walk to everything: restaurants, the lake Placid marina for the boat tour, the Olympic center , main St shops, etc. Didn't take the car out of the garage the whole trip. The price seemed a bit high, definitely is charging for location rather than posh rooms. Still a great place to come with kids.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mattabessett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2006

We just returned from a 4-day stay at the Golden Arrow Hotel in Lake Placid. This hotel has an excellent location right on Mirror Lake. This hotel has a nice white sand beach, which is nice for swimming and using the hotel's free boats and kayaks. Our room had a nice balcony that overlooked the lake. The rooms all seemed recently renovated. They were clean and nicely decorated. The sitting area in the lobby and some of the rooms have high-speed wireless Internet access. There is also a PC available for public use. And the hotel has a nice pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2006

We stayed at the Golden Arrow in early Sept. 2006. The Golden Arrow is on beautiful Mirror Lake next to Lake Placid. The hotel has a great little beachfront on the lake, with pedal boats, kayaks and rowboats, as well as a swimming area. It is right in town, within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. The indoor pool is very nice. We will definitely stay here again the next time we come to Lake Placid.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NY1mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2006

This is a great place to stay with kids. They have a nice white sandy beach area, paddle boats, row boats etc. Also you would not have to move your car as you can walk to everything downtown. The view can't be beat. However, the rooms (we had rooms 110 & 111) are very dated. The rugs were stained and the furniture looked old. The ground floor rooms are nice as you have access to beach etc from your room but we were near an exit door and door to garage. It wasnoisy as the door was heavy and it slammed every time someone opened it. The kids loved the place but my husband and I would not stay there again on our own.

Stayed: August 2006
2  Thank BPAlbanyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-Jenn, Owner at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2006

After I read the last 3 reviews I went down to the rooms (especially 110) to check it out for myself. There was no smell that I could detect, but I do agree that that section of the property could use some updating. This January (2007) we plan on converting that entire floor to a allergen free floor. When we do this, in addition to air/chlorine filters etc., we will be putting in bamboo hard wood floors, all new furniture, and yes, 2 queen size beds instead of two doubles.
This is a family owned and operated hotel. We are constantly renovating and renewing out hotel. However it is impossible to do everything at once, so we take it floor by floor and room by room. I appreciate the comments made here. Guest feedback is always appreciated and seriously considered. I just wish these guests had made thier issues known while they were here so we could have done more to make sure thier stay was all it should have been.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews