We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family friendly resort, great location, great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family friendly resort, great location, great staff!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We rented one of their condo's facing main street and slightly detached from the rest of hotel for my husband and I and our very active 2 and 5 year old kids. The room was very practical, laid out well, and clean. The staff was super helpful and inviting. The hotel itself has a lot to boast for families with a lovely beach, access to boats, a pool etc. We all had a really great time and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Water views are worth it!
See more room tips
Green Features: It did not really impact us, or seem like anything unusual to other hotels.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Michelle D,

I’m very glad you and your family enjoyed your stay in one of our Main Street condos. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our lovely beach, friendly staff and that you’ll be back! I truly thank you for writing this great review on Trip Advisor; I look forward to your return to Lake Placid.

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    418
    112
    48
    25
See reviews for
459
542
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for our 25th anniversary and had a wonderful stay. View of the lake was beautiful, staff was friendly and helpful. Parked the car and hardly used it since restaurants, shopping and lake all steps away. Loved that canoes, kayaks, paddle boards and paddle boats available for guests to use.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Mary S,

Congratulations on 25 years of marriage! I’m so happy that you chose to celebrate it with us. Thank you for your great review, it’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful view from the resort and friendly staff, among other things.

I hope you will stay with us again in the future. Thank you again for writing your review!

My Best,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The Golden Arrow says they "only thing they overlook is the lake," and it's really true! They've thought of everything at the Golden Arrow and have provided a wonderful escape place for people of all ages. We recently watched the littles and the young teens playing on the beach and using watercraft of all kinds. And we "older generation" folks had plenty of time to use the canoes and rowboats to go out on the lake because they have so many. Waking up each morning seeing the lake while still in bed is heaven.
We've been to the GA during all seasons and each time we find something new to love about it and about Lake Placid. Everyone at the hotel is pleasant and seems happy to be there--must be as nice to work at the Golden Arrow as it is to stay there.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for upper-floor lakeside rooms if you want to have a view of the lake. Ground level...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel encourages guests to practice environmentally-friendly practices, which is admirable. They have little reminders in the room asking guests to be considerate of the environment, such as re-using towels and sheets more than once, and separating recyclables. Admirable.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Donna J,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your wonderful review. I’m glad you think that we are living up to our slogan; the only thing we overlook is the lake. It is great that your family of all ages is able to enjoy using all the resort has to offer.

I think that people will benefit from reading your review since you have been here during all seasons. Thank you for all of your fantastic compliments and thank you for returning to the Golden Arrow year after year, I hope we will see you here again soon.

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Check in was a breeze, we arrived early as per our notification to the hotel, and our room was ready for us. The room was spacious and the view of the lake and mountains was beautiful.
Breakfast at Generations was very good as they have a great selection and reasonably priced.

Bed was very comfortable, room and bathroom was very clean. Right on main street close to all shops and restaurants. Beach area on the Lake was a bit hit. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Choose lake side room, the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear linda h,

Thank you for your great review of the Golden Arrow. I’m very glad we were able to accommodate you for your early check-in. It’s wonderful to hear that you found our rooms spacious, clean, comfortable and with great views of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. I’m also glad you were able to enjoy our restaurant, Generations, as our beach while you were here.

Thanks again for writing your wonderful review. I hope you enjoy the rest of your summer.

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We had a group of 12 and the hotel was able to get us 4 rooms all next to each other on the ground floor overlooking the lake! What a great view! We have stated here 9 times the past 11 years! As always the rooms were clean and they have just finished remodeling! The staff is always friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rbarnes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Ralph B,

It is wonderful to hear that you keep returning to the Golden Arrow year after year.Thank you for your kind compliments on our staff and clean rooms. I love the ground floor rooms in the summer time. It’s very convenient to be able to walk right not to the beach. I’m glad we were able to keep your group together as well.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review; i’m sure we will see you again soon! I wish you safe and happy travels until that time. Have a great rest of the summer.

My Best,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

stayed here again, this time in the summer. same reason (hockey!). this time, though, I brought my wife and kids! Stayed in one of the Windfall kitchenette rooms.

Again, the best part of the GA is the location - middle of town and has its own beach. We used the beach every day of our 3-night stay and used the pool twice. Perfect for active kids. The kitchenette was just what we wanted, as eating out is not necessary for us as long as we have a stove top and microwave. Some things would have been nice to have provided - sponge, dish cloths, and larger fridge, but we made do. As a green hotel, the probably frown on paper towels, but we brought some anyway!

Not sure if we were allowed, but after check out, we used the beach for a few hours. Good times and we'll be back. again.

Room Tip: lake side. lake side. lake side. lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooter12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Scooter12309,

I’m glad you were able to return to see the Golden Arrow and Lake Placid in the summer time; it is a very different place compared to the winter. It’s great to hear that you appreciate our great location in town as well as our beach and other great amenities.

All Kitchenette rooms actually are supposed to have sponges and dish clothes, they are also supposed to have a roll of paper towels as well; I sincerely apologize that yours did not. We do have some new housekeepers on staff for extra summer help that may not be fulfilling those requirements. I have spoken with my housekeeping supervisor to make sure that they know how to correctly stock the kitchenette suites from now on.

Thank you for writing your wonderful review and for returning to the resort. I hope to see you again in the winter; if not before…the fall is also a beautiful time to be here!

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Sinai, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This was the perfect Hotel for our first visit to Lake Placid. The staff was welcoming, the rooms were clean, and updated and We requested a lake view room and it's well worth it for the extra few $$ to halve a balcony overlooking the lake. The hotel has it's own little beach outside and much to our surprise --complimentary kayaks, canoes and row boats for its guests in a first come first serve basis. The location is along Main Street so you are walking distance to shops and restaurants. There lots of other amenities here is such as really nice gym here, racquetball Court and swimming pool.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Randeelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Randeelynn,

It’s wonderful that you enjoyed your first trip to Lake Placid! There are many hotels and resorts to choose from when looking for a place to stay here so I thank you for choosing us. I’m happy to hear that you were very happy with your choice. Thank you for your compliments on our great location, clean & updated rooms, beautiful lake views, and convenient amenities.

I hope this was your first of many trips to Lake Placid. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and I wish you safe and happy travels until we meet again.

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.1 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#24 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Property: Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Address: 2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3305 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The Only thing we Overlook is the Lake.” Surrender yourself to the untouched beauty of the Adirondack Mountains at the first resort in the United States to receive the Audubon’s Society highest Platinum Eco Rating for Hotels. It’s a place to renew yourself on the serene shores of Mirror Lake, and a place to thrill yourself, just moments from the famed Olympic Village at the heart of Lake Placid, New York. We are proud to offer Deluxe Accommodations as well as over 20 different kinds of suites and specialty rooms. All of our rooms are 100% smoke free, our lake front rooms above ground level have private balconies, and the ground level rooms have large glass doors leading out to a patio. Don’t forget your pup because we are a Pet Friendly resort. The Golden Arrow has an indoor pool, steam bath, two whirlpool hot tubs, and sauna. There is also a private white sand beach that is the perfect place to take in a magnificent panorama of the Adirondack Mountains. In the summer there are complimentary kayaks, canoes, and paddleboats available, we also have an authentic Italian Gondola that can be taken out for a minimal charge. In the winter you can ski, skate, and even take a dog sled ride on Mirror Lake right out our back door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Arrow Lakeside Hotel Lake Placid
Hotel Golden Arrow Lakeside
Golden Arrow Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing