We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing! Wouldnt go anywhere else!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing! Wouldnt go anywhere else!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Great ambiance! Real family cozzy spot. Pet friendly (even saw a guest with a baby pig!!??) rooms are super clean. We upgraded to have a view of the lake, so worth the extra few $$! Great huge parking, friendly staff. Amazing white sand beach! Where did they import that from?? Wow!!!! Better than Cuba! Well... Almost :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Joey1124,
Thank you very much for you great review! I have to say, it is our first experience having a pig in house, at least of the animal kind ;). We love having entire families stay with us, pets and all! We use the white sand on our beach because it is eco-friendly! It is crushed limestone and it helps counteract the effects of acid rain which is a big problem in the Adirondack Park. I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay and I do hope you will stay with us again soon!
Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    416
    111
    48
    25
See reviews for
455
534
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baie-d'Urfe, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just got back from a one-night stay at Golden Arrow. It was right on the lake (so pretty) + within walking distance to lots of shops + restaurants. Parking was conveniently close to our room. We were one the first floor which walks out to the lake. Pretty little beach area with lots of lounge chairs. Several canoes, kayaks, stand-up paddle boards, life jackets available + free to use. The grounds were well-maintained. Staff was very friendly. Beds were very comfortable. Great for families with little kids to enjoy the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Maria M,
Thank you very much for reviewing the Golden Arrow! Nothing makes me happier than hearing that our guests take advantage of all the great amenities we have to offer. I hope you and your family will stay with us again soon. Again, thank you for your great review 
Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great location for a great green hotel! As others have said, the staff and the view from the lovely and very comfortable lakeside rooms make this the perfect spot when staying in Lake Placid.
I would definitely recommend going for the lakeside room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear BGS53,
Thank you very much for reviewing the Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort. I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay here. I hope you get to stay with us again soon. Until then I wish you the safest and happiest of travels!
Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I'm not sure how many times we have stayed here but it's several times! Love being on the lake ...what can be better than that?? Well having a great room on the water!! We received a free upgrade thru the mail & we took advantage! We have previously stayed in the non allergen rooms & were more than happy ...this time we were upgraded to a room with a jetted tub & a fireplace!!! Perfect! Rooms are clean & well appointed with a microwave, refrig, fireplace, Keurig coffee maker. Lots of pillows on a comfy bed. We will be back again! We were there mainly for business but what an awesome romantic spot!!

Room Tip: Absolutely pick a room on the lake side you will not be disappointed!!
See more room tips
Green Features: A very green hotel...appreciate that. Ask to reuse towels if you can same thing w/sheets! Of course! If I'm home I don't change the sheets daily!!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IamMeltingGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and your continued loyalty to the Golden Arrow. I’m very glad you were able to take advantage of your free upgrade! We have many suites and specialty rooms that even repeat guests have never stayed in so it’s great to know that you were able to experience one. We look forward to seeing you soon. Again, thank you for your wonderful review.
Best,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Large and clean room and bathroom, great location, great view, friendly staff and incredible price. What more can you ask for? We had a room on the lake, and the view of Mirror Lake was really pretty. The hotel is connected to a few shops, including a shop with coffee, breakfast sandwiches, soda etc. and a liquor store. (There is also a Keurig coffee maker in the room). The hotel is a one minute walk from the Olympic complex, and the shops begin outside the front door. We really liked this place, and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a lakeside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Lyn S,

Thank you for your great review of the Golden Arrow. We are very lucky to be located in such an amazing spot on Mirror Lake and on Main Street. Lake Placid is a beautiful town and I’m glad you were able to stay with us right in the heart of it all. The photo you took from your balcony is fantastic! I hope you can stay with us again soon. Until then I wish you safe and happy travels!

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My fiancé and I bought a Groupon deal for 3 nights at Golden Arrow. It was our first time in Lake Placid so we weren't really sure what to expect. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greeted pleasantly and checked in to our lakeside room. When we got to our room, I was slightly disappointed. The room was not as big as I expected and there was nowhere really out of the way to put our suitcases. Besides the bed which appeared to be relatively new, the rest of the furniture is definitely in need of some updating. But once I saw the beautiful view we had from our balcony, it pretty much overshadowed the mostly minor flaws of the room. But I must say the bed was AMAZING. King size, lots of pillows, nice plush duvet and blanket, my favorite. Definitely got some great sleep those three nights. Some other pluses were the huge flatscreen TV mounted on the wall and Gilchrist and Soames toiletries in the bathroom. Also when we were there they were serving $4 sangria's in the hotel's bar - it was delicious! Unfortunately it was kind of cloudy/rainy the first 2 days we were there so we didn't really get to lay out on the beach but we did go boating. The hotel has all kind of boats you can take out on the lake, self service. You can just jump and go. That was a lot of fun. We only wish the pool was open. It happened to be closed the week we were there which was a little disappointing. But overall, we had a great time. If we ever come back to Lake Placid we'd definitely stay at Golden Arrow again.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a lakeside room or you'll be having a lovely view of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKSweetheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review of the Golden Arrow. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our beds very comfortable! I wanted to write you to say that the next time you stay with us hopefully the furniture in the room will be updated. We have a new Director of Beautification here at the resort that is working on updating all of the Guest Rooms. It is an ongoing process but we are excited to have embarked on it and are constantly seeing the benefits. She actually started by changing the beds and TVs in our guest rooms so it’s wonderful to hear you enjoyed both those items!
I apologize the pool was closed while you were here. We did have to close it for 3 days so we could drain and clean it completely. I ensure you that we do not need to close it down often and it is usually always open. I do hope you will stay with us again soon! Thank you for your review, I wish you safe and happy travel!
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay. Loved the hotel, friendly and accommodating. Only thing was I would definitely book the lake side next time. I found the street side very loud at night, especially when the bars got out.

Room Tip: Go for the lake side!! Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Melissa,
Thank you very much for your review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed the hotel. I wish there was something we could do about softening the noise that can sometimes occur on the Village Side of the hotel. Sometimes it is not a problem and other times it can be. There can be many advantages to staying on the Lake Side of the resort. It does tend to be quieter, but also the view is unbeatable. I do hope you will stay with us again and maybe try a Lake View room. Until then, enjoy your summer!
Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.1 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#24 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Property: Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Address: 2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3305 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The Only thing we Overlook is the Lake.” Surrender yourself to the untouched beauty of the Adirondack Mountains at the first resort in the United States to receive the Audubon’s Society highest Platinum Eco Rating for Hotels. It’s a place to renew yourself on the serene shores of Mirror Lake, and a place to thrill yourself, just moments from the famed Olympic Village at the heart of Lake Placid, New York. We are proud to offer Deluxe Accommodations as well as over 20 different kinds of suites and specialty rooms. All of our rooms are 100% smoke free, our lake front rooms above ground level have private balconies, and the ground level rooms have large glass doors leading out to a patio. Don’t forget your pup because we are a Pet Friendly resort. The Golden Arrow has an indoor pool, steam bath, two whirlpool hot tubs, and sauna. There is also a private white sand beach that is the perfect place to take in a magnificent panorama of the Adirondack Mountains. In the summer there are complimentary kayaks, canoes, and paddleboats available, we also have an authentic Italian Gondola that can be taken out for a minimal charge. In the winter you can ski, skate, and even take a dog sled ride on Mirror Lake right out our back door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Arrow Lakeside Hotel Lake Placid
Hotel Golden Arrow Lakeside
Golden Arrow Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing