We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Olympic village hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Clifton Park, NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Olympic village hotel”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Just got back from a girl's weekend in Lake Placid. I've stayed at the Golden Arrow in the past and usually go back. It's a nice hotel with lakefront rooms and convenient location. You can park the car and never drive anywhere in the town. The hotel is a little older but they take great care of it and the rooms are clean. You can't expect a luxury hotel in this little town but you'll get lots of hospitality and a breathtaking view of Mirror Lake. It's great for relaxing or taking in the sights.

Room Tip: Always ask for a lakefront room. You will love the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    418
    112
    48
    25
See reviews for
458
541
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawthorne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here at Golden Arrow two years ago. Since then whenever we think Lake Placid, we think Golden Arrow. It sits right on the shore of Mirror Lake, with a private beach and the Glorious Adirondacks as a backdrop. Right between the Olympic Center and downtown Lake Placid the location is as golden as its name. Staff is friendly and courteous. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, most have balconies that face the lake. The hotel has a 100% green commitment from top top bottom. Everything that will benefit the ecology from water saver bathroom fixtures to the simple act of using recycled paper for printing.
We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Go for the kingsize bed and the lakefront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyG07506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The hotel sits right on the lake and enjoys one of the finest views of Mirror Lake. If it was not for the view we may have checked out and tried somewhere else. The hotel staff were very friendly and hotel itself is kept as clean as the staff can possibly make if. The problem is that this resort is in dire need of a major investment & a make over. Rooms, restaurant, pool, hallways...everything is showing its age. For the price we paid expected much better. On the positive side food & service in the restaurant was great and the small beach is very nice.
Once this place is bought upto date will be a little gem and worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenArrow, Owner at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for you review. I am glad to hear you had a nice time, thought the staff was friendly, the service was good, the food delicious and the view excellent. We work very hard to provide a nice environment for our guests and every year reinvest heavily in refurbishing areas of the resort. As anyone who runs a business can attest to, the work never ends. Once you have completed one project, you just move on the next. At this moment we are simultaneously re-insulating the roof, repaving part of the driveway, hanging new doors in the North Wing of the hotel and replacing all of the bedding in the Specialty Rooms and Suites...and that is before we have even begun our bi-annual Spring/Fall cleaning and maintenance schedule. We take great pride in this resort and work very hard to keep it fresh and up to date. I hope next time you are in Lake Placid you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

There are two reasons to choose Golden Arrow: it fronts Lake Placid's Main Street, and it backs onto Mirror Lake. Ask for a lake view room and then sit on your balcony to let the water and greenery soothe your travel-jangled nerves. Or head out the front door and tour the bars and shops along Main Street or catch a show at the Olympic Center.

The hotel has definitely seen better days and now is a bit frayed around the edges. The stairs had a spill of what looked like fine packing material, and they weren't cleaned for an entire day (granted it was the weekend Hurricane Irene hit). We asked to borrow an umbrella just to get to our car and back, and were told the complimentary ones were all gone and the only ones remaining were for sale.

On the other hand, the manager was very forthcoming with information and maps when we had to plot an alternate route to get us back home in Irene's wake. That friendliness left a warm impression about the hotel overall.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgnyc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenArrow, Owner at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
I am so glad you had a nice time in Lake Placid and during your stay with us. Hurricanes are not something we usually experience up here in the mountains. As you can imagine, a number of our employees did not come into work that day or the day after Hurricane Irene. So I can see why on that particular day something like the packing material would have gotten overlooked. However, please know that under normal circumstances, we do always try to put our best foot forward. I am so glad you found our staff helpful as it is our goal to treat our guests as friends. We do hope we see you again the next time you are in Lake Placid. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

What can I say.. Somwhow this trip and stay at Golden Arrows betters itself year after year. Just when we say this was the best one yet : ) Our stay annual saty in Mid August was capped by the most welcoming staff- That was just indoors. More boats and the addittion of two sunbathing/ diving docks FANTASTIC, exactly what you ecpect to see outside a home on lake in the Adirondacks. Our wake up call to the Loon calls in the morning made this one the best yet 2 sleepy eyed little girls, their Mom and Dad all gasped and said did you hear that. Needless to say our 10yr old was wide awake and looking to take the Kayak out at 5:30 am. Unplanned meeting with friends we made at your hotel last year happened again this year made the trip as exciting as seeing Mickey Mouse again. Keep doing what you are doing. It was a pleasure to finally meet Jenn and we wish our "Disney"Gals could have thanked you! By the way... You should market that hot cocoa mmmm..and those comforters best sleep we have had yet there. See you all next summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minckler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed during Easter break and really enjoyed the spacious room with an excellent view of the lake (on which we could watch dog sledding). The service at the hotel, as well as the restaurant was great ,and the pool facilities were clean and relaxing. Also, compared to the local prices, it is a really great deal.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatW1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed here for three nights on our tour of New York and New England. Coming from Europe, it reminded us very much of hotels we'd stayed at in Swiss and Austrian ski resorts. One of our two rooms was enormous to the extent that it felt under-furnished. We had a microwave and large fridge, but with no plates or cutlery, we couldn't make great use of them. Our other room had a flower box on the balcony - which was nice touch and very pretty. We found the location good, both for the town and for trips into the Adirondacks. We enjoyed the breakfasts - nice food and good service. And we enjoyed using the kayaks! The hotel pool needs some smartening up though - it just didn't look very inviting.

Room Tip: Get a room on the third floor upwards and if possible on the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMagee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.1 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#24 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Property: Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Address: 2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3305 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The Only thing we Overlook is the Lake.” Surrender yourself to the untouched beauty of the Adirondack Mountains at the first resort in the United States to receive the Audubon’s Society highest Platinum Eco Rating for Hotels. It’s a place to renew yourself on the serene shores of Mirror Lake, and a place to thrill yourself, just moments from the famed Olympic Village at the heart of Lake Placid, New York. We are proud to offer Deluxe Accommodations as well as over 20 different kinds of suites and specialty rooms. All of our rooms are 100% smoke free, our lake front rooms above ground level have private balconies, and the ground level rooms have large glass doors leading out to a patio. Don’t forget your pup because we are a Pet Friendly resort. The Golden Arrow has an indoor pool, steam bath, two whirlpool hot tubs, and sauna. There is also a private white sand beach that is the perfect place to take in a magnificent panorama of the Adirondack Mountains. In the summer there are complimentary kayaks, canoes, and paddleboats available, we also have an authentic Italian Gondola that can be taken out for a minimal charge. In the winter you can ski, skate, and even take a dog sled ride on Mirror Lake right out our back door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Arrow Lakeside Hotel Lake Placid
Hotel Golden Arrow Lakeside
Golden Arrow Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing